Colombia opens with two golds

Casas, Madrinan take elite men's and women's time trial

Colombia's Ivan Mauricio Casas and Ana Paola Madriñan gave to their country a golden start to the Panamerican road championships as they claimed the respective men's and women's individual time trial titles on day one of competion.

Casas, 28, who races for continental squad Boyaca Orgullo de América, completed the men's 40 kilometre time trial in 50:34, to finish 22 seconds ahead of Chile's Carlos Oyarzun, and 1:32 in front of his compatriot and Boyaca teammate Freddy Montana. Casas' victory made it two wins in a row for Colombia, after Juan Carlos Lopez took the title in 2009.

"We are delighted, the plan began in January with the Vuelta al Tachira and has born fruit today. Two medals is a reflection of our preparation and work, " said Boyaca director Mauro Mora.

Madriñan continued Colombia's winning run, denying US riders Amber Neben and Shelley Evans the women's title. Madriñan finished three seconds in front of the 2008 world time trial champion, Neben, and a further 53 seconds clear of Evans.

In the men's under-23 championship event, run in tandem with the elite event, Trek-Livestrong rider Ben King (USA) triumphed over Ramiro Cabrera Gonzalez (Uruguay) and Ramon Carretero (Panama).

Elite men - 40km
1Ivan Mauricio Casas (Colombia)0:50:34 
2Carlos Oyarzun (Chile)0:00:22 
3Freddy Montana (Colombia)0:01:32 
4Matias Medici (Argentina)0:01:33 
5Arnold Alcolea (Cuba)0:02:33 
6José Adrian Bonilla (Costa Rica)0:02:40 
7Ignacio Sarabia Diaz (Mexico)0:03:47 
8Henry Mendez Raabe (Costa Rica)0:04:07 
9Benjamin King (United States Of America)0:04:40 
10Ramiro Cabrera Gonzalez (Uruguay)0:04:45 
11Tomas Aurelio Gil Martinez (Venezuela)  
12Ramon Carretero (Panama)0:05:11 
13Jonny Morales (Guatemala)0:07:05 
14Leonardo Juarez (Mexico)0:07:35 
15Guillermo Miranda (Panama)0:08:40 
16Londy Morales (Guatemala)0:09:13 
17Robert Marsh (Antigua and Barbuda)0:13:09 
18Jyme Bridges (Antigua and Barbuda)0:14:01 
19Winston Williams (Saint Lucia)0:14:33 
20Reginald Douglas (Saint Kitts and Nevis)0:16:39 
DNFKurt Maraj (Saint Lucia)  
Elite women - 20km
1Ana Paola Madriñan (Colombia)0:29:58 
2Amber Neben (United States Of America)0:00:03 
3Shelley Evans (United States Of America)0:00:56 
4Danielys Garcia (Venezuela)0:01:03 
5Laura Brown (Canada)0:01:22 
6Guiseppina Grassi (Mexico)0:01:35 
7Veronica Leal (Mexico)0:01:38 
8Marie Rosado (Puerto Rico)0:02:29 
9Natalia Navarro (Costa Rica)0:02:45 
10Kathryn Bertine (Saint Kitts and Nevis)0:02:48 
11Denise Ramsden (Canada)0:02:49 
12Maria Briceno (Venezuela)0:02:59 
13Zabaneh Shalini (Belize)0:04:12 
14Roxana Alvarado (Costa Rica)0:05:00 
15Sindy Melina Morales (Guatemala)0:05:21 
16Olga Cisterna (Chile)0:05:57 


Back to top