Klausmann wins men's race over Beer and Sieber

Kramer defeats Ruchti and Rucknagel in women's downhill

Bischofsmais served as the venue of the European downhill racing series finale. It was also celebrating the 10th anniversary of the local bike park. The last of a total of four races attracted 288 participants coming from 17 countries to the Bavarian Forest.

Under ideal weather conditions, the participants were treated with a perfectly primed course that was approved by almost all of the riders. Many of Germany's downhill racers have not been riding at the Geisskopf Bikepark since the German national championships were held here in 2003, but they were visibly enthused by the course with its approximate length of two kilometers. Designed by Diddie Schneider, Germany's best-known course builder, the course was characterized by its rocky, cragged surface. Apart from some high speed sections, the elite starting field had to be prepared for lots of airtime.

German Marcus Klausmann (Ghost) fared best on this course, which is rather short compared to most international races. Posting a time of 2:14, he got the top podium spot by a slim margin. This also gave Klausmann the opportunity to take the second place in the overall standings from compatriot Benny Strasser (Toxoholics/iXS).

After having won the seeding run, Swiss racer Nick Beer (Scott 11) finished in second despite making a mistake that caused a mechanical problem. But due to the points he had totalled in the series' first three races, it was clear before the finale that nobody could challenge him for the overall victory. Thus the reigning European downhill champion won the European Downhill Cup»’s overall for the second time. Andreas Sieber (Solid Aclass) finished in third after having shown his class

Antje Kramer (Giant) was the fastest woman of the day, once again proving that she is always in for a victory on German soil. Thanks to an almost flawless run, the German national champion bested the time of Swiss Miriam Ruchti (Vario), who nevertheless managed to win the series' overall standings. Harriet Rücknagel (Zonenschein) finished in third, but like Kramer she was no contender for the overall standings. Despite not competing at the finale, Frenchwoman Floriane Pugin (Kenda) kept her second place in the overall standings with Emilie Siegenthaler (Scott 11) in third. Siegenthaler could not start due to an injury to her hand.

In what was her last year in the junior women's category, Leonie Dickerhoff (iXS/Maxxis) both won the race and the series' overall standings. In the junior men's category, Ziga Pandur (Funsport) won by a slim margin ahead of Mikka Lehtinen (Morewood) and Philipp Bühnemann (Zonenschein Fly). Even before the finale started, the absent Aari Barrett (Scott 11) was sure to win the overall standings anyway.

In the masters category, Markus Bast (Nox Cycles) showed impressive performance, securing his first place in the overall standings with another victory. Apart from finishing in second, Dennis Stratmann (Rocky Mountain) also found time to entertain the numerous specators by working as race speaker. With his third-place finish, Marcel Waldmann took second place in the overall standings ahead of Michael Stammbacher (Fatwork).

Details are still pending, but next year's European Downhill Cup will have seven races, with three countries added the calendar; Great Britain, Italy and the Czech Republic.


Elite men
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Marcus Klausmann (Ger)0:02:14.88 
2Nick Beer (Swi)0:00:00.49 
3Andreas Sieber (Ger)0:00:01.47 
4Joe Barnes (GBr)0:00:01.59 
5Frank Schneider (Ger)0:00:02.37 
6Oskar Harnstrom (Swe)0:00:02.54 
7Lars Peyer (Swi)0:00:02.78 
8Joshua Button (Aus)0:00:03.03 
9Dominik Gspan (Swi)0:00:04.81 
10Andre Wagenknecht (Ger)0:00:05.09 
11Tobias Sieber (Ger)0:00:05.99 
12Billy Caroli (Swi)0:00:06.26 
13Claudio Caluori (Swi)0:00:06.31 
14Andreas Krieger (Ger)0:00:06.55 
15Gino Schlifske (Ger)0:00:06.69 
16Benny Strasser (Ger)0:00:06.73 
17Rene Schmidt (Ger)0:00:07.64 
18Johannes Sutter (Ger)0:00:07.65 
19Ziga Pandur (Slo)0:00:08.60 
20Tommy Kiesewetter (Ger)0:00:08.65 
21Miika Lehtinen (Fin)0:00:09.37 
22Hermes Schade (Ger)0:00:09.47 
23Lucas Rham (Ger)0:00:09.89 
24Fabian Fader (Ger)0:00:09.92 
25Randy Van Goubergen (Bel)0:00:10.03 
26Robin Van Goubergen (Bel)0:00:10.27 
27Josua Hein (Ger)0:00:10.51 
28Benjamin Herold (Ger)0:00:10.56 
29Mickael Schnell (Ger)0:00:11.05 
30Markus Bast (Ger)0:00:11.06 
31Viktor Seboldt (Ger)0:00:11.21 
32Moritz Kruse (Ger)0:00:11.22 
33Janik Filter (Ger)0:00:11.29 
34Primoz Ravnik (Slo)0:00:11.32 
35Michael Bunke (Ger)0:00:11.73 
36Thomas Jeandin (Swi)0:00:11.75 
37Jonathan Debus (Ger)0:00:12.08 
38Dennis Stratmann (Ger)0:00:12.49 
39Jan Marcus (Ger)0:00:12.51 
40Benjamin Oluoch (Ger)0:00:12.71 
41Andreas Dotzauer (Ger)0:00:13.03 
42Fabio Gangi (Ita)0:00:13.16 
43Markus Hillmann (Ger)0:00:13.80 
44Orlando Sarioglou (Ger)0:00:13.87 
45Jasper Jauch (Ger)0:00:13.92 
46Timo Pries (Ger)0:00:14.10 
47Robert Meyer (Ger)0:00:14.22 
48Marcel Waldmann (Swi)0:00:14.62 
49Mario Reinbacher (Aut)0:00:14.74 
50Kevin Setzer (Ger)0:00:14.97 
51Michael Stammbach (Swi)0:00:15.06 
52Jarno Veerhoek (Ned)0:00:15.17 
53Fabian Heim (Ger)0:00:15.22 
54Simon Schneider (Ger)0:00:15.25 
55Dave Reinhardt (Ger)0:00:15.48 
56David Lischka (Ger)0:00:15.60 
57Markus Planitzer (Aut)0:00:16.15 
58Frank Hummel (Ger)0:00:16.31 
59Stefan Beck (Ger)0:00:16.46 
60Mario Koch (Ger)0:00:16.53 
61Marcis Scerbinins (Lat)0:00:16.84 
62Benjamin Scharfetter (Aut)0:00:17.66 
63Martin Schneider (Ger)0:00:17.90 
64Elias Vonier (Aut)0:00:18.00 
65Mark Fischer (Swi)0:00:18.01 
66Stefan Voitl (Aut)0:00:18.08 
67Christian Vogt (Ger)0:00:18.23 
68Philipp Fischer (Ger)0:00:18.60 
69Mario Jantsch (Ger)0:00:18.75 
70Bernhard Kammel (Ger)0:00:19.22 
71Tino Beutel (Ger)0:00:19.71 
72Johannes Mueller (Ger)0:00:19.79 
73Andre Guenther (Ger)0:00:20.05 
74Joachim Schielke (Ger)0:00:20.07 
75Daniel Vogt (Ger)0:00:20.25 
76Pavol Medovic (Svk)0:00:20.73 
77Mario Steiner (Ger)0:00:20.76 
78Mark Balbierer (Ger)0:00:20.79 
79Michael Jolk (Ger)0:00:21.16 
80Carsten Portsch (Ger)0:00:21.70 
81Daniel Ludwig (Ger)0:00:22.02 
82Sebastian Schreinmoser (Aut)0:00:22.04 
83Philipp Gerken (Ger)0:00:22.05 
84Matej Nancik (Svk)0:00:22.09 
85Markus Jentzsch (Ger)0:00:22.31 
86Marcel Geissler (Ger)0:00:23.70 
87Hannes Gruebner (Ger)0:00:23.84 
88Urs Sturzenegger (Swi)0:00:25.09 
89Jan Lewiak (Ger)0:00:25.16 
90Julian Kraus (Aut)0:00:25.99 
91Arie Schindler (Ger)0:00:27.76 
92Rainer Sendlinger (Aut)0:00:28.04 
93Sven Liebscher (Ger)0:00:28.70 
94Joonas Riihelae (Fin)0:00:28.84 
95Stefan Westerveld (Ger)0:00:28.95 
96Timo Laubscher (Ger)0:00:29.46 
97Patrick Schum (Ger)0:00:29.83 
98Krischan Spranz (Ger)0:00:30.56 
99Julian Wenger (Aut)0:00:30.79 
100Jiri Cermak (Cze)0:00:31.19 
101Holger Burnikel (Ger)0:00:31.37 
102Bastiaan Jansink (Ned)0:00:31.94 
103Sandro Stein (Ger)0:00:32.65 
104Vien Lukas (Svk)0:00:37.16 
105Joel Anderson (Por)0:00:37.27 
106Harry Huschina (Ger)0:00:37.58 
107Peter Boo (Swi)0:00:38.27 
108Torsten Roedl (Ger)0:00:40.65 
109Markus Ruth (Ger)0:00:41.87 
110Andreas Weigold (Ger)0:00:44.19 
111Georg Meier (Ger)0:00:48.54 
112Moritz Baumung (Ger)0:00:52.28 
113Jochen Rehwald (Ger)0:01:03.48 
114Patrik Berger (Swi)0:01:04.09 
115Max Kruse (Ger)0:01:08.74 
116Jan Patocka (Cze)0:01:28.79 
117Nino Antic (Cro)0:02:14.12 
 Markus Bihler (Ger)  
 Cornelius Pachmann (Ger)  
 Martin Cermak (Cze)  
 Nicolas Cherik (Swi)  
Elite women
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Antje Kramer (Ger)0:02:40.37 
2Miriam Ruchti (Swi)0:00:02.15 
3Harriet Rucknagel (Ger)0:00:05.58 
4Nicole Beege (Ger)0:00:09.84 
5Sandra Rubesam (Ger)0:00:12.60 
6Leoni-Caro. Dickerhoff (Ger)0:00:14.43 
7Liz Schwemmer (Ger)0:00:22.78 
8Sylvie Rejfirova (Cze)0:00:24.85 
9Joanne Muoser (Swi)0:00:41.37 
10Caro Gehrig (Swi)0:00:44.13 
11Tanja Hendysiak (Ger)0:01:16.80 


Back to top