Baccaille repeats as champion

Team Valdarno rider takes 12th national title of career

Monia Baccaille (Team Valdarno) won Italy's elite women's road championship for the second straight year after winning a sprint from an 11-rider lead group. Baccaille bested Alessandra D'Ettorre (Top Girls Fassa Bortolo - Ghezzi) and Lorena Foresi (Safi - Pasta Zara) in the 137km championship race to take the 12th national championship of her career.

"Between road and track, I arrived at my twelfth Italian title, but this kind of emotion you never get used to," said Baccaille. "I have to thank [teammate] Tatiana Guderzo, who today has sacrificed for me and whose support was essential to return to wearing this jersey."

The lead group of 11 riders formed after 66km of racing and finished the day more than four minutes ahead of the nearest chaser and nearly 10 minute ahead of the peloton. Valentina Bastianelli (Top Girls Fassa Bortolo - Ghezzi) made a strong attack on the final circuit, but was absorbed on the Asolo ascent. The lead group remained together through to the finish where the 26-year-old Baccaille sprinted to victory.

Full Results
1Monia Baccaille (Team Valdarno)3:44:31 
2Alessandra D'Ettorre (Top Girls Fassa Bortolo - Ghezzi)  
3Lorena Foresi (Safi - Pasta Zara)  
4Valentina Bastianelli (Top Girls Fassa Bortolo - Ghezzi)  
5Francesca Tognali (Vaiano Solaristech)  
6Gloria Presti (Top Girls Fassa Bortolo - Ghezzi)  
7Alessandra Borchi (Gauss RDZ Ormu)  
8Marta Tagliaferro (Top Girls Fassa Bortolo - Ghezzi)  
9Jennifer Fiori (Top Girls Fassa Bortolo - Ghezzi)0:00:05 
10Alice Donadoni (Gauss RDZ Ormu)  
11Laura Bozzolo (Team Valdarno)0:00:11 
12Federica Primavera0:04:01 
13Odette Bertolin (Acs Chirio - Forno D'Asolo)0:07:09 
14Silvia Valsecchi (Top Girls Fassa Bortolo - Ghezzi)  
15Tatiana Guderzo (Team Valdarno)0:09:58 
16Giada Borgato (Gauss RDZ Ormu)  
17Ilaria Rinaldi  
18Eleonora Patuzzo (Safi - Pasta Zara)  
19Simona Frapporti (Vaiano Solaristech)  
20Francesca Faustini (Acs Chirio - Forno D'Asolo)  
21Eleonora Suelotto (Gauss RDZ Ormu)  
22Alessia Quarta  
23Luisa Tamanini (Acs Chirio - Forno D'Asolo)  
24Chiara Vanni (Vaiano Solaristech)  
25Tania Belvederesi (Team Valdarno)  
26Eva Lechner  
27Laura Basso  
28Elena Berlato (Top Girls Fassa Bortolo - Ghezzi)  
29Valentina Carretta (Top Girls Fassa Bortolo - Ghezzi)  
30Giulia Lazzerini (S.C. Michela Fanini Record Rox)  
31Martina Corazza (Team Valdarno)  
32Serena Mensa (S.C. Michela Fanini Record Rox)  
33Noemi Cantele (HTC Columbia Women)  
34Samantha Galassi (S.C. Michela Fanini Record Rox)  
35Barbara Guarischi (S.C. Michela Fanini Record Rox)  
36Giorgia Bronzini (Gauss RDZ Ormu)  
Back to top