Cecchini wins Italian time trial championships

Bussi and Ratto complete podium after Longo Borghini sent off course

Elena Cecchini won the elite women’s Italian national time trial champion, adding the tricolore jersey to the world team time trial title won in Innsbruck with her Canyon-SRAM team.

Cecchini beat Vittoria Bussi by 11 seconds, with Rosella Ratto third at 15 seconds.

The 2017 champion Elisa Longo Borghini was fastest at the time split during the 20.5km circuit but went off course in the final metres of the course due to confusion with course signage. Elisa Balsamo also suffered the same fate.

Longo Borghini tweeted soon after her ride: “Today I rode the ITT national championships. I was leading until the last 200 meters when I have been sent in the wrong direction. This 2018 has really played a concert on my nerves and I'm happy it's finished.”

Brief results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Elena Cecchini (Ita) Canyon-SRAM Racing0:28:13 
2Vittoria Bussi (Ita)0:00:11 
3Rossella Ratto (Ita) Cylance Pro Cycling0:00:15 
4Elena Pirrone (Ita) Astana Women's Team0:00:23 
5Silvia Valsecchi (Ita) BePink0:00:33 
6Tatiana Guderzo (Ita) Hitec Products-Birk Sport0:00:35 
7Arianna Fidanza (Ita) Still Bike Team A.S.Dilettantistica0:01:01 
8Lisa Morzenti (Ita) BePink0:01:11 
9Elisa Longo Borghini (Ita) Wiggle High50:01:25 
10Elisa Balsamo (Ita) Valcar PBM0:01:26 

Related Articles

Back to top