Pauwels bests Stybar in Lille

Nys nets another podium place, leads Pauwels in series

Kevin Pauwels (Telenet-Fidea) won a star-studded sprint in Lille, Belgium on Saturday afternoon in the seventh round of the Gazet van Antwerpen Trophy. The Belgian held off world champion Zdenek Stybar (Telenet-Fidea), Sven Nys (Landbouwkrediet), Niels Albert (BKCP-Powerplus) and Bart Wellens (Telenet-Fidea) in a tight sprint finish. Pauwels moves to within two points of Nys in the overall rankings.

Stybar led out the sprint ahead of Nys but Pauwels timed his sprint to perfection and blasted past everyone at the last moment.
“I sprinted to be ahead of Nys but because I was out of the wind I had much more speed. Suddenly Stybar was also within my reach,” Pauwels said.

The mild weather conditions made for fast racing on the technical course at the nature park around the lake in Lille. The group of five leaders formed on the third lap of the race. Before that Tom Meeusen (Telenet-Fidea) was led but last week's dose of laryngitis took its toll on the young Belgian. His place in the front group was taken over by Wellens who was the only rider to come back from behind. Wellens moved forward out of a group with Sven Vanthourenhout (Sunweb-Revor) and Jonathan Page (Planetbike) during the second lap of the race. At the end of the second lap Stybar took the three bonus points at the intermediate sprint, ahead of Pauwels (2) and Nys (1).

In the lead group of five, Stybar and Pauwels were the most active riders and both tried to thin out the group. Nys played to his pre-race tactics and focused on keeping Pauwels under control. “At that moment I was only thinking about the overall rankings. Kevin had a very good day. I've never seen him taking this much initiative. I wanted to arrive in a group and try to put some men between him and myself,” Nys said.

As the leaders hit the penultimate lap Wellens tried to exploit the rivalry between Nys and Pauwels with a surprise attack. This time it was Albert who took the initiative to close the gap. “All race long I was forced to stay on the wheels because I was at my limit. My attack was a desperate move because I was the worst of the five. Anyway, nothing ventured, nothing gained,” Wellens said.

Stybar led most of the lap with Nys sticking on his wheel, followed by Pauwels, Albert and Wellens. Pauwels and Albert tried to move up in the last sections but eventually they cornered up the road in the same order. As Nys was unable to overtake the world champion it seemed as Stybar would win for the first time in his career in Lille.

“I rode for the win,” Stybar said,” but twenty metres before the line I sat up as I felt that Nys wouldn't overtake me. I was only watching Nys' front wheel and didn't see Kevin coming up. It's too bad because last year's Nys beat me here in the sprint, and now it's Kevin,” Stybar said. After crossing the line Nys couldn't avoid crashing into Pauwels' bike, seemingly without major damage. “I couldn't stop and tried to brake with my heel. I had to do something because that corner came right after the finish line. Otherwise I would've tumbled right into the VIP-tent,” Nys said.

Philipp Walsleben (BKCP-Powerplus) made up for a poor start by clocking the fastest lap of the race. The German champion takes home a €1000 bank cheque.

On Sunday afternoon the penultimate round of the Superprestige Series is held in Hoogstraten, Belgium. In two weeks time the GvA Trophy will be decided during the last round in Oostmalle, Belgium.


Full results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Kevin Pauwels (Bel) Telenet Fidea Cycling Team0:58:47 
2Zdenek Stybar (Cze) Telenet Fidea Cycling Team  
3Sven Nys (Bel) Landbouwkrediet  
4Niels Albert (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus0:00:02 
5Bart Wellens (Bel) Telenet Fidea Cycling Team  
6Klaas Vantornout (Bel) Sunweb Revor0:01:26 
7Tom Meeusen (Bel) Telenet Fidea Cycling Team0:01:31 
8Sven Vanthourenhout (Bel) Sunweb Revor0:01:36 
9Dieter Vanthourenhout (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus0:01:44 
10Rob Peeters (Bel) Telenet Fidea Cycling Team0:02:20 
11Jan Denuwelaere (Bel) Rendement Hypo Cycling Team0:02:24 
12Kenneth van Compernolle (Bel) Style & Concept  
13Thijs Al (Ned) AA Drink0:02:47 
14Jonathan Page (USA)0:02:50 
15Ben Berden (Bel)0:02:59 
16Eddy van IJzendoorn (Ned) AA Drink  
17Marco Bianco (Ita)0:03:02 
18Gerben de Knegt (Ned)0:03:19 
19Petr Dlask (Cze)0:03:25 
20Philipp Walsleben (Ger)  
21Thijs van Amerongen (Ned)0:03:30 
22Françis Mourey (Fra)0:03:48 
23Robert Gavenda (Svk)0:03:51 
24Stijn Huys (Bel)0:04:04 
25Mariusz Gil (Pol)  
26Christian Heule (Swi) Champion System0:04:26 
27Kevin Cant (Bel)0:04:32 
28Patrick van Leeuwen (Ned)0:04:49 
29Gianni Denolf (Bel) Baboco - Revor Cycling Team0:04:55 
30Bart Verschueren (Bel)0:05:12 
31Kendric Van Grembergen (Bel) SDC-Rogelli Cycling Team0:05:19 
32Dave De Cleyn (Bel) AVB Cycling Team  
33Tim Van Nuffel (Bel) Van Goethem - Prorace0:05:24 
34Mike Thielemans (Bel)0:05:29 
35Martin Zlamalik (Tsj)  
36 -2 lapsSteven de Decker (Bel) Flemisch Cycling Projects  
37Mitchell Huenders (Ned)  
38Jimmy Tielens (Bel)  
39Wilant van Gils (Ned)  
40Bart Hofman (Bel)  
41 -4 lapsCraig Richey (Can)  
42 -5 lapsShaun Adamson (Can)  
Intermediate Sprint
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Zdenek Štybar (Cze) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team3 pts
2Kevin Pauwels (Bel) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team2 
3Sven Nys (Bel) Landbouwkrediet1 
Fastest lap
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Philipp Walsleben (Ger) BKCP-Powerplus0:06:23 
2Zdenek Štybar (Cze) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team0:06:23 
3Kevin Pauwels (Bel) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team0:06:24 
GVA Trofee - Standings
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Sven Nys (Bel) Landbouwkrediet150 pts
2Kevin Pauwels (Bel) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team148 
3Zdenek Štybar (Cze) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team138 
4Niels Albert (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus116 
5Bart Wellens (Bel) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team113 
6Klaas Vantornout (Bel) Sunweb-Revor108 
7Tom Meeusen (Bel) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team75 
8Bart Aernouts (Bel) Rabobank-Giant Off Road Team71 
9Rob Peeters (Bel) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team65 
10Enrico Franzoi (Ita) BKCP-Powerplus59 
11Sven Vanthourenhout (Bel) Sunweb-Revor55 
12Gerben De Knegt (Ned) Rabobank-Giant Off Road Team52 
13Dieter Vanthourenhout (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus44 
14Philipp Walsleben (Ger) BKCP-Powerplus43 
15Jan Denuwelaere (Bel) Style & Concept Cycling Team41 
16Christian Heule (Swi) Champion System LBS28 
17Jonathan Page (USA) Planet Bike28 
18Thijs van Amerongen (Ned) AA Drink Cycling Team24 
19Kenneth van Compernolle (Bel) Style & Concept Cycling Team21 
20Tom van den Bosch (Bel) AA Drink Cycling Team20 
21Petr Dlask (Cze) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team19 
22Eddy van Ijzendoorn (Ned) AA Drink Cycling Team19 
23Radomir Simunek Jr. (Cze) BKCP-Powerplus16 
24Mariusz Gil (Pol) Baboco - Revor Cycling Team16 
25Thijs Al (Ned) AA Drink Cycling Team16 
26Martin Zlámalík (Cze) Sunweb - Revor15 
27Francis Mourey (Fra) FDJ13 
28Lars Boom (Ned) Rabo - Giant Offroad Team.10 
29Marco Bianco (Ita)10 
30Robert Gavenda (Svk) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team9 
31Ben Berden (Bel) Qin Cycling Team9 
32Ian Field (GBr) Hargroves Cycles8 
33Nicolas Bazin (Fra) Auber 937 
34Davy Commeyne (Bel) Landbouwkrediet4 
35Romain Villa (Fra)2 
36Marcel Wildhaber (Swi) Scott-Swisspower MTB-Racing2 
37Patrick van Leeuwen (Ned)1 
GvA Trofee - Sprint - Elite
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Sven Nys (Bel) Landbouwkrediet15 pts
2Zdenek Štybar (Cze) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team11 
3Kevin Pauwels (Bel) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team10 
4Klaas Vantornout (Bel) Sunweb-Revor2 
5Niels Albert (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus2 
6Bart Wellens (Bel) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team2 


Related Articles

Back to top