Simon Yates takes GP Miguel Indurain victory

Cannondale-Drapac's Woods is second in Spain

Simon Yates (Orica-Scott) soloed to an impressive victory Saturday at the GP Miguel Indurain in Spain, jumping away from a reduced lead group with 10km to go and building on his gap to win by 23 seconds over Cannondale-Drapac's Michael Woods and Team Sky's Sergio Henao. The win is Yates' second of the season after he won stage 6 at Paris-Nice last month.

"It was a hard race today at the start with the wind and the rain, but the team rode really well, protecting me at all times," Yates said after his victory in Estella. "Roman Kreuziger went into the main break, which was great for us. It meant we could sit in the wheels and save energy."

The 186km race started in cold and wet conditions, but that hardly slowed the peloton as small groups tried to get away but nothing could stick. When the initial breakaway was caught after an hour of racing, Orica's Kreuziger joined Matvey Mamykin (Katusha-Alpecin) and Nick Schultz (Caja-Rural) in a three-rider move that distanced the peloton.

Movistar drove the chase to bring back the trio, and the peloton made the catch with 50km remaining. Yates tried to jump away with a single Movistar rider, but that escape was quickly brought back into the fold. A nine-rider move that included Yates was able to sneak away with 20km remaining, setting up Yates for his winning move another 10km down the road.

Full Results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Simon Yates (GBr) Orica-Scott4:34:01 
2Michael Woods (Can) Cannondale-Drapac0:00:23 
3Sergio Henao (Col) Team Sky  
4Carlos Verona (Spa) Orica-Scott0:00:26 
5Marc Soler Gimenez (Spa) Movistar Team0:00:28 
6Vasil Kiryienka (Blr) Team Sky0:00:58 
7Ruben Fernandez Andujar (Spa) Movistar Team0:01:44 
8Gorka Izagirre Insausti (Spa) Movistar Team  
9Damien Howson (Aus) Orica-Scott0:02:56 
10Toms Skujins (Lat) Cannondale-Drapac0:03:50 
11Tao Geoghegan Hart (GBr) Team Sky0:03:53 
12Jaime Roson Garcia (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA  
13Alex Howes (USA) Cannondale-Drapac  
14Garikoitz Bravo Oiarbide (Spa) Euskadi Basque Country - Murias0:03:55 
15Michal Golas (Pol) Team Sky  
16Rob Power (Aus) Orica-Scott0:04:03 
17Alejandro Valverde Belmonte (Spa) Movistar Team0:04:06 
18Michal Kwiatkowski (Pol) Team Sky  
19Jose Rojas (Spa) Movistar Team  
20Mikel Nieve Iturralde (Spa) Team Sky  
21Simon Špilak (Slo) Katusha-Alpecin  
22Sebastian Henao Gomez (Col) Team Sky  
23Daniel Moreno (Spa) Movistar Team  
24Ibai Salas Zorrozua (Spa) Burgos-BH0:05:50 
25Egoitz Garcia Echeguibel (Spa) Equipo Bolivia0:05:56 
26Joaquim Silva (Por) W52/FC Porto0:06:43 
27Tom-Jelte Slagter (Ned) Cannondale-Drapac  
28Cristian Rodriguez Martin (Spa) Wilier Triestina  
29Frederico Figueiredo (Por) Sporting / Tavira  
30Sergio Pardilla Bellon (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA  
31Omar Alberto Mendoza Cardona (Col) Equipo Bolivia  
32Jesus Ezquerra Muela (Spa) Sporting / Tavira  
33Eduard Prades Reverter (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA  
34Jack Haig (Aus) Orica-Scott  
35Diego Rubio Hernandez (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA  
36Robert Kišerlovski (Cro) Katusha-Alpecin  
37Igor Merino Kortazar (Spa) Burgos-BH  
38Brendan Canty (Aus) Cannondale-Drapac0:06:49 
39Nathan Brown (USA) Cannondale-Drapac0:06:52 
40Roman Kreuziger (Cze) Orica-Scott0:07:06 
41Hector Saez Benito (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA  
42Ángel Vicioso Arcos (Spa) Katusha-Alpecin  
43Gustavo Cesar Veloso (Spa) W52/FC Porto  
44Victor Etxebarria Carrasco (Spa) RP - Boavista0:12:56 
45Josu Zabala Lopez (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA  
46Nicholas Schultz (Aus) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA  
47Gregory Obando Brenes (CRc) Inteja Dominican Cycling Team  
48Mikel Bizkarra Etxegibel (Spa) Euskadi Basque Country - Murias  
49Jose Manuel Gutierrez Revuelta (Spa) Kuwait -  
50Egor Silin (Rus) RP - Boavista  
51Matvey Mamykin (Rus) Katusha-Alpecin  
52Mario Gonzalez Salas (Spa) Sporting / Tavira0:13:25 
53Maxim Belkov (Rus) Katusha-Alpecin0:15:16 
54Tiago Machado (Por) Katusha-Alpecin  
55Jhonatan Restrepo Valencia (Col) Katusha-Alpecin  
56Aitor Gonzalez (Spa) Euskadi Basque Country - Murias0:15:40 
57Pablo Guerrero Bonilla (Spa) RP - Boavista  
58David Belda (Spa) Burgos-BH  
59José Manuel Díaz (Spa) Israel Cycling Academy0:16:53 
60Ibai Azurmendi Sagastibeltza (Spa)  
61Luis Enrique Davila (Mex) Israel Cycling Academy  
62Eneko Lizarralde Delgado (Spa) Euskadi Basque Country - Murias0:19:43 
63Adrian Gonzalez Velasco (Spa) Euskadi Basque Country - Murias  
64Beñat Txoperena Matxikote (Spa) Euskadi Basque Country - Murias  
65João Rodrigues (Por) W52/FC Porto  
66Gilber Zurita (Bol) Equipo Bolivia0:20:16 
67Emils Liepins (Lat) Rietumu Banka - Riga0:21:08 
68Viesturs Luksevics (Lat) Rietumu Banka - Riga  
69Davide Rebellin (Ita) Kuwait -  
70Iker Azkarate Ramirez (Spa)  
71Carlos Antonio Jimenez Lozano (Spa) Equipo Bolivia0:21:26 
72David Rodrigues (Por) RP - Boavista0:21:36 
DNFLuis Gomes (Por) Rádio Popular Boavista  
DNFMarcis Kalnins (Por) Rietumu Banka - Riga  
DNFMarcos Jurado (Spa) Burgos-BH  
DNFMaurits Lammertink (Ned) Team Katusha - Alpecin  
DNFKlavs Rubenis (Lat) Rietumu Banka - Riga  
DNFJustin Oien (USA) Caja Rural - Seguros RGA  
DNFJunior Antonio Marte (Spa) Inteja Dominican Cycling Team  
DNFJulio Alberto Amores (Spa) Inteja Dominican Cycling Team  
DNFJulen Irizar (Spa) Euskadi Basque Country - Murias  
DNFJulen Amarika (Spa) Spain  
DNFJuan Ignacio Perez (Spa) W52/FC Porto  
DNFJosé Herrada (Spa) Movistar Team  
DNFMichael Hepburn (Aus) Orica -Scott  
DNFMiguel Angel Fernandez (Spa) Spain  
DNFVíctor De La Parte (Spa) Movistar Team  
DNFTyler Williams (USA) Israel Cycling Academy  
DNFSvein Tuft (Can) Orica -Scott  
DNFSimon Clarke (Aus) Cannondale-Drapac Pro Cycling Team  
DNFSamuel Caldeira (Por) W52/FC Porto  
DNFRoy Goldstein (Isr) Israel Cycling Academy  
DNFRaul Castrillo (Spa) Burgos-BH  
DNFRaul Alarcon (Spa) W52/FC Porto  
DNFRafael Marquez (Spa) Inteja Dominican Cycling Team  
DNFPeeter Pruus (Est) Rietumu Banka - Riga  
DNFPedro Gregori (Spa) Equipo Bolivia  
DNFMikel Iturria (Spa) Euskadi Basque Country - Murias  
DNFMikel Alonso Flores (Spa) Spain  
DNFMihkel Raim (Est) Israel Cycling Academy  
DNFJose Viejo (Spa) DanielSpain  
DNFJorge Cubero (Spa) Burgos-BH  
DNFDavid Livramento (Por) Sporting Clube de Portugal/Tavira  
DNFDaniel Turek (Cze) Israel Cycling Academy  
DNFDaniel Sanchez (Spa) Rádio Popular Boavista  
DNFDaniel López (Spa) Burgos-BH  
DNFDaniel Freitas (Por) W52/FC Porto  
DNFDan Craven (Nam) Israel Cycling Academy  
DNFCristián Torres (Spa) Spain  
DNFBernardo Ayuso (Spa) Inteja Dominican Cycling Team  
DNFAxel Costa (Arg) Kuwait -  
DNFAwet Gebremedhin Andemeskel (Eri) Kuwait -  
DNFArmands Becis (Lat) Rietumu Banka - Riga  
DNFAndreas Keuser (Ger) Kuwait -  
DNFAlejandro Marque (Spa) Sporting Clube de Portugal/Tavira  
DNFAdrian Nuñez (Dom) Inteja Dominican Cycling Team  
DNFDavid Lopez (Spa) Team Sky  
DNFDeins Kanepejs (Lat) Rietumu Banka - Riga  
DNFJoni Brandão (Por) Sporting Clube de Portugal/Tavira  
DNFJoan Ruiz (Spa) Burgos-BH  
DNFSongezo Jim (RSA) Kuwait -  
DNFJavier Arando (Bol) Equipo Bolivia  
DNFJason Lowndes (Aus) Israel Cycling Academy  
DNFJacobo Ucha (Spa) W52/FC Porto  
DNFIvan Martinez (Spa) Equipo Bolivia  
DNFIgnacio Sarabia (Mex) Inteja Dominican Cycling Team  
DNFFilipe Cardoso (Por) Rádio Popular Boavista  
DNFFábio Silvestre (Por) Sporting Clube de Portugal/Tavira  
DNFEriks Toms Gavars (Lat) Rietumu Banka - Riga  
DNFEdwin Torres (Ven) Kuwait -  
DNFDomingos Gonçalves (Por) Rádio Popular Boavista  
DNFDiego Milan (Dom) Inteja Dominican Cycling Team  
OTLMarvin Orlando Angarita (Col) Equipo Bolivia  
OTLFernando Grijalba (Spa) Kuwait -  

Related Articles

Back to top