Van Gilder gets the win in Glencoe

Allar, Gokey-Smith round out podium

Laura Van Gilder (Mellow Mushroom Racing) out-sprinted Erica Allar (RideClean/ and the NOW and Novartis for MS, and Primal/Map My Ride Women's teams for the win at the Glencoe Grand Prix on windy but warm day on Chicago's North Shore.

The course, which has hosted the USA Professional Crit Championships in the past, is a 10-corner criterium, with a short hill halfway through the race. The race runs through upscale neighborhoods and a historic downtown area popular with Chicago commuters.

"[It was] really aggressive again today," said Van Gilder as she rushed to the podium before catching a flight for the Liberty Classic in Philadelphia. "Now and Primal were really keeping it fast and I was just trying to cover everything, I didn't want to miss a move today."

Despite shedding half the field, the efforts of the two biggest teams, NOW and Primal/MapMyRide, were unsuccessful in creating any kind of separation through the race. "I would have liked to have seen Primal work with us a little more instead of counter-attacking us since we had the two biggest teams," said National Road Race Champion Robin Farina, who led the charge for NOW. "I was trying to get them to go with us and make the sprinters go chase but it wasn't working as planned."

The race started quickly from the gun and riders started to get dropped in groups until 10 laps into the race in when a group of 26 riders settled into a steady pace led by NOW and Primal/Map My Ride.

NOW and Primal continued to attack through the race but due to strong winds on the down hill section of the course, and a tailwind going up the hill, breaks were not having any success getting more than two or three seconds up the road.

Halfway through the last lap Beth Newell (NOW and Novartis for MS) attacked and was quickly marked by Erica Allar and Laura Van Gilder. Coming down the final straight it looked like Allar had timed her sprint perfectly but Van Gilder came around her for the win at the line by half a bike length.

"Our Director Jamie Carney, told me that I needed to be first or second out of the last turn because it was a really short tailwind sprint," Said Allar who is the current National Criterium Calendar points leader. "I went for it, and had a gap, but unfortunately I couldn't hold off Laura Van Gilder.

Despite missing the win NOW still placed Christina Gokey-Smith on the podium in third place. "We are here to win the race, but we will take a podium and the win [Lake Bluff Twilight Criterium] yesterday," said NOW team leader Farina. "I think they learned from yesterday they can't let us get a gap because we are going to take advantage of it and ride it."

Allar, who is off to Oklahoma for the next stop in the NCC calendar, the St Francis Tulsa Tough, is poised to remain the series leader after the Glencoe Grand Prix. "Hopefully I had a big enough gap going into it that I can maintain my lead in the overall," said Allar who ignored mid race primes throughout the day to concentrate on the finish. "They did some points sprints partway through which was unusual for me. I'm not aware of any other races doing that before but I'm pretty confident I still have the lead."

Full Results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Laura Van Gilder (Mellow Mushroom Racing)0:58:58 
2Erica Allar (RideClean/ 
3Christina Gokey-Smith0:00:00 
4Nichole Wangsgard (Primal/MapMyRide)0:00:01 
5Alexis Ryan (Team TIBCO II)0:00:01 
6Ruth Winder (Vanderkitten-Focus)0:00:01 
7Kaitlin Antonneau (Exergy Twenty12)0:00:02 
8Emma Lawson (RIDECLEAN/ 
9Sarah Fader (Pepper Palace/Spin-Tech)0:00:02 
10Robin Farina (NOW and Novartis for MS)0:00:02 
11Kendall Ryan (TIBCO to The Top)0:00:02 
12Jeannie Kuhajek (PSIMET Racing)0:00:03 
13Kori Seehafer0:00:03 
14Cari Higgins (Exergy Twenty12)0:00:03 
15Emma Bast (Speedfix Racing p/b Zub)0:00:03 
16Jessica Cutler (Primal/MapMyRide Wom)0:00:04 
17Devon Gorry (NOW and Novartis for MS)0:00:04 
18Kristen Meshberg (Spidermonkey Cycling)0:00:04 
19Carrie Cash Wootten (Pedal The Cause)0:00:04 
20Bergen Watterson (Pepper Palace/Spin-Tech)0:00:05 
21Emily Kachorek (Primal/MapMyRide)0:00:05 
22Elizabeth Newell (NOW and Novartis for MS)0:00:05 
23Holly Mathews (Nova Cycle Sports Foundation)0:00:10 
24Jacqueline Kurth (Primal/MapMyRide )0:00:10 
25Liza Rachetto (Primal/MapMyRide Wom)0:00:25 
26Addyson Albershardt (NOW and Novartis for MS)0:00:33 
27Sarah Huang (Exergy TWENTY12)  
28 (-1 lap)Christy Keely (Team Kenda presented by Geargrinder)  
29Cinthia Lehner  
30Jannette Rho (Les Petites Victoires)  
31Hayley Giddens (ISCorp Cycling Team)  
32Starla Teddergreen (Vanderkitten-Focus)  
33Colleen Gulick (Pure Energy Cycling-ProA)  
34Morgan Patton (Team Type 1)  
35Amelia Moore (Les Petites Victoires)  
36Erica Chard (Pepper Palace/Spin-Tech)  
37Jennifer Perricone (LAC WI ISCorp Cycling Team)  
38 (2- laps)Colleen Hayduk (RideClean/ )  
39Klara Rossouw (Pepper Palace/Spin-Tech)  
40Cady Chintis (Les Petites Victoires)  
41Courtney Dimpel (Vanderkitten-Focus)  
42Mandy Marquardt (Team Type 1)  
43Lindsey Durst (ISCorp Cycling Team/No)  
44Leah Sanda (PSIMET Racing)  
45Jennifer Greenberg (Team Kenda presented by Geargrinder)  
46Katherine Ross (Pepper Palace/Spin-Tech)  
47Christine Roettger (Pedal The Cause)  
48Francine Haas (Team Higher Gear)  
49Kimberly Gialdini (PSIMET Racing)  
DNFBecca Schepps (Innervation Fitness/Stan's No Tubes)  


Back to top