Bakelants wins Giro dell'Emilia

Fedi second, Madrazo third

Jan Bakelants (AG2R La Mondiale) attacked from a lead group of three to take a solo win Saturday at the Giro dell’Amelia.

An early breakaway of two riders formed after 60km of racing, but that effort was neutralised with 46km to go. The peloton faced five trips up the San Luca climb in the finale, and it was Bakelants joining two other riders off the front during the third ascent.

The leading chase group was quickly whittled down to just nine riders, but they could not get back on terms with the trio of escapees. Bakelants attacked during the final trip up San Luca and soloed in two seconds ahead of Andrea Fedi (Southeast) and three seconds ahead of Angel Madrazo Ruiz (Caja Rural-Seguros RGA).

Saturday's win is Bakelants' second this month after he won the Giro del Piemonte on October 2. In September the 29-year-old Belgian rider was fourth at the Grand Prix Cycliste Montreal and second at Grand Prix de Wallonie.


#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Jan Bakelants (Bel) AG2R La Mondiale5:08:17 
2Andrea Fedi (Ita) Southeast Pro Cycling0:00:02 
3Angel Madrazo Ruiz (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA0:00:03 
4Damiano Cunego (Ita) Nippo - Vini Fantini0:00:12 
5Eduard Prades Reverte (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA0:00:20 
6Jan Polanc (Slo) Lampre-Merida  
7Franco Pellizotti (Ita) Androni Giocattoli0:00:33 
8Mauro Finetto (Ita) Southeast Pro Cycling0:00:38 
9Edoardo Zardini (Ita) Bardiani CSF0:00:48 
10Merhawi Kudus Ghebremedhin (Eri) MTN - Qhubeka0:01:00 
11Maurits Lammertink (Ned) Team Roompot Oranje Peloton0:01:08 
12Serge Pauwels (Bel) MTN - Qhubeka0:01:28 
13Floris De Tier (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Baloise0:01:42 
14Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale0:01:44 
15Louis Meintjes (RSA) MTN - Qhubeka0:01:51 
16Matteo Busato (Ita) Southeast Pro Cycling0:02:01 
17Thomas Sprengers (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Baloise0:02:09 
18Davide Rebellin (Ita) CCC Sprandi Polkowice  
19Hugh Carthy (GBr) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA0:02:53 
20Kiryll Pozdnyakov (Rus) RusVelo0:03:12 
21Simone Petilli (Ita) Unieuro Wilier0:03:25 
22Fabricio Ferrari Barcelo (Uru) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA0:03:36 
23Matteo Montaguti (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale0:03:38 
24Miguel Angel Rubiano Chavez (Col) Colombia0:04:05 
25Heiner Rodrigo Parra Bustamente (Col) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA0:04:13 
26Antonio Parrinello (Ita) d'Amico Bottecchia0:04:30 
27Huub Duyn (Ned) Team Roompot Oranje Peloton0:04:42 
28Alberto Nardin (Ita) Androni Giocattoli0:05:08 
29Michel Kreder (Ned) Team Roompot Oranje Peloton0:05:12 
30Francesco Manuel Bongiorno (Ita) Bardiani CSF0:05:23 
31Alessandro Malaguti (Ita) Nippo - Vini Fantini0:06:07 
32Michele Gazzarra (Ita) Mg.Kvis-Vega0:06:08 
33Gianfranco Zilioli (Ita) Androni Giocattoli0:06:09 
34Giacomo Berlato (Ita) Nippo - Vini Fantini0:06:27 
35Marco Tizza (Ita) Team Idea 2010 ASD0:06:28 
DNSLuca Chirico (Ita) Bardiani CSF  
DNFAdrian Honkisz (Pol) CCC Sprandi Polkowice  
DNFLeszek Plucinski (Pol) CCC Sprandi Polkowice  
DNFGrzegorz Stepniak (Pol) CCC Sprandi Polkowice  
DNFJaroslaw Marycz (Pol) CCC Sprandi Polkowice  
DNFLukasz Owsian (Pol) CCC Sprandi Polkowice  
DNFJosef Cerny (Cze) CCC Sprandi Polkowice  
DNFEryk Laton (Pol) CCC Sprandi Polkowice  
DNFValerio Conti (Ita) Lampre-Merida  
DNFMattia Cattaneo (Ita) Lampre-Merida  
DNFMatteo Bono (Ita) Lampre-Merida  
DNFRoberto Ferrari (Ita) Lampre-Merida  
DNFIlia Koshevoy (Blr) Lampre-Merida  
DNFPrzemyslaw Niemiec (Pol) Lampre-Merida  
DNFEdward Ravasi (Ita) Lampre-Merida  
DNFGuillaume Bonnafond (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale  
DNFAxel Domont (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale  
DNFHubert Dupont (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale  
DNFPierre-Roger Latour (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale  
DNFRomain Campistrous (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale  
DNFSander Helven (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Baloise  
DNFJef Van Meirhaeghe (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Baloise  
DNFArthur Van Overberghe (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Baloise  
DNFJens Wallays (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Baloise  
DNFJean-Marc Bideau (Fra) Bretagne-Séché Environnement  
DNFFrédéric Brun (Fra) Bretagne-Séché Environnement  
DNFMaxime Cam (Fra) Bretagne-Séché Environnement  
DNFMatthieu Boulo (Fra) Bretagne-Séché Environnement  
DNFFlorian Guillou (Fra) Bretagne-Séché Environnement  
DNFChristophe Laborie (Fra) Bretagne-Séché Environnement  
DNFJosé Gonçalves (Por) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA  
DNFAntonio Molina (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA  
DNFRicardo Vilela (Por) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA  
DNFEtienne Van Empel (Ned) Team Roompot Oranje Peloton  
DNFSjoerd Van Ginneken (Ned) Team Roompot Oranje Peloton  
DNFReinier Honig (Ned) Team Roompot Oranje Peloton  
DNFMike Terpstra (Ned) Team Roompot Oranje Peloton  
DNFMarco Frapporti (Ita) Androni Giocattoli  
DNFOscar Gatto (Ita) Androni Giocattoli  
DNFAlessio Taliani (Ita) Androni Giocattoli  
DNFSerghei Tvetcov (Rom) Androni Giocattoli  
DNFMichele Viola (Ita) Androni Giocattoli  
DNFEnrico Barbin (Ita) Bardiani CSF  
DNFSonny Colbrelli (Ita) Bardiani CSF  
DNFStefano Pirazzi (Ita) Bardiani CSF  
DNFSimone Sterbini (Ita) Bardiani CSF  
DNFAlessandro Tonelli (Ita) Bardiani CSF  
DNFIgor Boev (Rus) RusVelo  
DNFRoman Kustadinchev (Rus) RusVelo  
DNFSergey Nikolaev (Rus) RusVelo  
DNFArtem Nych (Rus) RusVelo  
DNFIvan Savitskiy (Rus) RusVelo  
DNFSergey Firsanov (Rus) RusVelo  
DNFAndrei Solomennikov (Rus) RusVelo  
DNFSamuele Conti (Ita) Southeast Pro Cycling  
DNFCristian Rodriguez Martin (Spa) Southeast Pro Cycling  
DNFFrancesco Gavazzi (Ita) Southeast Pro Cycling  
DNFGiuseppe Fonzi (Ita) Southeast Pro Cycling  
DNFMirko Tedeschi (Ita) Southeast Pro Cycling  
DNFIuri Filosi (Ita) Nippo - Vini Fantini  
DNFEduard Michael Grosu (Rom) Nippo - Vini Fantini  
DNFPier Paolo De Negri (Ita) Nippo - Vini Fantini  
DNFAntonio Nibali (Ita) Nippo - Vini Fantini  
DNFGenki Yamamoto (Jpn) Nippo - Vini Fantini  
DNFJorge Camilo Castiblanco Cubides (Col) Colombia  
DNFFabio Andres Duarte Arevalo (Col) Colombia  
DNFVaron Castillo Felix Alejandro (Col) Colombia  
DNFJuan Pablo Valencia (Col) Colombia  
DNFRamirez Chacon Brayan Stiven (Col) Colombia  
DNFCayetano José Sarmiento Tunarrosa (Col) Colombia  
DNFRodolfo Andres Torres Agudelo (Col) Colombia  
DNFStephen Cummings (GBr) MTN - Qhubeka  
DNFJacques Janse Van Rensburg (RSA) MTN - Qhubeka  
DNFNatnael Berhane (Eri) MTN - Qhubeka  
DNFKristian Sbaragli (Ita) MTN - Qhubeka  
DNFGiorgio Bocchiola (Ita) d'Amico Bottecchia  
DNFAdriano Brogi (Ita) d'Amico Bottecchia  
DNFThomas Capocchi (Ita) d'Amico Bottecchia  
DNFPaolo Ciavatta (Ita) d'Amico Bottecchia  
DNFFrancesco Baldi (Ita) d'Amico Bottecchia  
DNFSilvio Giorni (Ita) d'Amico Bottecchia  
DNFGian Marco Di Francesco (Ita) Mg.Kvis-Vega  
DNFEmiliano Faieta (Ita) Mg.Kvis-Vega  
DNFMoreno Giampaolo (Ita) Mg.Kvis-Vega  
DNFLuca Muffolini (Ita) Mg.Kvis-Vega  
DNFAntonio Santoro (Ita) Mg.Kvis-Vega  
DNFMichele Scartezzini (Ita) Mg.Kvis-Vega  
DNFDavide Plebani (Ita) Unieuro Wilier  
DNFGiovanni Carboni (Ita) Unieuro Wilier  
DNFLorenzo Rota (Ita) Unieuro Wilier  
DNFMattia Frapporti (Ita) Unieuro Wilier  
DNFMarco Tecchio (Ita) Unieuro Wilier  
DNFStefano Nardelli (Ita) Unieuro Wilier  
DNFGiovanni Pedretti (Ita) Unieuro Wilier  
DNFLuca Capelli (Ita) Team Idea 2010 ASD  
DNFMaurizio Damiano (Ita) Team Idea 2010 ASD  
DNFMatteo Malucelli (Ita) Team Idea 2010 ASD  
DNFAlessandro Pettiti (Ita) Team Idea 2010 ASD  
DNFMatteo Spreafico (Ita) Team Idea 2010 ASD  
DNFFilippo Fortin (Ita) GM Cycling Team  
DNFSebastian Stamegna (Ita) GM Cycling Team  
DNFDaniele Cavasin (Ita) GM Cycling Team  
DNFMatteo Rotondi (Ita) GM Cycling Team  
DNFAndrea Ruscetta (Ita) GM Cycling Team  
DNFAndrea Cacciotti (Ita) GM Cycling Team  
Back to top