TechPowered By

More tech

Ballan wins Giro della Toscana

Cycling News

BMC Italian too fast for breakaway companions

Alessandro Ballan (BMC) celebrates his victory at the Giro della Toscana.

Alessandro Ballan (BMC) celebrates his victory at the Giro della Toscana.

view thumbnail gallery

Alessandro Ballan (BMC) received a boost to his morale six days prior to the Giro d'Italia with a win at the Giro della Toscana. The 32-year-old Italian hadn't won a road race since the 2009 Tour of Poland, but the drought ended today with his victory from a breakaway. Carlos Betancur (Acqua & Sapone) finished second with Valerio Agnoli (Liquigas-Cannondale) in third for the 199km race.

"I was feeling good and we had a very strong team here today," Ballan said. "When we went over the major climb of the day [with 55km to go], I think we had seven guys in the lead group of 40."

Early in the race Ballan's teammates Adam Blythe and Taylor Phinney combined to help bring back a two-man breakaway that at one point enjoyed a 12-minute lead. After the peloton was whittled down to fewer than four dozen riders over the major climb, Ballan and teammates Mathias Frank, Tim Roe and Ivan Santaromita were part of a group of 12 that gained more than a minute's lead heading toward the first of two laps of the finishing circuits.

"I thought the race was going to go there but Farnese-Vini, even though they had a guy in the group, pulled it back," said Max Sciandri, BMC assistant director Max Sciandri. "Our team did an incredible job today. The plan was to race for Mauro Santambrogio (runner-up here a year ago), keeping Mathias in mind and having Ballan and Marco Pinotti as wild cards. But with 20 kilometers to go, Ballan came to me and said he was feeling good today."

Full Results
1 Alessandro Ballan (Ita) BMC Racing Team 5:09:51  
2 Carlos Alberto Betancur Gomez (Col) Acqua & Sapone    
3 Valerio Agnoli (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale    
4 Matej Mugerli (Slo) Adria Mobil    
5 Moreno Moser (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale 0:00:04  
6 Marco Frapporti (Ita) Team Idea 0:00:09  
7 Sergey Klimov (Rus) RusVelo 0:00:18  
8 Marko Kump (Slo) Adria Mobil    
9 Damiano Caruso (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale    
10 Elia Favilli (Ita) Farnese Vini - Selle Italia    
11 Stefano Agostini (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale    
12 Mauro Santambrogio (Ita) BMC Racing Team    
13 Sonny Colbrelli (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox    
14 Nikita Eskov (Rus) RusVelo    
15 Mathias Frank (Swi) BMC Racing Team    
16 Yoeri Havik (Ned) Netherlands    
17 Taylor Phinney (USA) BMC Racing Team    
18 Frederico Rocchetti (Ita) Utensilnord Named    
19 Ruslan Karimov (Uzb) Team Idea    
20 Maurizio Biondo (Ita) Meridiana Kamen Team    
21 Mariano Giallorenzo (Ita) Meridiana Kamen Team    
22 Fabio Taborre (Ita) Acqua & Sapone    
23 Davide Mucelli (Ita) Utensilnord Named    
24 Patxi Javier Vila Errandonea (Spa) Utensilnord Named    
25 Riccardo Chiarini (Ita) Androni Giocattoli    
26 Darwin Atapuma Hurtado (Col) Colombia - Coldeportes    
27 Vladimir Miholjevic (Cro) Acqua & Sapone    
28 Marco Pinotti (Ita) BMC Racing Team    
29 Artem Ovechkin (Rus) RusVelo    
30 Alessandro Bisolti (Ita) Team Idea    
31 Matej Gnezda (Slo) Adria Mobil    
32 Massimo Codol (Ita) Acqua & Sapone    
33 Sergey Firsanov (Rus) RusVelo    
34 Dmitry Kozontchuk (Rus) RusVelo    
35 Javier Gonzalez Barrera (Col) Colombia - Coldeportes    
36 Alessandro Vanotti (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale    
37 Stefano Locatelli (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox    
38 Tomaz Nose (Slo) Adria Mobil    
39 Kristjan Fajt (Slo) Adria Mobil    
40 Kristijan Durasek (Cro) Adria Mobil    
41 Eros Capecchi (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale    
42 Gianluca Brambilla (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox    
43 Ivan Santaromita (Ita) BMC Racing Team    
44 Radoslav Rogina (Cro) Adria Mobil    
45 Oscar Gatto (Ita) Farnese Vini - Selle Italia 0:00:35  
46 Stefano Pirazzi (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox    
47 Jaroslaw Dabrowski (Pol) Amore & Vita 0:01:00  
48 Derk Abel Beckeringh (Ned) Netherlands 0:01:32  
49 Thimothy Roe (Aus) BMC Racing Team 0:01:37  
50 Luca Mazzanti (Ita) Farnese Vini - Selle Italia    
51 Simon Pavlin (Slo) Adria Mobil    
52 Krisztian Lovassy (Hun) Hungary    
53 Federico Canuti (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale    
54 Michael Rodriguez Galindo (Col) Colombia - Coldeportes    
55 Paolo Bailetti (Ita) Utensilnord Named    
56 Mike Teunissen (Ned) Netherlands    
57 Mike Terpstra (Ned) Netherlands    
58 Yovcho Yovchev (Bul) Amore & Vita    
59 Marino Palandri (Ita) Amore & Vita    
60 Luis Felipe Laverde Jimenez (Col) Colombia - Coldeportes    
61 Mats Boeve (Ned) Netherlands    
62 Miguel Angel Rubiano Chavez (Col) Androni Giocattoli    
63 Andrea Palini (Ita) Team Idea    
64 Francesco Failli (Ita) Farnese Vini - Selle Italia    
65 Matteo Rabottini (Ita) Farnese Vini - Selle Italia    
66 Pier Paolo De Negri (Ita) Farnese Vini - Selle Italia 0:05:24  
67 Carlos Julian Quintero (Col) Colombia - Coldeportes    
68 Giuseppe De Maria (Ita) Team Idea    
69 Angelo Pagani (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox    
70 Alberto Di Lorenzo (Ita) Meridiana Kamen Team    
71 Blaz Bonca (Slo) Meridiana Kamen Team    
DNF Maksym Averin (Ukr) Amore & Vita    
DNF Viesturs Luksevics (Lat) Amore & Vita    
DNF Patrik Moren (Swe) Amore & Vita    
DNF Niv Libner (Isr) Amore & Vita    
DNF Uri Martins (Mex) Amore & Vita    
DNF Bendeguz Bernard (Hun) Hungary    
DNF Peter Simon (Hun) Hungary    
DNF Istvan Cziraki (Hun) Hungary    
DNF Istvan Molnar (Hun) Hungary    
DNF Maté Radonics (Hun) Hungary    
DNF Marton Solymosi (Hun) Hungary    
DNF Zoltan Vigh (Hun) Hungary    
DNF Enrico Rossi (Ita) Meridiana Kamen Team    
DNF Roberto Cesaro (Ita) Meridiana Kamen Team    
DNF David John McLean (GBr) Meridiana Kamen Team    
DNF Luka Grubic (Cro) Meridiana Kamen Team    
DNF Wouter Wippert (Ned) Netherlands    
DNF Kay Welten (Ned) Netherlands    
DNF Gijs Strating (Ned) Netherlands    
DNF Simone Boifava (Ita) Team Idea    
DNF Luca Dodi (Ita) Team Idea    
DNF Aristide Ratti (Ita) Team Idea    
DNF Adam Blythe (GBr) BMC Racing Team    
DNF Daniele Ratto (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale    
DNF Danilo Di Luca (Ita) Acqua & Sapone    
DNF Paolo Ciavatta (Ita) Acqua & Sapone    
DNF Simone Masciarelli (Ita) Acqua & Sapone    
DNF Andrea Masciarelli (Ita) Acqua & Sapone    
DNF Filippo Pozzato (Ita) Farnese Vini - Selle Italia    
DNF Omar Lombardi (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox    
DNF Fabio Felline (Ita) Androni Giocattoli    
DNF Jonathan Monsalve (Ven) Androni Giocattoli    
DNF Tomas Aurelio Gil Martinez (Ven) Androni Giocattoli    
DNF Miguel Ubeto Aponte (Ven) Androni Giocattoli    
DNF Alessandro Bertolini (Ita) Androni Giocattoli    
DNF Salvatore Mancuso (Ita) Androni Giocattoli    
DNF Matvey Zubov (Rus) RusVelo    
DNF Dalivier Ospina Navarro (Col) Colombia - Coldeportes    
DNF Robinson Eduardo Chalapud Gomez (Col) Colombia - Coldeportes    
DNF Franck Osorio (Col) Colombia - Coldeportes    
DNF Oleg Berdos (Mda) Utensilnord Named    
DNF Sergio Lagana (Ita) Utensilnord Named    
DNF Fabio Piscopiello (Ita) Utensilnord Named