Alice Barnes wins British road race to complete the double

23-year-old wins emphatically from group of four

Alice Barnes (Canyon-SRAM) backed up her mid-week time trial title with victory in the road race at the British national championships on Sunday, winning commandingly from a breakaway of four riders. 

The 23-year-old, whose only teammate was her sister Hannah, the 2017 champion, is the first woman to do the road race-time trial double since Emma Pooley in 2010. 

Barnes put herself into a winning position with around 40km of the rolling 130km Norfolk course left to ride. A four-rider breakaway had just been caught, and two more riders went up the road: Lizzie Holden (Drops) and Anna Henderson (Brother UK-Tifosi). A few kilometres later, Barnes set off in pursuit along with Abby-Mae Parkinson (Drops), and made the bridge to form the decisive selection. 

Barnes, herself, only 23, found herself as the most experienced rider in the group, and ensured they collaborated well to keep the reduced peloton at bay. The gap hovered between 30 and 40 seconds but there wasn't enough horsepower or coordination behind. 

Heading into the final kilometre, the win was assured for one of the four, and Barnes seized her moment. With the road rising and twisting to the line, she went from distance, leaving her companions behind in emphatic fashion to win by a handsome margin. 

Henderson finished second, collecting the U23 title in the process, with the final podium spot going to Holden.

"I'm in shock," said Barnes. "It was a really hard race, and there were a few times I thought it was over when there were big teams up the road. Then there were two girls away and I went across with Abby-Mae. We worked really well together until about 1km to go, then I didn't want to leave it to a sprint so I attacked with a couple of corners to go and just trusted my tyres. 

"I knew they must all be going pretty hard to catch me, so I knew no one would have anything left. I just saw the line and went for it, and no one else was behind me."


#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Alice Barnes (GBr) Canyon Sram Racing3:24:59 
2Anna Henderson (GBr) Brother UK - Tifosi p/b OnForm0:00:03 
3Elizabeth Holden (GBr) Drops  
4Abby-Mae Parkinson (GBr) Drops0:00:12 
5Lucy Garner (GBr) Hitec Products Birk Sport0:01:47 
6Hannah Barnes (GBr) Canyon Sram Racing  
7Elizabeth Banks (GBr) Bigla0:01:49 
8Anna Kay (GBr) Experza-Footlogix  
9Eleanor Dickinson (GBr) Drops  
10Elinor Barker MBE (GBr) Drops  
11Emily Wadsworth (GBr) Brother UK - Tifosi p/b OnForm  
12Emily Nelson (GBr) RST/Cycle Division Racing Team  
13Elizabeth Bennett (GBr) Campinense - Velo Performance  
14Dani Christmas (GBr) Lotto Soudal  
15Alicia Speake (GBr) Team LDN  
16Emma Grant (GBr) Sho - Air Twenty20  
17Sophie Thackray (GBr) Torelli-Assure-Madison  
18Jessica Finney (GBr) Brother UK - Tifosi p/b OnForm  
19Anna Christian (GBr) Drops  
20Natalie Grinczer (GBr) Bizkaia Durango-Euskadi Murias  
21April Tacey (GBr) Brother UK Fusion RT  
22Jennifer Powell (GBr) Bianchi Dama  
23Dannielle Khan (GBr)  
24Annabel Fisher (GBr) Ilkley Cycling Club  
25Rachel Jary (GBr) Keukens Redant  
26Fiona Turnbull (GBr) Slingshot  
27Jennifer George (GBr) Torelli-Assure-Madison  
28Charlotte Colclough (GBr) Bianchi Dama  
29Joscelin Lowden (GBr) Drops  
30Holly MacMahon (GBr) Bianchi Dama  
31Francesca Cutts (GBr) Team LDN  
32Isabel Ellis (GBr) SaF Zéisseng  
33Hayley Simmonds (GBr) BTC City Ljubljana  
34Jayati Hine (GBr) Storey Racing  
35Charlotte Berry (GBr) Campinense - Velo Performance  
36Emma Cockcroft (GBr) Bianchi Dama  
37Natasha Reddy (GBr) Bianchi Dama  
38Hannah Larbalestier (GBr) Team Boompods  
39Sophie Lankford (GBr) Team Jadan Weldtite-Vive le Ve...  
40Helen Ralston (GBr) Team LDN  
41Laura Massey (GBr) Torelli-Assure-Madison  
42Monica Dew (GBr) Storey Racing  
43Henrietta Colborne (GBr) Biehler Pro Cycling  
44Gemma Sargent (GBr) Team Jadan Weldtite-Vive le Ve...  
45Nicole Oh (GBr) Les Filles Racing Team  
46Leah Dixon (GBr) Brother UK - Tifosi p/b OnForm  
47Georgina Panchaud (GBr) Bianchi Dama  
48Fiona Russell (GBr) Brother UK Fusion RT  
49Polly Mason (GBr) DAP Cycling Club  
50Hannah Payton (GBr) Drops  
51Rebecca Johnson (GBr) Brother UK Fusion RT  
52Marie Lynn (GBr) Team Jadan Weldtite-Vive le Ve...  
53Florence Cox (GBr) Campinense - Velo Performance  
54Abigail Van Twisk (GBr) Trek-Segafredo Women  
55Emily Meakin (GBr) The Independent Pedaler  
56Jo Tindley (GBr) Campinense - Velo Performance  
57Charmaine Porter (GBr) Brother UK - Tifosi p/b OnForm  
58Crystal Lane-Wright (GBr) Isorex NoAqua Ladies Cycling T...  
59Illi Gardner (GBr) Brother UK - Tifosi p/b OnForm  
60Victoria Smith (GBr) AeroCoach  
61Savannah Morgan (GBr) Illi-Bikes Cycling Team  
62Ruth Shier (GBr) Brother UK Fusion RT  
63Christina Wiejak (GBr) Team Jadan Weldtite-Vive le Ve...  
64Amy Gornall (GBr) The Racing Chance Foundation  
65Gwenno Hughes (GBr) Westland Wil Vooruit  
DNFCharlotte Broughton (GBr) Liv Awol  
DNFSarah Burke (GBr) GB  
DNFGrace Garner (GBr) Hitec Products Birk Sport  
DNFHannah Graveney (GBr) Liv Awol  
DNFFrancesca Hall (GBr) DAP Cycling Club  
DNFAlexandra Hamilton (GBr) TW1 Racing  
DNFKirstin Hamilton (GBr) Ipswich Bicycle Club  
DNFConnie Hayes (GBr) Liv Awol  
DNFSophie Holmes (GBr) Datalynx-Parenesis Cycling  
DNFConnie Hudson (GBr)  
DNFElizabeth Hughes (GBr) Team LDN  
DNFLauren Humphreys (GBr) Team Boompods  
DNFAmy King (GBr) Team Jadan Weldtite-Vive le Ve...  
DNFSarah King (GBr) Bianchi Dama  
DNFVictoria Lovett (GBr) Liv Awol  
DNFAmy Marks (GBr) Team LDN  
DNFGemma Melton (GBr) Pedal Power Cycles Ipswich  
DNFLucy Shaw (GBr) Drops  
DNFCorinne Side (GBr) Cycle Team OnForm  
DNFDame Sarah Storey (GBr) Storey Racing  
DNFBecky Storrie (GBr) Team IOM Ladies  
DNFPoppy Thompson (GBr) Team Jadan Weldtite-Vive le Ve...  
DNFLydia Watts (GBr) Cycle Team OnForm  
Back to top