TechPowered By

More tech

Austrian Road Championships 2011

Date range:
June 26, 2011

June 26, Elite Men Road Race: Eisenstadt - Eisenstadt 170km

Krizek steps up in Elite race

Cycling News
June 26, 2011, 19:23 BST,
June 27, 2011, 12:51 BST

Former U23 champion takes title, Graus defends women's jersey

Matthias Krizek (2000 Veneto Marchiol) became the new Austrian champion at the 2011 national championships in Eisenstadt on Sunday. The 23-year-old repated his feat from the U23 ranks last year, taking the victory amongst the Elite men in difficult weather conditions. All riders on the final podium with Riccardo Zoidl as second and Andreas Hofer as third-placed (and U23 champion) were under 24 years old.

Krizek proved to be the strongest on the 170km, four-lap course around Eisenstadt, made dangerous by intermittent rain. A five-men breakaway broke clear after 25 kilometres, growing to 22 riders in the third lap. The later winner attacked at km 113 together with Zoidl and Patrick Konrad. They were later joined by another three riders, including Hofer, but Zoidl and Krizek were the only ones able to stay in front in the final ten kilometres. Krizek finally broke clear of his rival on the last descent and savoured his first Elite Men championship title.

"I am so happy. Just one month ago I celebrated my first season win and now I win the championships. Fortunately I was able to distance Riccardo on the last descent," the Vienna-native said.


Full Results

# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Matthias Krizek (Aut) 4:06:09  
2 Riccardo Zoidl (Aut) RC ARBÖ Gourmetfein Wels 0:00:20  
3 Andreas Hofer (Aut) Tyrol Team 0:01:06  
4 Patrick Konrad (Aut) Tyrol Team    
5 Georg Preidler (Aut) Tyrol Team    
6 Stefan Kirchmair (Aut) Tyrol Team 0:01:53  
7 Christoph Sokoll (Aut) RC ARBÖ Gourmetfein Wels 0:02:02  
8 Hans-Jörg Leopold (Aut)    
9 Marco Haller (Aut) Adria Mobil 0:02:43  
10 Rupert Probst (Aut) ARBÖ Gebrüder Weiss - Oberndorfer    
11 Martin Schöffmann (Aut) WSA - Viperbike 0:02:47  
12 Daniel Schorn (Aut) Team Netapp 0:03:43  
13 Roman Gredler (Aut) Union Raiffeisen Radteam Tirol 0:07:14  
14 Michael Gaubitzer (Aut) 0:10:55  
15 Jan Sokol (Aut) RC ARBÖ Gourmetfein Wels 0:12:27  
16 Dominik Brändle (Aut) Team Vorarlberg    
17 Florian Gaugl (Aut) Tyrol Team    
18 Gernot Auer (Aut) RC ARBÖ Gourmetfein Wels    
19 Markus Eibegger (Aut) Tabriz Petrochemical Team    
20 Harald Totschnig (Aut) Tyrol Team    
21 David Wöhrer (Aut) Tyrol Team    
22 Josef Benetseder (Aut) Team Vorarlberg 0:12:37  
23 Lukas Winter (Aut) 0:12:44  
24 Harald Starzengruber (Aut) Union Raiffeisen Radteam Tirol 0:13:59  
25 Hannes Lederer (Aut)    
26 Alexander Fritz (Aut)    
27 Florian Posch (Aut)    
28 Maximilian Kuen (Aut) Tyrol Team    
29 Christian Pavitschitz (Aut) ARBÖ Gebrüder Weiss - Oberndorfer    
30 Marco Peinhaupt (Aut)    
31 Norbert Durauer (Aut) Tyrol Team    
32 Stefan Rabitsch (Aut) RC ARBÖ Gourmetfein Wels    
33 Marc Obkircher (Aut) Tyrol Team    
34 Martin Weiss (Aut) Tyrol Team    
35 Werner Riebenbauer (Aut) RC ARBÖ Gourmetfein Wels 0:14:06  
36 Gerhard Trampusch (Aut) RC ARBÖ Gourmetfein Wels    
37 Jörg Thalhammer (Aut) RC ARBÖ Gourmetfein Wels    
38 Christoph Klaner (Aut)    
39 Wolfgang Tenor (Aut)    
40 Peter Pichler (Aut) Union Raiffeisen Radteam Tirol    
41 Philipp Grömer (Aut) ARBÖ Gebrüder Weiss - Oberndorfer    
42 Stefan Praxmarer (Aut) Union Raiffeisen Radteam Tirol    
43 Paul Lang (Aut)    
44 Clemens Fankhauser (Aut) Champion System 0:14:10  
45 Christian Wildauer (Aut) Union Raiffeisen Radteam Tirol    
46 Matthias Höfler (Aut) WSA - Viperbike    
47 Andreas Graf (Aut) RC ARBÖ Gourmetfein Wels    
48 Lukas Pöstlberger (Aut) RC ARBÖ Gourmetfein Wels    
49 Johannes Reiser (Aut)    
50 Stefan Stadler (Aut) ARBÖ Gebrüder Weiss - Oberndorfer    
51 Wolfgang Geisler (Aut) WSA - Viperbike    
52 Lukas Stoiber (Aut)    
53 Christoph Gerstlohner (Aut) ARBÖ Gebrüder Weiss - Oberndorfer    
54 Thomas Taubel (Aut) 0:14:17  
55 Stefan Broschek (Aut)    
56 Daniel Reiter (Aut) ARBÖ Gebrüder Weiss - Oberndorfer    
57 Thomas Gutmann (Aut)    
58 Stefan Poll (Aut) Team Vorarlberg    
59 Patrick Schörkmayer (Aut) WSA - Viperbike    
60 Philip Schinagl (Aut) ARBÖ Gebrüder Weiss - Oberndorfer    
61 Stefan Rucker (Aut) WSA - Viperbike    
62 Jürgen Hauk (Aut)    
63 Thomas Kals (Aut) 0:14:42