Skip to main content

Sam Gaze and Kate Courtney claim Whiskey 50 wins

Specialized duo Sam Gaze and Kate Courtney took out the Whiskey 50 crowns Sunday with dominant displays in the men and women's categories. It was the second win of the weekend for Gaze after his Whiskey Fat Tire Criterium victory Friday.

Courtney crushed a very talented women's field, beating USA XC Champion Erin Huck by ten minutes. USA Marathon Champion Rose Grant finished third despite nursing a shoulder injury.

Gaze, with the help of young Specialized teammate Christopher Blevins, got away from the pack before the ten-mile descent to Skull Valley. While Blevins faded a bit, Howard Grotts passed an impressive Kristian Hynek on the final 12-mile climb to claim second place. Hynek took third and Blevins fourth.

$30,000 in prize money was distributed evenly between the men and women, with the winners claiming $5000 checks.

Full Results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Sam Gaze (NZl) Specialized3:07:17
2Howard Grotts (USA) Specialized0:00:34
3Kristian Hynek (Cze) Topeak Ergon0:02:02
4Christopher Blevins (USA)0:07:31
5Jeremiah Bishop (USA) Topeak Ergon0:08:31
6Derek Zandstra (Can) Cannondale, CRCS, Stans Notubes0:09:15
7Benjamin Sonntag (USA)0:10:16
8Geoff Kabush (USA)
9Stephen Ettinger (USA) Focus0:11:27
10Fernando Riveros Paez (USA) CZ Racing0:11:57
11Keegan Swenson (USA) Cannondale0:11:58
12Kyle Trudeau (USA) CZ Racing0:12:02
13Chris Baddick (USA)0:13:08
14Spencer Paxson (USA)0:13:22
15Payson McElveen (USA) Orange Seal0:13:44
16Russell Finsterwald (USA) SRAM-TLD0:13:45
17Nic Beechan (USA)0:16:17
18Christoph Sauser (USA)0:17:15
19Cal Skilsky (USA)0:17:28
20Taylor Lideen (USA)0:18:29
21Rotem Ishay (USA)0:20:12
22Alex Grant (USA)0:20:13
23Todd Wells (USA) SRAM0:21:48
24Levi Kurlander (USA)0:22:17
25Stephan Davoust (USA)0:23:21
26Ryan Petry (USA) CZ Racing0:25:20
27Henry Nadell (USA) CZ Racing0:25:21
28Cory Wallace (Can) Kona Factory Team0:25:49
29Bryan Alders (USA)0:25:50
30Adam Bucklin (USA)0:26:15
31Nick Gould (USA)0:26:16
32Bryan Dillon (USA)0:27:12
33Rolando Gonzalez (USA) CRC Janitorial/Scott p/b 2nd Ave Sports0:27:14
34Cypress Gorry (USA)
35Evan Guthrie (Can)0:27:40
36TJ Woodruff (USA)0:28:02
37Clayton Otto (USA)0:28:25
38Troy Wells (USA) Clif Bar0:29:18
39Barry Wicks (USA)0:30:56
40Yuki Ikeda (Jpn)0:31:35
41Menso De Jong (USA) Clif Bar, Niner Bikes, SRAM0:32:08
42Brad Bingham (USA)0:32:44
43Brian Matter (USA)0:33:10
44Chris Ganter (USA)0:33:31
45Weston Rasmussen (USA) CZ Racing0:34:04
46Keiran Eagen (USA) CRC Janitorial-Scott Bikes p/b 2nd Ave Sports0:34:17
47Jakub Valigura (USA)0:35:18
48Justin Desilets (USA)0:38:20
49Cody Kaiser (USA) LangeTwins Winery, Specialized, SRAM0:38:36
50Caleb Thompson (USA) CRC Janitorial-Scott Bikes p/b 2nd Ave Sports0:39:08
51Felix Burke (Can)0:39:23
52Jason Donald (USA)0:39:33
53Rhys Verner (Can) Kona,Giro,Raceface0:41:56
54Trevor Deruise (USA)0:42:00
55Raphael Auclair (Can)0:42:19
56Nick Thomas (USA) Cadence Promotions, Speedtech, Trek0:42:20
57Amando Martinez (Mex)
58Cody Schwartz (USA)0:42:30
59Alex Pond (USA)0:46:15
60Jonathan Modig (USA) The Adrenalin Project0:47:15
61Mathieu Belanger-Barrette (USA)0:48:36
62Kris Sneddon (USA) Kona, Shimano, WTB0:49:36
63Jason Blodgett (USA) KTM Bicycles, SRAM, Kenda Tires0:49:40
64Greg Day (USA)0:51:53
65Tim Racette (USA) McDowell Mountain Cycles, Mikes Mix, Maxxis0:56:29
66John Nobil (USA)0:56:51
67Dax Massey (USA)0:57:06
68Nathan Miler (USA)1:00:09
69Jake Yackle (USA)1:03:47
70Michael Sampson (USA) Vittoria, Competitive Cyclist, NOTUBESMASTER1:09:06
71Patrick Means (USA)1:11:34
72Brent Burcham (USA)1:14:38
73Jorge Munoz Jr. (USA) CZ Racing1:15:38
74Ricardo Creel (USA) CZ Racing1:40:39

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Kate Courtney (USA) Specialized3:41:19
2Erin Huck (USA) Cannondale 3Rox0:09:43
3Rose Grant (USA) Stan's NoTubes, Pivot, Shimano, Maxxis, CLIF, Fox0:09:50
4Chloe Woodruff (USA) Stan's NoTubes, Pivot, Shimano, Maxxis, CLIF, Fox0:12:41
5Katerina Nash (USA) Cliff0:14:17
6Maghalie Rochette (Can) Cliff0:18:19
7Crystal Anthony (USA)0:21:36
8Evelyn Dong (USA)0:21:37
9Amy Beisel (USA)0:25:11
10Serena Bishop Gordon (USA) Liv0:32:22
11Isnaraissa Moir (USA)0:34:15
12Anayantzi Guzman (USA)0:35:05
13Sofia Gomez Villafane (USA)0:38:15
14Hannah Williams (USA)0:40:56
15Sarah Sturm (USA)0:41:24
16Chase Edwards (USA)0:43:05
17Rebecca Beaumont (USA)0:45:02
18Nikki Peterson (USA)0:46:50
19Dara Marks Marino (USA)0:48:30
20Rebecca Gross (USA)0:50:46
21Anne-Julie Tremblay (Can)0:52:01
22Anna Kiep (USA)0:55:21
23Christine Jeffrey (USA) CZ Racing0:57:41
24Deidre Morrison (USA)0:59:15
25Meghan Korol (USA)1:06:04
26Allison Arensman (USA)1:21:25


Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1