Hyde beats White to win third consecutive cyclo-cross stars-and-stripes jersey

Cannondale-Cyclocrossworld teammates Stephen Hyde and Curtis White share a lot of things: sponsors, coaches, mechanics, and often times they are roommates ahead of races, but the one thing they would not share was the stars-and-stripes jersey. The pair raced neck-and-neck in what was the most evenly matched race of the day, but, in the end, it was Hyde who won the elite men’s title at the USA Cycling Cyclo-cross Championships in Louisville on Sunday.

Hyde finally gained a small gap on White on the penultimate lap, over the steep hill at the end of the circuit. He rode up most of it, through the muddy sludge, only getting off near the top to run the rest of it. He raced through the start-finish line with a five-second lead and only one lap to go. A clean last lap was all Hyde needed to win his third consecutive title. It was a one-two podium for Cannondale-Cyclocrossworld as White finished second.

Gage Hecht, an under-23 rider who chose to race with the elite men, finished third.

"It feels like I left my back, and maybe some of my legs, out on course," said Hyde, who was married in Louisville earlier in the week. “This feels fantastic. It’s been a hell of a season for me this year.”

How it unfolded

The elite men’s race ended up being the most unpredictable of all the categories this weekend. Even before it started, injuries and illness swept through the field as defending champion Hyde suffered a broken sternum at the start of the season, and four-time national champion Jeremy Powers struggled with illness. Meanwhile, many other riders stepped up their game this year.

They all lined up with their sights set on the stars-and-stripes jersey.

Third-row starter Maxx Chance stormed to the front and wound up racing ahead of the pack as the race opened up on the first lap.

It wasn’t long before teammates Hyde and White worked their way forward. White opened an early gap on Hyde as they raced over the fly-over, and proved strongest of the pair through the first long running section.

Hyde caught back up, however, and passed his teammate on the steep descent and through the more technical off-camber sections.

The pair raced neck-to-neck through the mud, both riders taking advantage of the areas that best suited their own strengths.

Gage Hecht (Aevolo Cycling), who opted to race with the elite men even though he could have raced under-23, was the closest rival but he trailed Hyde and White by 10 seconds as they started the second lap.

A cluster or riders who also had their eye on third place included Kerry Werner, Andrew Dillman, Anthony Clarke, Eric Thompson and Jeremy Powers.

White took an untimely fall on the descent, as his front wheel caught the edge of a post and he fell into the course barriers. He got back up quickly but the fall cost him several seconds to Hyde.

White slowly gained back that time through the more sluggish sections of the course, running and riding smoothly through the thick mud until he caught back up to Hyde.

The pair edge one another out on the climbs, technical corners and barriers, but it was Hyde who finally gained the winning gap over the steepest climb on course at the end of the penultimate lap.

Hyde started the last lap with only five seconds on White, but both riders looked completely blown as they pushed on toward the finish line. Hyde even had a small bobble on the descent with a few hundred metres to go, but White wasn't able to capitalize on that mistake.

Hyde crossed the finish line as fans threw confetti onto the course in celebration of his third consecutive win at the national championships. He got off his bike and lifted it in the air, and waiting for his teammate, White, to cross the line in second.

Standing at the finish line, they gave each other congratulatory hugs and both seem genuinely happy for each other, and for their respective performances.

Full Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Stephen Hyde (USA) Cannondale Cyclocrossworld1:07:09
2Curtis White (USA) Cannondale0:00:27
3Gage Hecht (USA) Aevolo Cycling Inc.0:01:20
4Andrew Dillman (USA) Indiana/Kentucky Cycling Associ0:02:05
5Jeremy Powers (USA) Fuji / Pactimo / SRAM0:02:48
6Kerry Werner (USA)0:03:05
7Eric Thompson (USA) MSPEEDWAX.COM0:03:53
8Anthony Clark (USA)0:04:25
9Merwin Davis (USA) Cycle-Smart Inc.0:04:44
10Grant Ellwood (USA) 303 Project0:05:26
11Jack Kisseberth (USA) JAM Fund / NCC0:06:10
12Tristan Cowie (USA) Carolinas Cycling Association0:06:40
13Allen Krughoff (USA) Chocolove Specialized0:07:45
14Tyler Cloutier (USA) TCCX0:08:07
15Brian Matter (USA) Linear Sport Racing0:08:42
16Andrew Giniat (USA) The Pony Shop p/b KPMG0:08:55
17Samuel Okeefe (USA) RSCX - House Ind - DWR - HM0:09:43
18Alex Ryan (USA) Mock Orange Bikes Pro CX0:10:23
19Cody Kaiser (USA)0:10:48
20Terol Pursell (USA) Bicycle Racing Association of C0:11:14
21Dylan Postier (USA) Garneau-Easton p/b Transitions0:11:51
22Maxx Chance (USA) 303 Project-2 Laps
23Garrett Gerchar (USA)Row 22 - Cell 2
24Andrew Nicholas (USA)Row 23 - Cell 2
25Samuel Kieffer (USA) Texas Roadhouse Cycling TeamRow 24 - Cell 2
26Bjorn Selander (USA) Donkey LabelRow 25 - Cell 2
27Justin Lindine (USA) Hyperthreads/Apex Pro CyclingRow 26 - Cell 2
28Allan Schroeder (USA) High Desert HustleRow 27 - Cell 2
29Jonathan Anderson (USA)Row 28 - Cell 2
30Andrew Wulfkuhle (USA) 717 Cycling clubRow 29 - Cell 2
31Jacob Leblanc (USA) Competitive Edge Racing-3 Laps
32Walker Shaw (USA)Row 31 - Cell 2
33Max Judelson (USA)Row 32 - Cell 2
34Josh Direen (USA) Groove Subaru Excel SportsRow 33 - Cell 2
35Joseph Schmalz (USA) TradeWind Energy Cycling TeamRow 34 - Cell 2
36Adam Myerson (USA) Cycle-SmartRow 35 - Cell 2
37Josh Bauer (USA) Donkey LabelRow 36 - Cell 2
38Ian Gielar (USA) JAM Fund / NCCRow 37 - Cell 2
39Robert Cummings Iii (USA)Row 38 - Cell 2
40David Gunnerson (USA) Ascent Concept TeamRow 39 - Cell 2
41Andrew Loaiza (USA)Row 40 - Cell 2
42Brendan Lehman (USA)-4 Laps
43Trent Blackburn (USA) JAM Fund / NCCRow 42 - Cell 2
44Kyle Johnson (USA) Team Yacht ClubRow 43 - Cell 2
DNFDaniel Chabanov (USA) RSCX - House Ind - DWR - HermanRow 44 - Cell 2
DNFScott Smith (USA) JAM Fund / NCCRow 45 - Cell 2
DNSTobin Ortenblad (USA) Santa Cruz Factory RacingRow 46 - Cell 2
DNSTroy Wells (USA) TEAM CLIF BAR CyclingRow 47 - Cell 2
DNSTravis Livermon (USA) The Endurance CollectiveRow 48 - Cell 2

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1