Ian Boswell beats Laurens ten Dam to win men's Unbound Gravel 200

American Ian Boswell used a locomotive-like power surge in the closing metres to steamroll Dutchman Laurens ten Dam at the line and win the Unbound Gravel 200 on Saturday. The duo had been part of a dwindling lead group, which had included seven riders mid-race, and with 10 miles to go had been reduced to the two-man train, working together through strong winds.

Boswell, retired from pro cycling to work full-time at Wahoo Fitness, said he had not trained a great deal leading up to the race. He pulled off a surprise win in his inaugural appearance at the Emporia, Kansas event and takes over as the king of gravel.

“Honestly, just surprise,” Boswell said at the finish to reporters about his immediate reaction. “I haven’t won a bike race in a really long time. I mean, to just keep making splits and in the last 10 miles I knew it would be between Laurens and I.

“My first time here and I wouldn’t say I’m under-prepared, but I’m somewhat under-prepared I have less expectations on myself. Yeah, man, I couldn’t have come to the finish with a better person to sprint against. We’re both a little slow on the sprints, but it’s pretty incredible.”

Ten Dam, who won the recent Gravel Locos, has the same time at the line. Third place was also decided in a sprint in then narrow finishing chute in downtown Emporia, Stetina taking third and King fourth. Defending champion Colin Strickland (Meteor X Giordana), who suffered a flat tire earlier in the race, finished fifth.

“I think the biggest thing was just no expectations,” Boswell added. “I really did come here to perform, but there’s no pressure. And early on I was lucky, all those technical sections I was the last person to make it every time. I’m not willing to take risks like other people.”

At the finish line, Boswell likened his win to a Toby Keith country music song that includes a chorus of, “I ain't as good as I once was, but I'm as good once as I ever was.”

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Results - Top 50
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Ian Boswell 10:17:24
2Laurens Ten Dam
3Peter Stetina 0:01:11
4Ted King
5Colin Strickland 0:31:54
6Robin Carpenter
7Dennis Van Winden 0:31:56
8Jeremiah Bishop 0:36:30
9Chris Schroeder 0:31:28
10James Tolosa 0:40:30
11Jasper Ockeloen 0:47:56
12Dylan Johnson 0:59:04
13Eric Marcotte 1:05:33
14Andrea De Silvestris 1:06:06
15Ivar Slik 1:06:47
16Logan Kasper 1:08:38
17Edward Anderson 1:12:34
18Alexey Vermeulen
19Logan Jones-Wilkins 1:14:22
20Jay ShalekBriski 1:17:46
21Barrett Brandon 1:17:49
22Alex Yale 1:44:24
23Jake Magee 1:45:24
24Jacob Rathe
25Travis McCabe
26Joseph Schmalz
27Payson McElveen 1:47:37
28Ryan Standish
29Zachary Allison
30Ben Delaney 1:47:38
31John Borstelmann 1:55:18
32Scott Tietzel 1:57:59
33Juergen Eckmann
34Randy Egues 2:04:44
35Elliot Bach
36Kevin White
37Steve Marshall 2:14:39
38Richard Reinhardt
39Joel Brazil 2:14:42
40Joshua Berry 2:19:25
41Jake Wells 2:23:05
42Nate Whitman 2:24:43
43Jake Pantone 2:26:51
44Adam Salvo 2:27:00
45Viktor Petrovych 2:28:59
46Andres Jimenez 2:30:26
47Yuri Hauswald 2:30:31
48Gerret White 2:35:50
49Noah Tautfest 2:41:38
50Ike Pantone 2:42:43

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Jackie Tyson