Van der Poel holds off Van Aert to claim Namur World Cup

Mathieu van der Poel (Beobank-Corendon) captured a repeat victory on the spectacular course at the Namur citadel on Sunday. Once again, Van der Poel fought out a great duel with World champion Wout Van Aert (Crelan-Vastgoedservice). The latter was strong but made too many mistakes in the first half of the race and luckless in the final lap. Kevin Pauwels (Marlux-Napoleon Games) was best of the rest, finishing at a short distance back in third place.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Mathieu Van der Poel (Ned) Beobank-Corendon1:04:20
2Wout Van Aert (Bel) Crelan-Vastgoedservice0:00:16
3Kevin Pauwels (Bel) Marlux-Napoleon Games0:00:27
4Tom Meeusen (Bel) Telenet Fidea Lions0:01:08
5Laurens Sweeck (Bel) ERA-Circus0:01:22
6Corne Van Kessel (Ned) Telenet Fidea Lions0:01:32
7Toon Aerts (Bel) Telenet Fidea Lions0:01:37
8Michael Vanthourenhout (Bel) Marlux-Napoleon Games0:01:48
9Marcel Meisen (Ger) Steylaerts-Verona0:02:33
10Klaas Vantornout (Bel) Marlux-Napoleon Games0:02:44
11Gianni Vermeersch (Bel) Team Steylaerts0:02:49
12Michael Boros (Cze) ERA-Circus0:02:50
13Philipp Walsleben (Ger) Beobank-Corendon0:03:06
14Severin Sagesser (Swi)0:03:10
15Jens Adams (Bel) Crelan-Vastgoedservice0:03:16
16Tim Merlier (Bel) Crelan-Vastgoedservice0:03:23
17Ismael Esteban Aguando (Spa)0:03:29
18Vincent Baestaens (Bel) Beobank-Corendon0:03:52
19Stephen Hyde (USA) Cannondale p/b Cyclocrossworld.com0:03:56
20Dieter Vanthourenhout (Bel) Marlux-Napoleon Games0:04:04
21Stan Godrie (Ned) Rabobank Development Team0:04:09
22Nicola Rohrbach (Swi)0:04:21
23Diether Sweeck (Bel) ERA-Circus0:04:26
24Javier Ruiz De Larrinaga Ibanez (Spa)0:04:28
25Lukas Winterberg (Swi)0:04:35
26Martin Haring (Svk) Dukla Banska Bystrica0:04:48
27Daan Soete (Bel) Telenet Fidea Lions0:05:09
28Jim Aernouts (Bel) Telenet Fidea Lions0:05:17
29David Van der Poel (Ned) Beobank-Corendon0:05:20
30Sascha Weber (Ger)0:05:22
31Patrick Van Leeuwen (Ned) Cyclingteam Jo Piels0:05:29
32Simon Zahner (Swi)0:05:31
33Francis Mourey (Fra) Fortuneo - Vital Concept0:05:51
34Melvin Rulliere (Fra)Row 33 - Cell 2
35Marcel Wildhaber (Swi) Scott-Odlo Mtb Racing TeamRow 34 - Cell 2
36Geoff Kabush (Can) Scott-3Rox RacingRow 35 - Cell 2
37Alois Falenta (Fra)Row 36 - Cell 2
38Daan Hoeyberghs (Bel) Beobank-CorendonRow 37 - Cell 2
39Lorenzo Samparisi (Ita)Row 38 - Cell 2
40Niels Wubben (Ned)Row 39 - Cell 2
41Enrico Franzoi (Ita)Row 40 - Cell 2
42Luca Braidot (Ita)Row 41 - Cell 2
43Daniele Braidot (Ita)Row 42 - Cell 2
44Thijs Van Amerongen (Ned) Telenet Fidea LionsRow 43 - Cell 2
45Andreas Moser (Swi)Row 44 - Cell 2
46Kevin Suarez Fernandez (Spa)Row 45 - Cell 2
47Felix Drumm (Ger)Row 46 - Cell 2
48Michael Wildhaber (Swi)Row 47 - Cell 2
49Nicolas Samparisi (Ita)Row 48 - Cell 2
50Marvin Schmidt (Ger)Row 49 - Cell 2
51Mark Mcconnell (Can) Hot Sauce Cycling X GarneauRow 50 - Cell 2
52Asier Arregui Dominguez (Spa)Row 51 - Cell 2
53Wolfram Kurschat (Ger) Koch Engineering / Muesing Racing TeamRow 52 - Cell 2
54Eric Thompson (USA) Hed p/b Molten Speed WaxRow 53 - Cell 2
55Vincent Dias Dos Santos (Lux)Row 54 - Cell 2

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1