Cant survives late scare to extend World Cup lead

World champion Sanne Cant (IKO Enertherm-Beobank) won the fourth round of the Telenet UCI Cyclo-cross World Cup in Bogense, Denmark despite a late chain problem forcing her to make a final lap fight back.

The Belgian rider distanced Helen Wyman (Kona Factory Team) late in the final lap to capture her second World Cup victory of the season. Cant also strengthened her lead in the World Cup over the USA’s Kaitlin Keough (, who completed the podium. USA champion Katie Compton was hit by illness and didn’t take the start in Denmark.

“I felt quite good. I had a lot of power in the legs. I was glad that I was able to show it here,” Cant said in the post-race flash interview.

Cant carved out an early lead over the field after a crash by last year’s World Cup winner Sophie de Boer (

Eva Lechner (CLIF Pro Team) briefly bridged back up but then halfway through the five-laps long race Wyman joined Cant in the lead thanks to her better speed and technique on the steep uphill running sections.

They swapped the lead for two laps and then Cant gapped Wyman. She seemed on her way to victory but then dropped her chain with just half a lap to go. Wyman passed her bought Cant dug deep and retook the lead to win.

“After a downhill running section I unintentionally shifted to the small ring. I heard it and shifted back but it was too late. I thought that I managed to get it back and hopped back on the bike but it must’ve been stuck,” Cant explained.

“I had a few anxious moments there. Helen managed to bridge back up. I wondered where I would be able to ride away again. It was possible on the bridge but that would only result in a gap of 4-5 seconds. I went flat out into the headwind and that proved to be enough.”

Wyman came close to her first-ever World Cup victory but had to accept defeat shortly before the finish in the old harbour of Bogense.

“It was a beautiful race. The running sections suited me well but the rolling sections suited Sanne more. In the final lap Sanne had a chain problem and I hoped that I would be able to get a gap in the running part but it didn’t happen. I wasn’t the strongest rider today,” she said.

Kaitlin Keough and Italian champion Eva Lechner battled for the final podium spot behind Cant and Wyman.

Lechner had been riding most of the race alone in third place but Keough bridged up to her early on in the penultimate lap. On an off-camber climb Lechner created a small gap but Keough closed it back down before the finishing straight.

Keough opened up the sprint and discovered that Lechner didn’t have anything left to challenge her.

“It was really hard and I really had to fight. It was a big battle,” Keough said briefly.

Half a minute later, Ellen Van Loy (Telenet Fidea Lions) held off Katerina Nash (CLIF Pro Team) for fifth place.

Maud Kaptheijns (Crelan-Charles) - winner of the previous World Cup round in Koksijde - skipped the Danish World Cup round due to illness and a knee injury. She drops back in the World Cup standings from place 4 to 8.

The next round of the World Cup is next Saturday in Zeven, Germany.

Full Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
1Sanne Cant (Bel) Beobank-Corendon0:41:19
2Helen Wyman (GBr) Kona Factory Team0:00:09
3Kaitlin Keough (USA) Cannondale p/b Cyclocrossworld0:00:48
4Eva Lechner (Ita) Clif Pro Team0:00:51
5Ellen Van Loy (Bel) Telenet Fidea Lions0:01:19
6Katerina Nash (Cze) Clif Pro Team0:01:20
7Loes Sels (Bel) Crelan - Charles0:01:31
8Alice Maria Arzuffi (Ita) Steylaerts - Betfirst0:01:42
9Laura Verdonschot (Bel) Marlux - Napoleon Games0:01:45
10Nikki Brammeier (GBr) Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam0:01:50
11Sophie De Boer (Ned) Parkhotel Valkenburg - Destil Cycling Team0:02:01
12Elle Anderson (USA)0:02:13
13Annemarie Worst (Ned) Era-Circus0:02:20
14Ceylin Del Carmen Alvarado (Ned)0:02:23
15Pavla Havlikova (Cze)0:02:38
16Fleur Nagengast (Ned) Telenet Fidea Lions0:02:49
17Rebecca Fahringer (USA)0:02:50
18Joyce Vanderbeken (Bel)Row 17 - Cell 2
19Lucie Chainel (Fra) Team Chazal Canyon0:02:57
20Lucia Gonzalez Blanco (Spa) Lointek0:03:02
21Jolien Verschueren (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen - Vastgoedservice0:03:08
22Nikola Noskova (Cze) Bepink Cogeas0:03:09
23Yara Kastelijn (Ned) Wm3 Pro Cycling Team0:03:25
24Marion Norbert Riberolle (Fra)0:03:29
25Denise Betsema (Ned)0:03:30
26Courtenay Mcfadden (USA)0:03:43
27Annika Langvad (Den) Specialized Racing0:03:49
28Jade Wiel (Fra)Row 27 - Cell 2
29Malene Degn (Den) Ghost Factory Racing0:04:04
30Inge Van Der Heijden (Ned)0:04:11
31Pauline Delhaye (Fra)0:04:14
32Nadja Heigl (Aut)0:04:15
33Adela Safarova (Cze)0:04:16
34Ida Erngren (Swe)0:04:17
35Crystal Anthony (USA)0:04:19
36Caroline Bohe (Den)0:04:22
37Lea Curinier (Fra)0:04:43
38Suzanne Verhoeven (Bel)0:05:03
39Marlene Morel Petitgirard (Fra)0:05:16
40Karen Verhestraeten (Bel)0:05:22
41Manon Bakker (Ned)0:05:48
42Margriet Kloppenburg (Den)0:05:59
43Natalie Redmond (Aus)Row 42 - Cell 2
44Tereza Svihalkova (Cze)0:06:03
45Asa-Maria Erlandsson (Swe)0:06:22
46Ellen Noble (USA) Aspire Racing0:06:31
47Lisette Rosenbeck Christensen (Den)0:06:36
48Marlene Petit (Fra)Row 47 - Cell 2
49Arley Kemmerer (USA)0:06:45
50Rikke Lonne (Den)0:07:06
51Elizabeth Ungermanova (Cze)0:07:25
52Mie Saabye (Den)0:08:03
53Kristina Thrane (Den)0:08:07
54Julie Van Der Hoop (Can)Row 53 - Cell 2
55Mara Schwager (Ger)Row 54 - Cell 2
DNSKatherine Compton (USA)Row 55 - Cell 2
DNSIda Jansson (Swe)Row 56 - Cell 2

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews