Annemarie Worst wins UCI Cyclo-cross World Cup - Bern


European champion Annemarie Worst (777) won the third UCI Cyclo-cross World Cup round in Bern, Switzerland on Sunday afternoon. Worst completed a long solo ride on a muddy course and captured the victory in her first World Cup round of the season. 

Ceylin Del Carmen Alvarado (Corendon-Circus) was a strong second at half a minute. Twenty-year-old Anna Kay (Experza Pro CX) won the battle for third and captured her first-ever World Cup podium spot at elite level.

“I had doubts after my ride in Gieten last week but those doubts are gone now. The World Cup is a target of mine and it’s good to kick my campaign this way,” Worst told Telenet Sports Play.

Despite a second-row start, Worst managed to get away well in the sticky Swiss mud with fast starters Maghalie Rochette (CXFever), Anny Kay, Kaitlin Keough (Cannondale Cyclocrossworld) and World Cup leader Katerina Nash (CLIF Pro Team). When Rochette started to fade, Worst took over the command and powered away for a near five-lap solo.

“I rode away and felt good. It’s a course where it’s good to ride alone and choose your own lines,” Worst said.

By the end of the opening lap, Dutch young ace Alvarado surged through the top-10 and left her rivals behind. Just like Worst, she rode a long solo ride that delivered her the second podium spot. She regretted a poor start.

“I was starting on the second row and the rider in front of me didn’t start well. It took a while to move to the front and by that time Annemarie was gone. Maybe it would’ve been different if I had been on her wheel,” Alvarado told Telenet Sport Play.

Further back there was an interesting battle going on for third place between Kay, Keough and Yara Kastelijn (777). The latter bounced back from a poor start but a late crash ended her run for the podium. Key held off Keough and captured the final podium spot. “Third was best possible. I’m pretty pleased with that. I couldn’t have asked for much more. I just went off and tried to stay near the front as much as possible because it was very technical,” Kay told Telenet Play Sports. Kay is the World Cup leader in the U23 category. “I want just to try and hold where I am at the minute and keep it improving week on week.”

US-champion Katherine Compton also bounced back from a difficult opening lap to capture sixth place, ahead of World Cup leader Katerina Nash and World champion Sanne Cant (IKO-Crelan).

Nash strengthens her lead in the World Cup over Canadian champion Maghalie Rochette, who finished eleventh. “It feels great. It was kind of my goal to hold onto the jersey. It worked out. Was difficult? It’s called cyclo-cross. If it would be easier, everybody would be doing it,” Nash laughed. When asked about the young wolves that would be challenging her for the World Cup lead, Nash said: “It’s going to be difficult. I’m completely aware of that. I’m going to give it a go.”

The fourth World Cup round will be contested next month in Tabor, Czech Republic. That’s a special race for Czech-American World Cup leader Katerina Nash. She will be defending her leader’s jersey in her home country. “I wasn’t planning to go there but the country told me that they would take my passport away if I wasn’t going to show up, so I’m going to be there,” Nash joked.


Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Annemarie Worst (Ned) 0:45:27
2Ceylin del Carmen Alvarado (Ned) 0:00:33
3Anna Kay (GBr) 0:00:56
4Kaitlin Keough (USA) 0:01:09
5Yara Kastelijn (Ned) 0:01:20
6Katherine Compton (USA) 0:01:26
7Katerina Nash (Cze) 0:01:42
8Sanne Cant (Bel) 0:01:50
9Eva Lechner (Ita) 0:01:53
10Laura Verdonschot (Bel) 0:02:01
11Maghalie Rochette (Can) 0:02:09
12Ellen Van Loy (Bel) 0:02:18
13Manon Bakker (Ned) 0:02:19
14Perrine Clauzel (Fra) 0:02:44
15Nadja Heigl (Aut) 0:02:47
16Maud Kaptheijns (Ned) 0:02:52
17Marlène Petit (Fra) 0:03:00
18Line Burquier (Fra) 0:03:07
19Lucia Gonzalez Blanco (Spa) 0:03:08
20Marion Norbert Riberolle (Fra) 0:03:15
21Inge Van der Heijden (Ned) 0:03:28
22Caroline Mani (Fra) 0:03:31
23Pavla Havlíková (Cze) 0:03:36
24Alicia Franck (Bel) 0:03:37
25Shirin Van Anrooij (Ned) 0:03:40
26Sara Casasola (Ita) 0:03:41
27Loes Sels (Bel) 0:03:55
28Alice Maria Arzuffi (Ita) 0:04:06
29Olivia Onesti (Fra) 0:04:25
30Puck Pieterse (Ned) 0:04:39
31Joyce Vanderbeken (Bel) 0:05:08
32Rebecca Gariboldi (Ita) 0:05:17
33Geerte Hoeke (Ned) 0:05:33
34Francesca Baroni (Ita) 0:05:40
35Gaia Realini (Ita) 0:05:44
36Marthe Truyen (Bel) 0:05:45
37Lauriane Duraffourg (Fra) 0:05:46
38Elizabeth Ungermanová (Cze)
39Silvia Persico (Ita) 0:05:55
40Noemi Rüegg (Swi) 0:06:02
41Tereza Švihálková (Cze) 0:06:08
42Zina Barhoumi (Swi) 0:06:28
43Lara Krähemann (Swi) 0:06:40
44Nicole Göldi (Swi) 0:06:54
45Léa Curinier (Fra) 0:07:19
46Nina Küderle (Ger) 0:07:33
47Corey Coogan Cisek (USA) 0:07:47
48Kätlin Kukk (Est) 0:08:17
49Tereza Vaníčková (Cze) 0:08:34
50Clea Seidel (Ger) 0:08:46
DNFKiona Crabbé (Bel)
DNFMélissa Rouiller (Swi)
DNFKamila Janů (Cze)
DNFRebecca Gross (USA)
DNFFabienne Kipfmüller (Swi)
DNFSterre Vervloet (Bel)
DNFLucia Bramati (Ita)
DNFLucie Cottier (Swi)
DNFJulie Brouwers (Bel)
DNFSvenja Wüthrich (Swi)
DNFMarceline Devaux (Fra)
DNFJanine Schneider (Ger)
DNFMaria Parajon Fuentes (Spa)
DNFGiulia Challancin (Ita)

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews