Wyseure leads Belgian sweep of U23 podium at 'cross Worlds

Belgium swept the podium for the men's U23 race Saturday at the UCI Cyclo-cross World Championships, Joran Wyseure riding solo across the line for the rainbow jersey. Emiel Verstrynge secured the silver medal, finishing just 13 seconds back while Thibau Nys held off charges by Mees Hendrikx (Netherlands) and Cameron Mason (Great Britain) to secure the bronze.

The fast, flowy course kept the speeds high, as Wyseure extended his lead with each lap. Hendrikx rode at the front pacing the Belgian pair of Verstrynge and Nys, who kept a slight advantage over the Dutch duo of Ryan Kamp and Pim Ronhaar.

With two laps to go, the solo lead for Wyseure had stabilised at 15 seconds, and Verstrynge took an opportunity to push away from the chasers in power sections for second place.

“I want to try the whole race at my own tempo. It was enough for the win,” Wyseure said in the mix zone after the race. “It’s really nice that we have three Belgian guys on the podium. It’s phenomenal, and I’m really happy.” 

From the front row of Belgian and Dutch colours, with a lone rider from Great Britain, the Belgian team put two riders at the front going into the first 180-degree turn, the entire field packed together at a blistering pace.

On the initial ascent of the 38-step staircase the group began to line out, led by Verstrynge in front of the trio of Dutch riders -  Ronhaar, Hendrikx and Kamp. Close behind was Gonzalo Inguanzo Macho of Spain and Cameron Mason (Great Britain).

On the second lap, along the decisive long climb on the back of the course at Centennial Park, Wyseure began to set the pace at the front, with a long line of Belgian and Dutch riders on his wheel. Wyseure attacked across the series of short, steep rollers to kick up some dust and grab a seven-second advantage to start the third of seven laps.

Wyseure continued with a stiff pace on his solo attack, leaving Hendrikx to lead the Dutch chasers Kamp and Ronhaar, who were joined by Verstrynge, Thibau Nys and Britain’s Mason. With four laps to go, Wyseure had a 14-second gap on the small group. Another few seconds in the chase were Niels Vandeputte and Jente Michels of Belgium.

Overnight frost had melted under the Arkansas sunshine, with any residual dampness in some corners quickly drying. Wyseure had no problems on his circuits and rode solo across the line for the victory, covering his face with his hands in disbelief.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Joran Wyseure (Belgium) 0:49:21
2Emiel Verstrynge (Belgium) 0:00:13
3Thibau Nys (Belgium) 0:00:33
4Mees Hendrikx (Netherlands)
5Cameron Mason (United Kingdom)
6Ryan Kamp (Netherlands) 0:00:38
7Niels Vandeputte (Belgium) 0:00:40
8Pim Ronhaar (Netherlands) 0:01:15
9Gerben Kuypers (Belgium) 0:01:32
10Jente Michels (Belgium) 0:01:37
11Antoine Huby (France) 0:01:51
12Dario Lillo (Switzerland) 0:01:55
13Samuele Leone (Italy) 0:02:10
14Joseph Blackmore (United Kingdom) 0:02:15
15Joris Delbove (France) 0:02:33
16Gonzalo Inguanzo Macho (Spain) 0:02:43
17Scott Funston (United States) 0:02:44
18Davide Toneatti (Italy) 0:02:45
19Loris Rouiller (Switzerland 0:03:12
20Isaac Del Toro Romero (Mexico) 0:03:14
21Andrew Strohmeyer (United States) 0:03:21
22Matej Stransky (Czech Republic) 0:03:33
23Daxton Mock (United States) 0:03:46
24Miguel Rodriguez Novoa (Spain) 0:03:57
25Matyas Fiala (Czech Republic) 0:04:23
26Jan Sommer (Switzerland) 0:04:32
27Lars Sommer (Switzerland)
28Jules Van Kempen (United States) 0:04:33
29Sam Noel (United States) 0:04:39
30Filip Maard (Sweden) 0:04:58
31Theo Thomas (France)
32Gustav Dahl (Denmark) 0:05:07
33Pascal Toemke (Germany) 0:05:14
34Hugo Brisebois (Canada) 0:05:31
35Matt Leliveld (Canada) 0:05:35
36Tommy Servetas (United States) 0:05:41
37Carlos Alfonso Garcia Trejo (Mexico) 0:05:50
38Noah Ramsay (Canada) 0:06:13
39Owen Clark (Canada) 0:06:58
40Sean Nolan (Republic of Ireland) 0:07:24
41Dean Harvey (Republic of Ireland)

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1