Toon Aerts wins Superprestige Zonhoven

Belgian champion Toon Aerts claimed the victory in the Superprestige Zonhoven, beating Laurens Sweeck (Pauwels Sauzen-Bingoal) after Sweeck crashed at the top of the course's steep, sandy descent on the final lap.

Aerts made the decisive move of the race on the fifth of ten laps, surging solo before being eventually caught by Sweeck on the penultimate lap.

The pair took turns leading the race until Sweeck began to fade on the final lap, and once he dug in his front wheel on the turn into the descent and crashed it was game over for the Belgian.

Eli Iserbyt (Pauwels Sauzen-Bingoal) made a late surge to take the final podium spot.


Swipe to scroll horizontally
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Toon Aerts (Bel) Telenet - Baloise Lions 0:59:15
2Laurens Sweeck (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen - Bingoal 0:00:28
3Eli Iserbyt (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen - Bingoal 0:00:34
4Quinten Hermans (Bel) Telenet - Baloise Lions 0:00:42
5Lars van der Haar (Ned) Telenet - Baloise Lions 0:00:45
6Corne van Kessel (Ned) Telenet - Baloise Lions 0:00:46
7Thomas Pidcock (GBr) TP Racing 0:01:07
8Jens Adams (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen - Bingoal 0:01:31
9David van der Poel (Ned) Corendon - Circus 0:02:02
10Marcel Meisen (Ger) Corendon - Circus 0:02:11
11Gianni Vermeersch (Bel) Creafin -Fristads 0:02:29
12Tom Meeusen (Bel) Corendon - Circus 0:02:34
13Joris Nieuwenhuis (Ned) Development Team Sunweb 0:02:36
14Daan Soete (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen - Bingoal 0:02:53
15Toon Vandebosch (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen - Bingoal 0:03:24
16Ryan Kamp (Ned) Pauwels Sauzen - Bingoal 0:03:41
17Pim Ronhaar (Ned) Callant-doltcini Ct 0:04:03
18Sieben Wouters (Ned) Creafin - Fristads 0:04:14
19Zdenek Štybar (Cze) Deceuninck-quick Step 0:04:35
20Maik van der Heijden (Ned) Orange Babies Cycling Team 0:04:43
21Stan Godrie (Ned) Crelan - Charles 0:05:04
22Victor Vandebosch (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen - Bingoal 0:05:17
23Jakob Dorigoni (Ita) Selle Italia Guerciotti
24Loris Rouiller (Swi) VC Echallens
25Mees Hendrikx (Ned) Milwaukee-alpha Motorhomes
26Ryan Cortjens (Bel) Iko-crelan
27Wout Vervoort (Bel) Iko-crelan
28Cameron Mason (GBr) Trinity Racing
29Clement Horny (Bel) Merida Wallonie mtb Team
30Bart Artz (Ned) Orange Babies Cycling Team
31Bodi del Grosso (Ned) WV Meteoor Assen-roden
32Noah Vreeswijk (Ned) Schijndel
33Thymen Arensman (Ned) Seg Racing Academy ten Tussche
34Pete Uptegrove (Ned) E-power Bakker Racing
35Yelle Leaerts (Bel) Young Cycling Talent d&D
36Maxime van Wynsberghe (Bel) Super Bikers Ecole Vtt
37Tom Rossion (Fra) Etoile Cycliste de Chateau Thi
38Marco Ehlert (Ned) E-power Bakker Racing
39Tetsuki Kaji (Jpn) Japan Photo Finishe
40Michael Dietrich (USA) Michael Dietrich
41Vincent Oger (Bel) Entente Cycliste de Wallonie
42Tom Robert (Fra) Ccgr
43Antoine Douillet (Bel) Mj Cycles Team
44Dennis Brouwer (Ned) Wsv Emmen
DNFBen Tulett (GBr) Beeline Bicycles Rt
DNFKyle Agterberg (Ned) G.w.c. de Adelaar
DNFLuke Verburg (Ned) Lares-doltcini Ct
DNSGauthier Heymes (Fra) Cc Sarrebourgeois

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1