Van der Poel dominates Superprestige Zonhoven

Mathieu van der Poel (Corendon-Circus) soloed to victory in the iconic sand pit at Zonhoven, making it five wins in five races at the Superprestige Trophy. Wout Van Aert (Cibel-Cebon) took a distant second, as he did at Scheldecross on Saturday, finishing 43 second down. Toon Aerts (Telenet Fidea Lions) rounded out the podium, 1:35 back.

After his minute-plus win at Scheldecross, it's van der Poel's second win of the weekend and the 15th of the season. The only blemishes to his perfect record in the major cyclo-cross series - the Superprestige, the UCI World Cup and the DVV Trofee - are his absences at Waterloo and Iowa City and a 21st place at Koppenbergcross.

Van der Poel made his move on the very first lap of the race, going it alone at the first opportunity. By the end of the lap he was already 21 seconds clear, with a group of six chasers, including Van Aert, emerging behind.

Young British rider Tom Pidcock (TP Racing) was an early victim of the icy conditions, falling in the sand on a downhill section before recovering to finish just outside the top ten in a brutal race. Up front, Van Aert was trying to push on from the chase group, trying in vain to limit the damage van der Poel had meted out.

The world champion managed to thin out the chase group, taking Aerts and Lars van der Haar (Telenet Fidea Lions) with him. By the end of lap two, the gap to van der Poel was already 40 seconds though, and the chasers' dreams of competing for a win looked just as distant.

Van Aert went once again on lap four, gapping his Telenet companions, with seven seconds between each of the trio at the midway point. Aerts would make it back to Van Aert though, while nearly a minute up the road van der Poel was in a race of his own.

Aerts lost ground on lap seven, but kept Van Aert in his sights until the penultimate lap. There, he was forced to stop for over half a minute with a mechanical, sealing his third place. Well over a minute up the road, van der Poel had some trouble too, clipping the barrier on the inside of a corner and going down. But the race was already over - such was his domination that he could afford a spot of showboating along the way too.


Full Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Mathieu Van Der Poel (Ned) Corendon - Circus1:00:33
2Wout Van Aert (Bel)0:00:43
3Toon Aerts (Bel) Telenet Fidea Lions0:01:35
4Lars Van Der Haar (Ned) Telenet Fidea Lions0:02:03
5Jens Adams (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen - Vastgoedservice0:02:22
6Laurens Sweeck (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen - Vastgoedservice0:02:24
7Joris Nieuwenhuis (Ned)0:02:28
8Gianni Vermeersch (Bel) Steylaerts - 7770:02:48
9Tom Meeusen (Bel) Corendon - Circus0:02:53
10Michael Vanthourenhout (Bel) Marlux - Bingoal0:03:09
11Kevin Pauwels (Bel) Marlux - Bingoal0:03:20
12Michael Boroš (Cze) Creafin Tüv Sud0:03:45
13Quinten Hermans (Bel) Telenet Fidea Lions0:03:51
14Thomas Pidcock (GBr) Tp Racing0:04:04
15Daan Soete (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen - Vastgoedservice0:04:16
16Nicolas Cleppe (Bel) Telenet Fidea Lions0:04:29
17Thymen Arensman (Ned)0:04:45
18Ben Turner (GBr) Corendon - Circus0:05:22
19Gioele Bertolini (Ita) Selle Italia - Guerciotti - EliteRow 18 - Cell 2
20Thomas Mein (GBr) Tarteletto - IsorexRow 19 - Cell 2
21Jakob Dorigoni (Ita) Selle Italia - Guerciotti - EliteRow 20 - Cell 2
22Sieben Wouters (Ned) Creafin Tüv SudRow 21 - Cell 2
23Dieter Vanthourenhout (Bel) Marlux - BingoalRow 22 - Cell 2
24Ryan Kamp (Ned)Row 23 - Cell 2
25Roel Van Der Stegen (Ned)Row 24 - Cell 2
26Toon Vandebosch (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen - VastgoedserviceRow 25 - Cell 2
27Diether Sweeck (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen - VastgoedserviceRow 26 - Cell 2
28Stan Godrie (Ned) Crelan - CharlesRow 27 - Cell 2
29Loris Rouiller (Swi)Row 28 - Cell 2
30Timo Kielich (Bel) Steylaerts - 777Row 29 - Cell 2
31Tim Van Dijke (Ned)Row 30 - Cell 2
32Mick Van Dijke (Ned)Row 31 - Cell 2
33Tomas Kopecky (Cze) Pauwels Sauzen - VastgoedserviceRow 32 - Cell 2
34Thomas Verheyen (Bel)Row 33 - Cell 2
35Matthias Van Roy (Bel)Row 34 - Cell 2
36Sander Elen (Bel)Row 35 - Cell 2
37Garry Millburn (Aus)Row 36 - Cell 2
38Yelle Leaerts (Bel)Row 37 - Cell 2
39Cyprien Gilles (Fra)Row 38 - Cell 2
40Alexander Forrester (GBr)Row 39 - Cell 2
41Balázs Vas (Hun)Row 40 - Cell 2
42Simon Lepoittevin Dubost (Fra)Row 41 - Cell 2
43Wyn Masters (NZl)Row 42 - Cell 2
44Tetsuki Kaji (Jpn)Row 43 - Cell 2
45Marco Oberteicher (Ger)Row 44 - Cell 2
46Ryan Middlemiss (GBr)Row 45 - Cell 2
47Tyla Loftus (GBr)Row 46 - Cell 2
DNFTim Merlier (Bel) Crelan - CharlesRow 47 - Cell 2
DNFDavid Van Der Poel (Ned) Corendon - CircusRow 48 - Cell 2
DNFDaniel Tulett (GBr) Tp RacingRow 49 - Cell 2
DNFLars Van Den Berghen (Ned)Row 50 - Cell 2

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1