Sweeck wins Telenet Superprestige Middelkerke

060221 / Middelkerke / Veldrijden / Super Prestige /
Laurens Sweeck (Pauwels Sauzen-Bingoal) celebrates victory ahead of teammate Michael Vanthourenhout (Image credit: Getty Images Sport)

Laurens Sweeck (Pauwels Sauzen-Bingoal) completed a fine day for his team after Denise Betsema's women's race victory, taking victory in the final round of the men's Superprestige series in Middelkerke.

The Belgian beat teammate Michael Vanthourenhout to the line after an hour of racing, while fellow teammate Eli Iserbyt finished third, thus just missing out on the series win by the two points which he could've taken if he had won the race.

The three men jumped away from the rest of the peloton on the first lap of the race in a show of Pauwels Sauzen-Bingoal superiority, though European champion Iserbyt would eventually be dropped, two laps from the finish.

That move only spelled relief for Toon Aerts (Baloise Trek Lions), however. He looked in danger of losing the series win in the final race, but did just enough to hang on with sixth place, 2:07 down on Sweeck.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Laurens Sweeck (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen - Bingoal 0:59:49
2Michael Vanthourenhout (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen - Bingoal 0:00:01
3 Eli Iserbyt (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen - Bingoal 0:00:52
4 Corne Van Kessel (Ned) Tormans Cyclo Cross Team 0:01:23
5 Lars Van der Haar (Ned) Baloise Trek Lions 0:01:51
6Toon Aerts (Bel) Baloise Trek Lions 0:02:07
7Felipe Orts Lloret (Spa) Teika-bh-gsport 0:02:19
8 Quinten Hermans (Bel) Tormans Cyclo Cross Team 0:02:37
9Niels Vandeputte (Bel) Alpecin - Fenix 0:02:42
10Kevin Kuhn (Swi) Tormans Cyclo Cross Team
11 Ryan Kamp (Ned) Pauwels Sauzen - Bingoal
12Emiel Verstrynge (Bel) Tormans Cyclo Cross Team 0:03:01
13Jim Aernouts (Bel) Baloise Trek Lions 0:03:17
14Lander Loockx (Bel) Group Hens - Maes Containers 0:03:21
15Timon Rüegg (Swi) Cross Team Legendre
16 Pim Ronhaar (Ned) Pauwels Sauzen - Bingoal 0:03:59
17 Toon Vandebosch (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen - Bingoal 0:04:18
18Daan Soete (Bel) Group Hens - Maes Containers 0:04:38
19Joran Wyseure (Bel)
20Jens Adams (Bel) 0:04:56
21Anton Ferdinande (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen - Bingoal 0:05:02
22David Menut (Fra) Cross Team Legendre 0:05:06
23Yentl Bekaert (Bel) Baloise Trek Lions 0:05:18
24Steve Chainel (Fra) Cross Team Legendre 0:05:57
25Tom Meeusen (Bel) Group Hens - Maes Containers 0:06:05
26Loris Rouiller (Swi) Alpecin - Fenix 0:06:08
27Théo Thomas (Fra) Tormans Cyclo Cross Team 0:06:21
28Kevin Suarez Fernandez (Spa) Nesta - Skoda Alecar CX Team 0:06:27
29Timo Kielich (Bel) Credishop-fristads 0:06:36
30 Ingmar Uytdewilligen (Bel) 0:06:42
31Wout Vervoort (Bel) 0:07:01
32 Vincent Baestaens (Bel) Group Hens - Maes Containers 0:07:24
33 Witse Meeussen (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen - Bingoal 0:07:30
34Thibau Nys (Bel) Baloise Trek Lions 0:07:45
35Arne Vrachten (Bel) 0:08:26
36 Arno Van den Broeck (Bel) 0:09:04
Len Dejonghe (Bel) Group Hens - Maes Containers 1 lap
Klaas Groenen (Ned) 2 laps
Lennert Belmans (Bel) Iko - Crelan 2 laps
Koen Van Dijke (Ned) 2 laps
Dolf Pemen (Bel) Proximus - Alphamotorhomes - Doltcini CT 3 laps
Ward Huybs (Bel) Baloise Trek Lions 3 laps
Timothé Gabriel (Fra) 3 laps
Jonathan Anderson (USA) 3 laps
Justin Laevens (Bel) Proximus - Alphamotorhomes - Doltcini CT 4 laps
Cameron Jette (Can) 4 laps
Ydris Salomez (Bel) Proximus - Alphamotorhomes - Doltcini CT 4 laps
Vincent Oger (Bel) 5 laps
Diether Sweeck (Bel) Credishop-fristads DNF
Robin Alderweireld (Bel) DNF

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Cyclingnews is the world's leader in English-language coverage of professional cycling. Started in 1995 by University of Newcastle professor Bill Mitchell, the site was one of the first to provide breaking news and results over the internet in English. The site was purchased by Knapp Communications in 1999, and owner Gerard Knapp built it into the definitive voice of pro cycling. Since then, major publishing house Future PLC has owned the site and expanded it to include top features, news, results, photos and tech reporting. The site continues to be the most comprehensive and authoritative English voice in professional cycling.

Latest on Cyclingnews