Brand claims fourth straight Superprestige win in Gavere

Lucinda Brand (Telenet Baloise Lions) claimed her fourth straight victory in the Superprestige series, powering away from Denise Betsema (Pauwels Sauzen-Bingoal) and Ceylin del Carmen Alvarado (Alpecin-Fenix) in the mud of Gavere on Sunday. 

Betsema, victorious at Scheldecross on Saturday, took the initiative from the gun, but Brand made her way across early on the second of five laps. 

The mud forced riders into the pits on every lap and a slow change left Alvarado trailing, and the world champion would spend the rest of the race chasing but getting no closer to the front.

Brand recovered from a slip-out on lap 3 to get back to Betsema and then power away from her, grimacing as she prized the gap open through the thick mud. 

She led by four seconds by the end of that lap and extended it to 12 seconds by the time she took the bell. The power didn’t seem to dry up on the final lap and she came to the finish to raise her arms 13 seconds clear of Betsema, with Alvarado settling for third at 34 seconds. 

US champion Clara Honsinger produced a fine ride to break away from a larger chase group on lap 3. She was just unable to claw back Alvarado for a podium but nevertheless secured a clear fourth place at 44 seconds. 

Meanwhile Annemarie Worst (777) had a disappointing afternoon, finishing down in 13th. The Dutch rider slipped out early in the race so started on the back foot but was unable to mount any real chase to the riders she’d have expected to be battling with. 

In the overall standings, Brand is now the outright Superprestige leader, having been tied with Alvarado at the start of the day. With 86 points, she leads the world champion by two points with two rounds remaining. 

Betsema moved up to third on 74 points, as Worst was also overtaken by Kastelijn, who's now fourth on 68.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Lucinda Brand (Ned) Telenet Baloise Lions0:42:56
2Denise Betsema (Ned) Pauwels Sauzen-Bingoal0:00:13
3Ceylin del Carmen Alvarado (Ned) Alpecin-Fenix0:00:34
4Clara Honsinger (USA) Cannondale-Cyclocrossworld0:00:44
5Yara Kastelijn (Ned) Credishop-Fristads0:01:12
6Sanne Cant (Bel) Iko-Crelan0:01:21
7Manon Bakker (Ned) Credishop-Fristads0:01:27
8Christine Majerus (Lux) Boels Dolmans0:01:35
9Aniek van Alphen (Ned) Credishop-Fristads0:01:49
10Eva Lechner (Ita) Starcasino CX Team0:01:53
11Puck Pieterse (Ned) Alpecin-Fenix0:01:59
12Anna Kay (GBr) Starcasino CX Team0:02:18
13Annemarie Worst (Ned) 7770:02:26
14Evie Richards (GBr) Trek Factory Racing0:02:28
15Alicia Franck (Bel) Proximus - Alphamotorhomes Doltcini CT0:02:40
16Hélène Clauzel (Fra) A.S Bike Cross Team0:02:42
17Alice Maria Arzuffi (Ita) 7770:02:51
18Kata Blanka Vas (Hun) Doltcini-Van Eyck Sport-Proximus0:03:00
19Laura Verdonschot (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen - Bingoal0:03:06
20Perrine Clauzel (Fra) A.S Bike Cross Team0:03:13
21Inge van der Heijden (Ned) 7770:03:16
22Rebecca Fahringer (USA) Kona Maxxis Shimano0:03:20
23Amandine Fouquenet (Fra) Team Arkea0:03:22
24Ruby West (Can) Proximus - Alphamotorhomes - Doltcini CT0:03:23
25Ellen Van Loy (Bel) Telenet - Baloise Lions0:03:24
26Madigan Munro (USA) Trek Factory Racing0:03:41
27Katherine Compton (USA) KFC Racing p/b Trek/Knight Composites0:03:41
28Marion Norbert Riberolle (Fra) Starcasino CX Team0:03:50
29Kaitlin Keough (USA) Cannondale-Cyclocrossworld0:03:53
30Amira Mellor (GBr) Albion Cycles0:04:59
31Karen Verhestraeten (Bel) IKO-Crelan0:05:09
32Zina Barhoumi (Swi) 0:06:12
33Abby-Mae Parkinson (GBr) Trinity Racing0:06:21
34Julie De Wilde (Bel) IKO-Crelan0:06:46
35Suzanne Verhoeven (Bel) Xalt Cycling0:07:18
36Jana Dobbelaere (Bel) 0:07:32
37Sidney McGill (Can) Pedalhead Race Room0:07:32
38Camille Devigne (Fra) Ardennes Cross Team0:07:38
39Marine Strappazzon (Fra) Team Podiocom CC0:08:00
40Camille Benoit Guyod (Fra) Team XC VTT Conliege0:08:47
41Sophie Wright (GBr) Bigla - Katusha-1 lap
42Siobhan Kelly (Can) Black Dog Racing
43Marlène Petit (Fra) Team Podiocom CC
44Corey Coogan Cisek (USA) Velo Revolution-Cyclocross Custom
45Maïté Barthels (Lux) LP07 Schifflange
46Aurélie Vermeir (Bel) Bike-Advice Cycling Team-2 laps
47Fauve Bastiaenssen (Bel) BNS Technics-Group T.O.M.
48Michelle Geoghegan (Irl)
49Laura Greenhalgh (GBr) Imperial Racing Team
Maghalie Rochette (Can) Specialized/Feedback SportsDNF
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Overall standings after round 6/8
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Lucinda Brand (Ned) Telenet Baloise Lions86
2Ceylin del Carmen Alvarado (Ned) Alpecin-Fenix84
3Denise Betsema (Ned) Pauwels Sauzen-Bingoal74
4Yara Kastelijn (Ned) Credishop-Fristads68
5Annemarie Worst (Ned) 77766
6Manon Bakker (Ned) Credishop-Fristads53
7Sanne Cant (Bel) Iko-Crelan42
8Aniek van Alphen (Ned) Credishop-Fristads32
9Laura Verdonschot (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen-Bingoal29
10Puck Pieterse (Ned) Alpecin-Fenix23

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1