Vantornout wins Superprestige finale

Klaas Vantornout (Sunweb-Revor) soloed to victory today at the final round of the Superprestige series in Middelkerke, Belgium. The win was doubly important for the 28-year-old Belgian as it was his first victory of the season as well as the first big win for his Sunweb-Revor team. Telenet-Fidea teammates Kevin Pauwels and Bart Wellens rounded out the top three, finishing 13 seconds and 21 seconds respectively behind Vantornout.

"Actually this comes as a surprise to me," an emotional Vantornout said. "I was very motivated for this 'cross race on home soil and I made it happen.

"Today I was better than the rest. This makes up for a lot...for everything: a victory in a big 'cross race in front of my home crowd."

Sven Nys (Landbouwkrediet) had already won his 10th overall Superprestige title at the penultimate round in Hoogstraten last weekend and finished sixth on the day in Middelkerke.

On a demanding course with countless turns and few recuperation zones, the freshest riders took to the front nearing the conclusion of the 2010-2011 'cross season. Early accelerations from Sven Vanthourenhout (Sunweb-Revor), Zdenek Stybar (Telenet-Fidea) and Pauwels were neutralized but eventually an 11-rider lead group formed half way throught the race with world champion Stybar being the only non-Belgian.

Vantornout soon seized his opportunity for victory with a decisive acceleration which quickly gapped his rivals. Nys, Pauwels, Vanthourenhout, Stybar, Wellens, Tom Meeusen (Telenet-Fidea) and Niels Albert (BKCP-Powerplus) formed the chase group behind the surging Vantornout.

With three laps to go Vantornout had more than 20 seconds on the most active chasers Pauwels and Nys. The latter dropped back in the race finale while Wellens moved up. Vantornout kept his composure and brought home the first win of the season for himself and a jubilant team manager Jurgen Mettepenningen.

Behind Vantornout it was Pauwels who won the battle for second place, both in the race and in the overall Superprestige rankings, while his teammate Wellens completed the podium in Middelkerke. It was the first podium result in the Superprestige series for Wellens this season.

"This feels very good," said Wellens. "The first four laps I didn't believe in it but in the end I started going better."

Wellens's young teammate Meeusen was pleased with his fourth place finish. "Last year I was second but then the level wasn't as high," Meeusen said. "This was a very tough course. Maturity and freshness mattered here and I'm very happy with this fourth place."

World champion Zdenek Stybar's fifth place finish was enough for the Czech to jump over Albert into third place in the overall Superprestige rankings and grab an additional 2750 Euro in prize money.

Cousins Dieter and Sven Vanthourenhout finished eighth and ninth on the day and young Jan Denuwelaere (Style & Concept) rounded out the top-10 more than two minutes off the pace of Vantornout.

Jonathan Page (Planet Bike), the sole American at the race, finished 14th.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Full Results
1Klaas Vantornout (Bel) Sunweb-Revor1:02:31
2Kevin Pauwels (Bel) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team0:00:13
3Bart Wellens (Bel) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team0:00:21
4Tom Meeusen (Bel) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team0:00:39
5Zdenek Štybar (Cze) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team0:00:47
6Sven Nys (Bel) Landbouwkrediet0:00:59
7Niels Albert (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus0:01:22
8Dieter Vanthourenhout (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus0:01:31
9Sven Vanthourenhout (Bel) Sunweb-Revor0:01:39
10Jan Denuwelaere (Bel) Style & Concept0:02:16
11Rob Peeters (Bel) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team0:02:53
12Bart Aernouts (Bel) Rabobank-Giant Off Road Team0:03:06
13Kenneth van Compernolle (Bel) Style & Concept0:03:14
14Jonathan Page (USA) Planet Bike0:03:20
15Gerben De Knegt (Ned) Rabobank-Giant Off Road Team0:03:51
16Thijs van Amerongen (Ned) AA Drink Cycling Team0:04:18
17Petr Dlask (Cze) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team0:04:42
18Enrico Franzoi (Ita) BKCP-Powerplus0:04:53
19Martin Zlámalík (Cze) Sunweb - Revor0:05:01
20Mariusz Gil (Pol) Baboco - Revor Cycling TeamRow 19 - Cell 2
21Ben Berden (Bel) Qin Cycling Team0:05:04
22Patrick van Leeuwen (Ned)0:05:52
23Marco Bianco (Ita)0:06:21
24Bart Hofman (Bel) Afdeling Oost-Vlaanderen WBV - VZW0:06:38
25Kevin Cant (Bel) Van Goethem Prorace Cycling Team0:07:04
26Robert Gavenda (Svk) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team-1lap
27Egoitz Murgoitio (Spa)Row 26 - Cell 2
28Eddy van Ijzendoorn (Ned) AA Drink Cycling Team-2laps
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Superprestige final overall standings
1Sven Nys (Bel) Landbouwkrediet107pts
2Kevin Pauwels (Bel) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team92Row 1 - Cell 3
3Zdenek Štybar (Cze) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team85Row 2 - Cell 3
4Niels Albert (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus84Row 3 - Cell 3
5Bart Wellens (Bel) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team77Row 4 - Cell 3
6Klaas Vantornout (Bel) Sunweb-Revor62Row 5 - Cell 3
7Tom Meeusen (Bel) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team56Row 6 - Cell 3
8Bart Aernouts (Bel) Rabobank-Giant Off Road Team53Row 7 - Cell 3
9Gerben De Knegt (Ned) Rabobank-Giant Off Road Team42Row 8 - Cell 3
10Sven Vanthourenhout (Bel) Sunweb-Revor41Row 9 - Cell 3
11Rob Peeters (Bel) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team40Row 10 - Cell 3
12Dieter Vanthourenhout (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus30Row 11 - Cell 3
13Jan Denuwelaere (Bel) Style & Concept24Row 12 - Cell 3
14Philipp Walsleben (Ger) BKCP-Powerplus22Row 13 - Cell 3
15Kenneth van Compernolle (Bel) Style & Concept21Row 14 - Cell 3
16Enrico Franzoi (Ita) BKCP-Powerplus20Row 15 - Cell 3
17Thijs van Amerongen (Ned) AA Drink Cycling Team17Row 16 - Cell 3
18Steve Chainel (Fra) FDJ17Row 17 - Cell 3
19Radomir Simunek Jr. (Cze) BKCP-Powerplus14Row 18 - Cell 3
20Eddy van Ijzendoorn (Ned) AA Drink Cycling Team11Row 19 - Cell 3
21Jonathan Page (USA) Planet Bike11Row 20 - Cell 3
22Mariusz Gil (Pol) Baboco - Revor Cycling Team8Row 21 - Cell 3
23Petr Dlask (Cze) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team5Row 22 - Cell 3
24Timothy Johnson (USA) Cannondale-Cyclocrossworld.com4Row 23 - Cell 3
25Martin Zlámalík (Cze) Sunweb - Revor4Row 24 - Cell 3
26Jan Verstraeten (Bel) KDL-Trans3Row 25 - Cell 3
27Christian Heule (Swi) Champion System LBS3Row 26 - Cell 3
28Sacha Weber (Ger) Stevens Racing Team2Row 27 - Cell 3
29John Gadret (Fra) Ag2R La Mondiale2Row 28 - Cell 3
30Thijs Al (Ned) AA Drink Cycling Team2Row 29 - Cell 3
31Tom van den Bosch (Bel) AA Drink Cycling Team1Row 30 - Cell 3

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1