Dennis denies Durbridge in Buninyong

Anyone in doubt of the Australian Institute of Sport's (AIS) effectiveness would surely have been silenced as Rohan Dennis led the Jayco Skins outfit to a clean sweep of all three Under-23 time trial medals at the Australian National Championships today in Buninyong, Victoria.

It's the third consecutive time the squad, part of the AIS's cycling development programme, has filled the podium and its fourth overall victory in as many years.

Dennis outpaced favoured teammates Luke Durbridge and Michael Matthews to claim the title. It's Matthews' second consecutive bronze medal at the event after finishing behind Jack Bobridge and Travis Meyer in previous years.

"I'm just really happy," said Dennis. "I've worked for most of the year [for this] and the hard work has paid off."

"I went out a little bit too hard up the hill from what I thought I should have done," he added. "I was hurting pretty bad three quarters of the way through. In the last five kilometres I just gave it everything."

Durbridge finished 10 seconds behind Dennis, with Matthews a further 12 seconds behind. The trio will enter Saturday's Under-23 road race amongst the favourites.

"It was good," said Durbridge. "This was the event I wanted to focus on. I just had two weeks over Christmas where I solely did time trial work and stuff like that. To do a quick time, I'm really happy.

"It was my first time around this circuit, so it can only get better from here," he added. "I'm really happy with second; it was a great ride by Rohan."

After finishing fifth in last year's race Nathan Haas moved up one position to take fourth.


Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Rohan Dennis (SA)0:36:13
2Luke Durbridge (WA)0:00:10
3Michael Matthews (ACT)0:01:22
4Nathan Haas (MTB)0:01:42
5Adam Phelan (ACT)0:01:51
6Michael Freiberg (WA)0:02:03
7Nick Aitken (VIC)Row 6 - Cell 2
8Benjamin King (WA)0:02:15
9Ben Grenda (TAS)0:02:31
10Alastair Loutit (ACT)0:02:32
11Mitchell Mulhern (QLD)Row 10 - Cell 2
12Ben Dyball (NSW)0:02:39
13Sam Genge (ACT)0:03:01
14Rhys Gillett (VIC)0:03:11
15Eric Sheppard (VIC)0:03:40
16Timothy White (VIC)0:03:47
17Brodie Talbot (NSW)0:03:58
18Matthew Benson (SA)0:04:28
19Ben Grieve-Johnson (TAS)0:04:29
20Nathan Elliott (VIC)0:04:30
21Kevin Harnett (SA)0:04:57
22Sam Davis (WA)0:05:14
23Owen Cooke (NSW)0:05:27
24Ben Cutajar (QLD)0:05:34
25Lachlan Stewart (VIC)0:06:04
26Merlin Spranz (SA)0:06:28
27Daniel Hopper (VIC)0:06:29
28Ruan Benson (QLD)0:06:50
29Lachlan Ambrose (SA)0:07:12
30David Hampton (NSW)0:07:20

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews