Carr wins West Reading Radsport Criterium

Skyline's Adam Carr won the West Reading Radsport Criterium as the sun went down on Saturday. He took the win ahead of Michael Margarite (CRCA-The Weather Channel Spec) and Geno Villafano (CCAP).

As the sun started to set in West Reading, the breeze picked up and blew straight down the homestretch against the riders contesting the West Reading Criterium. That wind worked to the advantage of Mike Margarite and John Delong (Team Skyline), who took off from the field early and built up a lead that stretched to 17 seconds, nearly getting out of the site of the 100 riders in the field and at times looking like they might close the gap to the Acura NSX pace car.

With both riders' teammates blocking efforts to chase, it looked for a moment like the race might be decided early, but with a few mid-race primes the gap to the two leaders started to come down. When three-time Olympian Bobby Lea (Burner Fitness) came to the front, with an assist from the Doylestown Bike Works team, the break's fate was sealed.

Mid-race laps were marked by Weather Channel, Texas Roadhouse, CS Velo, and local favorites Skyline trading attacks, but after the near-miss with the early break, the field was disinclined to let anything get too far up the road.

The elastic finally snapped with about six laps to go when a group of four riders -- Margarite, taking his second trip off the front, Adam Carr, Geno Villagano (CCAP), and Michael Jones, a former Health-Net Maxxis rider now racing for Nalgene p/b Sager Beer Works -- got clear of the bunch and quickly built a big advantage.

Lea, who lives nearby, hit the front again with two laps to go, but without much cooperation in the chase, the advantage shifted to the breakaway where Skyline's Adam Carr took the "gambler prime," and then won the race a lap later -- the evening's second such double.

Jones finished fourth and Jelly Belly's Curtis White won the field sprint for fifth.

Full Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Adam Carr (Team Skyline)1:09:22
2Michael Margarite (Crca / The Weather Channel Spec)Row 1 - Cell 2
3Geno Villafano (Ccap)Row 2 - Cell 2
4Michael Jones (Nalgene P/B Sager Beer Works)Row 3 - Cell 2
5Curtis White (Jelly Belly P/B Maxxis)0:00:03
6Rafael Meran0:00:04
7Stephen Hall (Maloja Pushbikers)Row 6 - Cell 2
8Wes Kline (Doylestown Bike Works P/B Fred)Row 7 - Cell 2
9Jared Babik (Team Gpoa)Row 8 - Cell 2
10David Dawson (Team Skyline)Row 9 - Cell 2
11Stalin Quiterio Cuello (Dave Jordan Foundation)Row 10 - Cell 2
12Cesar Marte0:00:05
13John Delong (Team Skyline)Row 12 - Cell 2
14Hamzah EastmanRow 13 - Cell 2
15Ismael ColladoRow 14 - Cell 2
16Ryan Dewald (Team Skyline)Row 15 - Cell 2
17Sean Burger (Cs Velo Racing P/B Cannondale)Row 16 - Cell 2
18Joel Cândido Prado (Memorial / Santos)Row 17 - Cell 2
19Gerald Adasavage (Crca / The Weather Channel Spec)0:00:06
20Aaron Barr (Divine Swine Cycling)0:00:07
21Glenn Ferreira (Team Metra / Xrcel / Cycles 54)Row 20 - Cell 2
22Ian Whaley (Doylestown Bike Works P/B Fred)Row 21 - Cell 2
23Kyle Penny (Levine Law Group P/B Huseby.Com)Row 22 - Cell 2
24Greg MaccartyRow 23 - Cell 2
25Dakota Schaeffer (Cs Velo Racing P/B Cannondale)Row 24 - Cell 2
26Ryan Wei (Team Clif Bar Cycling)0:00:08
27Adriano Hauck (Rohan Cycling)Row 26 - Cell 2
28Jermaine BurrowesRow 27 - Cell 2
29William Walton (Young Medalists)0:00:09
30Alex Kellum (Qcw Breakawaybikes.Com P/B Jlve)0:00:11
31Bobby Lea (Burner Fitness)0:00:12
32Sait Arana (Team Skyline)Row 31 - Cell 2
33Colin Kelly (Doylestown Bike Works P/B Fred)0:00:13
34Andrew Dudle (Cs Velo)0:00:14
35Matthew Fischel (Avc / Team Hagerstown-Washingto)0:00:15
36Erik Post (Crca / The Weather Channel Spec)0:00:16
37Brad Green (Cs Velo)Row 36 - Cell 2
38Derrick Butler (Cs Velo Racing P/B Cannondale)Row 37 - Cell 2
39Gerard Josulevicz (Burner Fitness)0:00:17
40Clint Dager (Avc / Team Hagerstown-Washingto)0:00:19
41Michael Landry (Ccap)Row 40 - Cell 2
42Konrad Ratzmann (Crca / The Weather Channel Spec)0:00:21
43Steven Kurpiewski (Team Gpoa)Row 42 - Cell 2
44Calvin Hoops (Qcw Breakawaybikes.Com P/B Jlve)Row 43 - Cell 2
45Anthony Taylor (Dave Jordan Foundation)0:00:22
46John Minturn0:00:23
47Laurent Rivard (Qcw Breakawaybikes.Com P/B Jlve)Row 46 - Cell 2


Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews