Skip to main content

HTC-Highroad breaks dry spell in TTT

The HTC-Highroad women succeeded in winning the team time trial World Cup race in Vargarda, Sweden for the first time in the team's history.

The team consisting of Judith Arndt, Charlotte Becker, Emilia Fahlin, Amber Neben, Ina-Yoko Teutenberg and Ellen Van Dijk bested the next fastest team by 1:44 on the 42.5km course.

HTC-Highroad had placed second to three-time winners Cervelo each year in the event's history, but this time the Garmin-Cervélo squad could manage only third behind second placed AA Australia took fourth.

"We've been close several times here, three times second in previous years, and this time we finally got the win so we're very pleased," said HTC-Highroad team manager Ronny Lauke, "The whole team did a great job, they were amazing. We were already thirty-five seconds ahead of the rest of the field at the first checkpoint so that was really motivating because that was where we'd lost time last year.

"But we kept our feet on the ground and concentrated on keeping ahead of the field and I think we finally finished about ninety seconds ahead of the next squad."

The team had gotten special instructions on the race from Teutenberg's brother Lars, and had done specific training at the team's camp. Having national champions Arndt (Germany) and Fahlin (Sweden), as well as former world champion Neben on the team certainly helped.

"Everything worked out fine today day, no incidents of any kind, but there's been a lot of hard work behind the scenes too."

The result doesn't change the standings in the overall individual World Cup, which is still led by Marianne Vos (Nederland Bloeit).

Full Results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1HTC Highroad Women0:53:09
Judith Arndt (Ger)
Charlotte Becker (Ger)
Amber Neben (USA)
Eleonora Van Dijk (Ned)
2AA Drink - Cycling Team0:01:37
Lucinda Brand (Ned)
Linda Melanie Villumsen (NZl)
Kirsten Wild (Ned)
Trixi Worrack (Ger)
Elizabeth Armitstead (GBr)
Noemi Cantele (Ita)
Sharon Laws (GBr)
Emma Pooley (GBr)
Iris Slappendel (Ned)
Shara Gillow (Aus)
Belinda Goss (Aus)
Taryn Heather (Aus)
Lauren Kitchen (Aus)
Jessie Maclean (Aus)
Amanda Spratt (Aus)
5Nederland Bloeit0:01:55
Loes Gunnewijk (Ned)
Patricia Schwager (Swi)
Annemiek Van Vleuten (Ned)
Marianne Vos (Ned)
Tatiana Antoshina (Rus)
Alexandra Burchenkova (Rus)
Yulia Iliynikh (Rus)
Olga Zabelinskaya (Rus)
7Hitec Products - UCK0:03:13
Lisa Brennauer (Ger)
Emma Johansson (Swe)
Emilie Moberg (Nor)
Sara Mustonen (Swe)
Lise Nöstvold (Nor)
Elke Gebhardt (Ger)
Claudia Häusler (Ger)
Madeleine Sandig (Ger)
Ana Bianca Schnitzmeier (Ger)
9Lotto Honda Team0:04:13
Robyn De Groot (Bel)
Ashleigh Moolman (RSA)
Josephine Tomic (Aus)
Vicki Whitelaw (Aus)
10SC MCipollini Giambenini0:04:19
Monia Baccaille (Ita)
Nicole Cooke (GBr)
Tatiana Guderzo (Ita)
Jennifer Hohl (Swi)
Regina Bruins (Ned)
Roxane Knetemann (Ned)
Vera Koedooder (Ned)
Anna Van Der Breggen (Ned)
Svitlana Galyuk (Ukr)
Lesya Kalitovska (Ukr)
Anna Nagirna (Ukr)
Olena Sharga (Ukr)
13Top Girls Fassa Bortolo0:05:00
Elena Berlato (Ita)
Valentina Carretta (Ita)
Simona Frapporti (Ita)
Elisa Longo Borghini (Ita)
Giulia Ronchi (Ita)
Karin Aune (Swe)
Linea Fredäng (Swe)
Marie Lindberg (Swe)
Hanna Nilsson (Swe)
Martina Thomasson (Swe)
15Alriksson Go:Green0:06:05
Madeleine Olsson (Swe)
Malin Rydlund (Swe)
Linnea Sjöblom (Swe)
Isabelle Söderberg (Swe)
16Juvederm - Specialized0:06:07
Lex Albrecht (Can)
Veronique Labonte (Can)
Moriah Macgregor (Can)
Denise Ramsden (Can)
Mary Zider (USA)
17Topsport Vlaanderen 2012 - Ridley Team0:06:14
Latoya Brulee (Bel)
Jolien D'Hoore (Bel)
Kelly Druyts (Bel)
Grace Verbeke (Bel)
18Dolmans Landscaping Team0:06:29
Martine Bras (Ned)
Petra Dijkman (Ned)
Janneke Ensing (Ned)
Birgit Lavrijssen (Ned)
Mascha Pijnenborg (Ned)
Henriette Christensen (Den)
Michelle Lauge Jensen (Den)
Julie Leth (Den)
Dorte Lohse Rasmussen (Den)
20Vienne Futuroscope0:06:45
Julie Beveridge (Can)
Karol-Ann Canuel (Fra)
Pascale Jeuland (Fra)
Emmanuelle Merlot (Fra)
21Vaiano Solaristech0:07:09
Valentina Bastianelli (Ita)
Urte Juodvalkyte (Ltu)
Flavia Oliveira (Bra)
Katarzyna Sosna (Ltu)

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

after your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews