Skip to main content

Amy Pieters solos to Dutch women's road race title

NOKERE BELGIUM MARCH 17 Arrival Amy Pieters of Netherlands and Team SD Worx Celebration Grace Brown of Australia and Team BikeExchange during the 3rd Nokere Koerse Danilith Classic 2021 Womens Elite a 124km race from Deinze to Nokere NokereKoerse on March 17 2021 in Nokere Belgium Photo by Mark Van HeckeGetty Images
Amy Pieters (SD Worx) (Image credit: Getty Images Sport)

Amy Pieters (SD Worx) took victory at the Dutch National Championships, soloing to victory at the road race in Drenthe to take her first national title in 12 attempts.

The 30-year-old crossed the line 2:27 ahead of Nancy van der Burg (Jumbo-Visma) in second place, while Karlijn Swinkels (Jumbo-Visma) rounded out the podium a second later.

Pieters was part of an early attacking move along with the two Jumbo-Visma women and three other riders, though they reached the final laps of the VAMberg circuit over a minute ahead of the chasing peloton.

With the likes of Team DSM and Parkhotel Valkenburg not represented in the attack, the teams contributed to the chase, but it wasn't enough to bring the move back.

At two laps to go, Pieters put in what would be her race-winning attack, jumping away from her companions on the hill and quickly building a lead out front. She only continued to build her lead as the kilometres ticked down, with a lack of co-operation in the chase only helping.

Pieters, a long way in front by the time she reached the final lap, had time to celebrate as she crested the summit of the VAMberg for the final time, crossing the line over two minutes up on her closest rivals.

Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Amy Pieters (Ned) Team SD Worx 3:18:54
2Nancy van der Berg (Ned) Jumbo-Visma Women Team 0:02:27
3Karlijn Swinkels (Ned) Jumbo-Visma Women Team 0:02:28
4Shirin van Anrooij (Ned) Trek-Segafredo 0:02:30
5Femke Gerritse (Ned) Parkhotel Valkenburg 0:02:59
6Sabrina Stultiens (Ned) Liv Racing 0:03:06
7Lorena Wiebes (Ned) Team DSM 0:03:40
8Marianne Vos (Ned) Jumbo-Visma Women Team
9Demi Vollering (Ned) Team SD Worx 0:03:43
10Floortje Mackaij (Ned) Team DSM
11Annemiek van Vleuten (Ned) Movistar Team Women
12Lucinda Brand (Ned) Trek-Segafredo
13Lonneke Uneken (Ned) Team SD Worx
14Riejanne Markus (Ned) Jumbo-Visma Women Team
15Amber van der Hulst (Ned) Parkhotel Valkenburg
16Yara Kastelijn (Ned) Plantur-Pura
17Silke Smulders (Ned) Lotto Soudal Ladies
18Inge van der Heijden (Ned) Plantur-Pura
19Marjolein van 't Geloof (Ned) Drops-le Col
20Nicole Steigenga (Ned) Doltcini-Van Eyck-Proximus Continental Team
21Anouska Koster (Ned) Jumbo-Visma Women Team
22Ellen van Dijk (Ned) Trek-Segafredo
23Amber Kraak (Ned) Jumbo-Visma Women Team
24Mischa Bredewold (Ned) Parkhotel Valkenburg 0:03:51
25Quinty Ton (Ned) GT Krush Tunap Pro Cycling 0:03:52
26Femke Markus (Ned) Parkhotel Valkenburg
27Denise Betsema (Ned)
28Esmée Peperkamp (Ned) Team DSM
29Marit Raaijmakers (Ned) Parkhotel Valkenburg
30Nina Buysman (Ned) Parkhotel Valkenburg 0:03:55
31Annemarie Worst (Ned) Plantur-Pura
32Pien Limpens (Ned) Parkhotel Valkenburg
33Ilse Pluimers (Ned) NXTG Racing 0:03:58
34Pauliena Rooijakkers (Ned) Liv Racing 0:03:59
35Belle de Gast (Ned) Parkhotel Valkenburg
36Fem van Empell (Ned) 0:04:00
37Teuntje Beekhuis (Ned) Jumbo-Visma Women Team 0:04:07
38Jip van den Bos (Ned) Jumbo-Visma Women Team
39Natalie van Gogh (Ned) Bingoal Casino-Chevalmeire 0:04:12
40Anna van der Breggen (Ned) Team SD Worx
41Chantal van den Broek-Blaak (Ned) Team SD Worx
42Aafke Soet (Ned) Jumbo-Visma Women Team 0:06:00
43Aniek van Alphen (Ned) Plantur-Pura 0:06:50

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews