Skip to main content

Betancur triumphs at Giro dell'Emilia

Carlos Alberto Betancur received an early 22nd birthday present in Bologna when he won this year's Giro dell'Emilia, finishing 24 seconds ahead of Bauke Mollema (Rabobank) and Rigoberto Uran (Team Sky) on the tough uphill finish of the Sanctuary of the Madonna di San Luca.

The Acqua e Sapone Colombian could celebrate his first professional victory atop the San Luca after making an important move in the closing laps, his dare paying off and delivering Acqua e Sapone a vital victory on home turf.

After 18km a group of five riders - Stefan Denifl (Leopard Trek), Davide Ricci Bitti (Farnese Vini – Neri Sottoli), Sergio Laganà (De Rosa – Ceramica Flaminia), Luca Solari (Androni Giocattoli – Cipi) and Alexander Zdanov (D'Angelo & Antenucci - Nippo) - got away and built themselves a lead of 8:26 after 47km of racing.

Under the impetus of Liquigas-Cannondale, which was working for Vincenzo Nibali, the quintet was eventually caught, with Denifl the last to surrender at the beginning of the second of five finishing circuits. It was then time for Gianluca Brambilla (Colnago - CSF) to go it alone, which he did for a lap before being joined by Robert Kiserlovski (Astana), Betancur and Oliver Zaugg (Leopard Trek).

As the bell rang for the last lap - and the final 10km - the leading group split as Brambilla and Kiserlovski lost contact, while Zaugg continued with Betancur, the pair deciding to go for broke on the final climb. For the latter the plan worked to perfection, holding strong to take a solo win ahead of the quality field.

Full Results
1Carlos Alberto Betancur Gomez (Col) Acqua & Sapone5:05:05
2Bauke Mollema (Ned) Rabobank Cycling Team0:00:24
3Rigoberto Uran Uran (Col) Sky Procycling
4Davide Rebellin (Ita) Miche - Guerciotti
5Przemyslaw Niemiec (Pol) Lampre - ISD
6Joaquím Rodríguez Oliver (Spa) Katusha Team0:00:28
7Riccardo Chiarini (Ita) Androni Giocattoli0:00:31
8Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox
9Oliver Zaugg (Swi) Leopard Trek0:00:33
10Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale0:00:39
11Christophe Le Mevel (Fra) Team Garmin-Cervelo0:00:40
12Fabio Andres Duarte Arevalo (Col) Geox-TMC
13Thomas Lövkvist (Swe) Sky Procycling0:00:42
14Daniel Moreno Fernandez (Spa) Katusha Team0:00:47
15David De La Fuente Rasilla (Spa) Geox-TMC0:00:53
16Fabio Taborre (Ita) Acqua & Sapone0:00:54
17Francesco Masciarelli (Ita) Pro Team Astana0:01:02
18Andrey Zeits (Kaz) Pro Team Astana0:01:15
19Miguel Angel Rubiano Chavez (Col) d'Angelo & Antenucci - Nippo0:01:18
20Stefan Schumacher (Ger) Miche - Guerciotti0:01:19
21Daniel Martin (Irl) Team Garmin-Cervelo
22Fabio Felline (Ita) Geox-TMC
23Federico Canuti (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox0:01:35
24Ivan Basso (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale
25Emanuele Sella (Ita) Androni Giocattoli
26Robert Kiserlovski (Cro) Pro Team Astana
27Giovanni Visconti (Ita) Farnese Vini - Neri Sottoli
28Gianluca Brambilla (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox0:02:17
29Michael Rogers (Aus) Sky Procycling
30Jakob Fuglsang (Den) Leopard Trek0:02:59
31Alexsandr Dyachenko (Kaz) Pro Team Astana0:03:18
32Giampaolo Caruso (Ita) Katusha Team
33Tom Jelte Slagter (Ned) Rabobank Cycling Team0:04:49
34Mathieu Perget (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale
35Carlos Barredo Llamazales (Spa) Rabobank Cycling Team
36Cristiano Salerno (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale
37David Gutierrez Gutierrez (Spa) Geox-TMC
38Damiano Caruso (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale
39Peter Stetina (USA) Team Garmin-Cervelo
40Rafal Majka (Pol) Saxo Bank Sungard
41Sylvester Szmyd (Pol) Liquigas-Cannondale
42Evgeny Petrov (Rus) Pro Team Astana
43Laurens Ten Dam (Ned) Rabobank Cycling Team
44Steven Kruijswijk (Ned) Rabobank Cycling Team
45Pieter Weening (Ned) Rabobank Cycling Team
46David Lelay (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale0:05:36
47Arthur Vichot (Fra) FDJ
48Laurent Didier (Lux) Saxo Bank Sungard0:06:08
49Bruno Pires (Por) Leopard Trek0:09:22
50Rémi Pauriol (Fra) FDJ
51Maxime Bouet (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale
52Damiano Margutti (Ita) De Rosa - Ceramica Flaminia
53Grischa Niermann (Ger) Rabobank Cycling Team
54Thibaut Pinot (Fra) FDJ

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1