Skip to main content

French championships: Cordon-Ragot wins women's road title

Audrey Cordon Ragot (Trek-Segafredo) claimed her first elite road title with an emphatic solo attack with just under 5km to go.

The 30-year-old missed out in the time trial on Friday by five seconds to Juliet Labous (Sunweb) but was taking no chances in Grand-Champ on Saturday.

After shattering the reduced field with a few probing attacks, Cordon Ragot used an uphill section to dispatch three riders and go solo to the line.

Gladys Verhulst (Team Arkéa) out-sprinted Clara Copponi (FDJ Nouvelle Aquitaine Futuroscope) for the silver medal.

It was an emotional win for Cordon-Ragot, who was outnumbered by the FDJ Nouvelle Aquitaine Futuroscope and Arkéa teams.

"Pierre Rolland told me this morning, ‘Audrey, today you have to race with a cold head and a warm heart.’ I kept repeating that in my head the whole day. I was composed and made a really deliberate attack when I did," Cordon-Ragot said.

"A national championship race is never simple. I knew the course really well, every corner. The little hills were not hard, but the succession of them made them really hurt. I had different scenarios in my head this morning, all coming down to trimming down the bigger teams.

"Yesterday was such an immense disappointment for me, and I couldn’t get over it. But today, I rebounded from it perfectly. I had so many goosebumps at the end! So many people shouting my name, it was incredible! I’m from Brittany, so this is like a home race for me… unbelievable!

"To be able to pull this off is just incredible! This is the most beautiful moment in my career: being able to win and wear this beautiful jersey. I am going to enjoy it!"

Full Results
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Audrey Cordon Ragot (Fra) Trek-Segafredo Women 3:03:59
2Gladys Verhulst (Fra) Team Arkea-Samsic 0:00:38
3Clara Copponi (Fra) FDJ Nouvelle-Aquitaine Futuroscope
4Victorie Guilman (Fra) FDJ Nouvelle-Aquitaine Futuroscope 0:02:00
5Manon Souyris (Fra) Charente-Maritime Women Cycling
6Eugénie Duval (Fra) FDJ Nouvelle-Aquitaine Futuroscope
7Sandrine Bideau (Fra)
8Pauline Allin (Fra) Team Arkea-Samsic
9Laura Asencio (Fra) Ceratizit-WNT Pro 0:02:16
10Maëlle Grossetete (Fra) FDJ Nouvelle-Aquitaine Futuroscope 0:02:33
11Marie Le Net (Fra) FDJ Nouvelle-Aquitaine Futuroscope
12Justine Gegu (Fra)
13Amandine Fouquenet (Fra) Team Arkea-Samsic
14Marlène Petit (Fra)
15Marie Gielen (Fra)
16Aline Guglielmi (Fra)
17Greta Richioud (Fra) Hitec Products-Birk Sport
18Melodie Lesueur (Fra)
19Axelle Guirado (Fra)
20Sandra Levenez (Fra) Team Arkea-Samsic
21Elsa Hugot (Fra)
22Juliette Labous (Fra) Team Sunweb Women
23Marine Strappazzon (Fra)
24Evita Muzic (Fra) FDJ Nouvelle-Aquitaine Futuroscope
25Iris Sachet (Fra)
26Cedrine Kerbaol (Fra)
27Audrey Weingarten (Fra)
28Alison Avoine (Fra)
29Barbara Fonseca (Fra)
30Dilyxine Miermont (Fra)
31Roxane Fournier (Fra) Chevalmeire Cycling Team
32Viviane Rognant (Fra)
33Jade Wiel (Fra) FDJ Nouvelle-Aquitaine Futuroscope
34Pascaline Duchesne (Fra)
35Anaïs Morichon (Fra) Team Arkea-Samsic
36Aude Biannic (Fra) Movistar Team Women
37Noemie Abgrall (Fra) Charente-Maritime Women Cycling
38Zoé Delachaux (Fra)
39India Grangier (Fra) Charente-Maritime Women Cycling
40Edwige Pitel (Fra) Cogeas Mettler Look Pro
41Morgane Coston (Fra)
42Claudie Chamboredon (Fra) 0:03:18
43Margot Pompanon (Fra) 0:03:38
44Typhaine Laurance (Fra) Team Arkea-Samsic
45Coralie Houdin (Fra) Team Arkea-Samsic 0:03:58
46Sophie Almeida (Fra) 0:04:18
47Léa Curinier (Fra) Team Arkea-Samsic
48Chloé Charpentier (Fra) 0:06:14
49Jeanne Louise Barbier (Fra)
50Margot Grosjean (Fra) 0:06:41
51Cyriane Muller (Fra)
52Margaux Vigie (Fra) Valcar - Travel & Service
53Cindy Pomares (Fra) 0:10:25
54Ophelie Fenart (Fra) 0:12:34
55Valentine Fortin (Fra) 0:13:59
56Lore Le Pabic (Fra) 0:14:00
57Marine Thiebault (Fra) 0:14:14
58Sophie De Muynck (Fra) 0:14:16
59Victoire Berteau (Fra) Doltcini-Van Eyck Sport 0:14:44
60Marie Brunet (Fra) 0:15:15
61Amélie Hild (Fra) 0:17:15
62Julie Rollee (Fra)
63Nolwenn Houot (Fra)
64Victoire Barbe (Fra) Cogeas Mettler Look Pro
65Sara Touche (Fra)
66Malorie Beunard (Fra)
67Lisa Guerin (Fra)
68Melanie Menara (Fra)
69Margot Lauzier (Fra)
70Amélie Chavent (Fra)
71Chloe Schoenenberger (Fra)
72Hélène Mulot (Fra)
73Laura Semon (Fra)
74Marie Louise Biard (Fra)
75Caroline Mouraux (Fra)
76Balladyne Tritsch (Fra) Charente-Maritime Women Cycling 0:17:21
77Loriane Ceyssat (Fra)
78Anaelle Menet (Fra) 0:18:43
79Laurie Vezie (Fra) 0:18:49

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Cyclingnews is the world's leader in English-language coverage of professional cycling. Started in 1995 by University of Newcastle professor Bill Mitchell, the site was one of the first to provide breaking news and results over the internet in English. The site was purchased by Knapp Communications in 1999, and owner Gerard Knapp built it into the definitive voice of pro cycling. Since then, major publishing house Future PLC has owned the site and expanded it to include top features, news, results, photos and tech reporting. The site continues to be the most comprehensive and authoritative English voice in professional cycling.

Latest on Cyclingnews