French nationals: Charlotte Bravard wins women's road race

Charlotte Bravard is the new champion of France

Charlotte Bravard is the new champion of France (Image credit: Federation Francaise de Cyclisme)

After a wide-open race in Saint-Omer, 25 year-old Charlotte Bravard (FDJ-Nouvelle Aquitaine-Futuroscope) captured the French title on Saturday, winning the sprint from a small group ahead of Amélie Rivat-Mas (Lares-Waowdeals) and Marjolaine Bazin (SAS-MACOGEP).

"I'm not realizing yet what's happening, what I pulled off. We really wanted to get the jersey with the team. There was a lot of pressure because I was the only rider from the team in front. I didn't want to mess it up for the team. It's my first title and maybe it'll be the only one in my career, who knows. In the final I wasn't pulling because Victorie Guilman was coming up," Bravard said, reacting emotional after taking her first pro win.

A disappointed Rivat-Mas again fell just short of the win, capturing her third silver medal at the French national championships. Bazin finished as runner-up last year and now captured the bronze medal. Fanny Zambon didn't take part in the sprint and finished fourth at short distance, it was more than enough for the 20 year-old to take the Women U23 title. Victorie Guilman (FDJ-Nouvelle Aquitaine-Futuroscope) finished fifth and captured the silver medal in the Women U23 category.

The women raced 108 kilometres at Saint-Omer, in the Nord-Pas-de-Calais region. Seven laps of 15.5 kilometres were to be covered. The main features were two endless straight sections, two small climbs up to 120 metres and a few corners in the centre of Saint-Omer.

Halfway through the race, a group of 14 riders was a minute ahead of the peloton. Zambon and Bravard distanced this group and collected a maximal bonus of three minutes. Bazin and Rivat-Mas were also present in the large group and launched a counter-attack.

At 30 kilometres from the finish Bazin and Rivat-Mas bridged up with Zambon and Bravard. Behind, pre-race favourite and TT champion Audrey Cordon-Ragot (Wiggle-High5) and 2013 champion Elise Delzenne (Lotto-Soudal) were marked by the FDJ-team when attempting to get back to the front. It meant the four riders in front were battling for the victory, with Bravard proving to be the fastest.

Full Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Charlotte Bravard (Fra) FDJ Nouvelle Aquitaine Futuroscope3:07:25
2Amelie Rivat (Fra) Lares-WaowdealsRow 1 - Cell 2
3Marjolaine Bazin (Fra) SAS - MACOGEP0:00:03
4Fanny Zambon (Fra)0:00:06
5Victorie Guilman (Fra) FDJ Nouvelle Aquitaine Futuroscope0:01:10
6Pauline Allin (Fra) SAS - MACOGEP0:01:20
7Fanny Leleu (Fra)0:01:29
8Gaelle Poirier Carreau (Fra)0:01:48
9Roxane Fournier (Fra) FDJ Nouvelle Aquitaine Futuroscope0:02:02
10Severine Eraud (Fra) FDJ Nouvelle Aquitaine FuturoscopeRow 9 - Cell 2
11Elise Delzenne (Fra) Yunnan Lvshan LandscapeRow 10 - Cell 2
12Eugénie Duval (Fra) FDJ Nouvelle Aquitaine FuturoscopeRow 11 - Cell 2
13Juliette Labous (Fra) Team SunwebRow 12 - Cell 2
14Ophelie Fenart (Fra)Row 13 - Cell 2
15Marion Sicot (Fra)Row 14 - Cell 2
16Mélanie Guedon (Fra)Row 15 - Cell 2
17Axelle Dubau Prevot (Fra) Bizkaia-DurangoRow 16 - Cell 2
18Lucie Jounier (Fra)Row 17 - Cell 2
19Marine Strappazzon (Fra)Row 18 - Cell 2
20Aude Biannic (Fra) FDJ Nouvelle Aquitaine FuturoscopeRow 19 - Cell 2
21Maelle Grossetete (Fra)Row 20 - Cell 2
22Audrey Cordon Ragot (Fra) Wiggle High5Row 21 - Cell 2
23Greta Richioud (Fra) FDJ Nouvelle Aquitaine FuturoscopeRow 22 - Cell 2
24Sylvie Riedle (Fra)Row 23 - Cell 2
25Marie Gielen (Fra)0:02:08
26Pauline Cantele (Fra)Row 25 - Cell 2
27Manon Souyris (Fra)Row 26 - Cell 2
28Aurélia Perry (Fra)Row 27 - Cell 2
29Melodie Lesueur (Fra)Row 28 - Cell 2
30Sandrine Bideau (Fra)0:02:19
31Gabrielle Rimasson (Fra)0:02:42
32Gladys Verhulst (Fra)Row 31 - Cell 2
33Clemence Eraud (Fra)Row 32 - Cell 2
34Esther Eustache (Fra)Row 33 - Cell 2
35Alphanie Midelet (Fra)Row 34 - Cell 2
36Cyriane Muller (Fra)Row 35 - Cell 2
37Juliette Vandekerckhove (Fra)Row 36 - Cell 2
38Laura Asencio (Fra)Row 37 - Cell 2
39Anabelle Dreville (Fra) FDJ Nouvelle Aquitaine FuturoscopeRow 38 - Cell 2
40Annie Thomas (Fra)Row 39 - Cell 2
41Coralie Demay (Fra) FDJ Nouvelle Aquitaine FuturoscopeRow 40 - Cell 2
42Marion Borras (Fra)Row 41 - Cell 2
43Morgane Coston (Fra)Row 42 - Cell 2
44Loriane Ceyssat (Fra)Row 43 - Cell 2
45Camille Robert (Fra)0:02:58
46Clémence Jolly (Fra)0:03:09
47Lucie Lahaye (Fra)0:03:25
48Elodie Belz (Fra)Row 47 - Cell 2
49Aurore Verhoeven (Fra)0:06:02
50Oceane Tessier (Fra)0:06:31
51Amelie Hild (Fra)Row 50 - Cell 2
52Bérengère Staelens (Fra)0:07:07
53Elodie Hegoburu (Fra)Row 52 - Cell 2
54Emilie Jamme (Fra)0:07:12
55Marine Quiniou (Fra)0:07:20
56Audrey Gascon (Fra)Row 55 - Cell 2
57Océanne Philibert (Fra)Row 56 - Cell 2
58Jennifer Mark (Fra)0:08:52
59Agathe Auger (Fra)0:09:04
60Typhaine Laurance (Fra)0:13:30
61Sophie Almeida (Fra)Row 60 - Cell 2
62Manon Minaud (Fra)Row 61 - Cell 2
63Emeline Azam (Fra)0:13:35
64Margot Dutour (Fra)0:14:19
65Anaïs Maurel (Fra)Row 64 - Cell 2
DNFLisa Guerin (Fra)Row 65 - Cell 2
DNFCoralie Houdin (Fra)Row 66 - Cell 2
DNFLaurie Berthon (Fra)Row 67 - Cell 2
DNFSoline Lamboley (Fra) SAS - MACOGEPRow 68 - Cell 2
DNFIris Sachet (Fra) SAS - MACOGEPRow 69 - Cell 2
DNFMarie Tondereau (Fra)Row 70 - Cell 2
DNFEmmanuelle Brossard (Fra)Row 71 - Cell 2
DNFFiona Dutriaux (Fra)Row 72 - Cell 2
DNFMaud Laloux (Fra)Row 73 - Cell 2
DNFElise Amartin (Fra)Row 74 - Cell 2
DNFThérésa Hoebanckx (Fra)Row 75 - Cell 2
DNFTatiana Blin (Fra)Row 76 - Cell 2
DNFJohanna Mancel (Fra)Row 77 - Cell 2
DNFMarine Cloarec (Fra)Row 78 - Cell 2

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews