Skip to main content

Kevin Pauwels powers to win ahead of Nys

Kevin Pauwels (Sunweb-Revor) grabbed his second win of the season at the Scheldecross in Antwerp on Saturday afternoon. The 28-year-old beat Belgian champion Sven Nys (Landbouwkrediet-Euphony) in the sprint. Fast man Pauwels started the two-man sprint behind Nys, coming around him when the latter snapped out of his pedal when starting the sprint. World champion Niels Albert (BKCP-Powerplus) finished third.

It was one of the first times this season Pauwels took the initiative in a race this season, making his first move halfway through the race. Before that, he was chasing a six-man lead group which included Nys but also his teammate Sven Vanthourenhout (Landbouwkrediet-Euphony), Simon Zahner, Radomir Simunek (BKCP-Powerplus), Dieter Vanthourenhout (BKCP-Powerplus) and U23-rider Wietse Bosmans (BKCP-Powerplus).

When Albert bridged up the the leaders too, Nys accelerated in front of the group. Nys' move didn't cause major differences though. At first Zahner, Bosmans, Pauwels and Vanthourenhout were able to follow but little later also Albert, Simunek and Jim Aernouts (Sunweb-Revor) came back to the lead group.

That was when Pauwels made his powerful move. Nys swiftly followed and soon after that also Albert joined the elite lead group. Aernouts came close but eventually fell just short to make the break as well. During the penultimate lap Albert bobbled in a sand section. The world champion ussually excells in the sand but this time it was the terrain where he had to concede to his major rivals.

The duo in front remained together until the sprint which turned into a non-evenwhen Nys suddenly clicked out of his pedal, offering Pauwels an easy victory. The situation was similar to the pedal problem for Nys at the cross in Gieten from two years ago.

Klaas Vantornout (Sunweb-Revor) timed his race to perfection by finishing fourth, being best of the rest in Antwerp. Bart Aernouts (AA-Drink – was fifth ahead of Simunek and Bosmans. Czech rider Simunek was the only non-Belgian rider in the top-10 as teammates Rob Peeters (Telenet-Fidea) and Bart Wellens (Telenet-Fidea) rounded it out.

Full Results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Kevin Pauwels (Bel) Sunweb-Revor0:56:50
2Sven Nys (Bel) Landbouwkrediet-Euphony
3Niels Albert (Bel) BKCP - Powerplus0:00:15
4Klaas Vantornout (Bel) Sunweb-Revor0:00:22
5Bart Aernouts (Bel) AA Drink Cyclocross Team0:00:28
6Radomir Simunek (Cze) BKCP - Powerplus
7Wietse Bosmans (Bel) BKCP - Powerplus
8Jim Aernouts (Bel) Sunweb-Revor
9Rob Peeters (Bel) Telenet - Fidea0:00:32
10Bart Wellens (Bel) Telenet - Fidea0:00:36
11Dieter Vanthourenhout (Bel) BKCP - Powerplus0:00:42
12Simon Zahner (Swi) EKZ Racing Team0:01:12
13Thijs van Amerongen (Ned) AA Drink Cyclocross Team0:01:21
14Philipp Walsleben (Ger) BKCP - Powerplus0:01:32
15Sven Vanthourenhout (Bel) Landbouwkrediet-Euphony0:01:43
16Mariusz Gil (Pol) Baboco
17Thijs Al (Ned) Telenet - Fidea0:01:51
18Toon Aerts (Bel) Landbouwkrediet-KDL0:02:07
19Laurens Sweeck (Bel) Landbouwkrediet-KDL0:02:17
20Jan Denuwelaere (Bel) Style & Concept
21Eddy van IJzendoorn (Ned) 36Cycling0:02:29
22Gerben de Knegt (Ned) Orange Babies Cycling Team0:02:37
23Joeri Adams (Bel) Telenet - Fidea0:02:53
24Kevin Cant (Bel)0:03:17
25Dave De Cleyn (Bel)
26Diether Sweeck (Bel) Landbouwkrediet-KDL0:03:48
27Sean De Bie (Bel)0:03:53
28Martin Zlamalik (Cze) Landbouwkrediet-KDL
29Jens Vandekinderen (Bel) Telenet - Fidea0:04:04
30Joeri Hofman (Bel) Landbouwkrediet-KDL
31Stijn Huys (Bel) Orange Babies Cycling Team0:05:12
32Tom Van Den Bosch (Bel) Hargroves Cycles-Specialized0:05:24
33Dries Pauwels (Bel) Melbotech Prorace CT0:05:43
34Niels Koyen (Bel)
35Ingmar Uytdewilligen (Bel)0:07:01
36 (-1 laps)Jelle Wallays (Bel)
37 (-2 laps)Lewis Rattray (Aus) (Aus)
38 (-4 laps)Janos Panyi (Hun)
39 (-7 laps)Konstantinos Xirogiannis (Gre)
DNFMarcel Meisen (Ger) BKCP - Powerplus
DNFJonathan Page (USA)
DNFKristof Cop (Bel)
DNFHugo Ferreira (Por)
DNFJimmy Tielens (Bel)
DNFHendrik Sweeck (Bel) Landbouwkrediet-KDL
DNFTijmen Eising (Ned) Sunweb-Revor

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews