Skip to main content

Kulhavy wins gold for Czech Republic in Haifa

After watching the women tear around the track, it was time for the big names in the men's race to be cheered by the large crowd. Jaroslav Kulhavy (Czech) took the win with a 40-second margin ahead of Lukas Flückiger (Switzerland) and 1:37 on Marco Aurelio Fontana (Italy).

Kulhavy left no doubt about who deserved the championship. His win was convincing.

The Flückiger brothers continued their brilliant weekend and this time, it was older brother Lukas who showed what he had. Always in the mix during the race, he finished second.

Also at the front of the race, Italians were ecstatic to see Fontana show his technical aptitude that has helped him shine this season. He was taking lines that the others were not even aware of and led for most of the race before tiring near the end and fading to a third place.

Fontana was clearly happy with this result as he came shouting in typical Italian fashion across the line with flag in hand.

Two other top 10 riders that made late race charges were Liam Killeen (Great Britain) and Jose Antonio Hermida (Spain). Hermida had a slow start after he went the long way around a roundabout on the opening loop while many others cut the short way, but the tenacious Spaniard hung in there and worked his way back to fifth from the rear of the peloton.

Killeen also suffered some technical problems, but managed to work his way up much to the delight of his team members.

Local favorite Rotem Ishai (Israel) was plagued throughout the whole race with technical problems, and he finally pulled out with two laps to go.

Favorite Ralph Naef (Switzerland) was stung by a hornet the evening before the race. He still managed a start and put in a brave effort to finish 10th.

Full Results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Jaroslav Kulhavy (Czech Republic)2:07:40
2Lukas Flückiger (Switzerland)0:00:40
3Marco Aurelio Fontana (Italy)0:01:37
4Christoph Sauser (Switzerland)0:02:12
5Jose Antonio Hermida Ramos (Spain)0:02:23
6Christoph Soukup (Austria)0:03:10
7Liam Killeen (Great Britain)0:03:54
8Inaki Lejarreta Errasti (Spain)0:04:24
9Martin Gujan (Switzerland)0:04:28
10Ralph Naef (Switzerland)0:04:29
11Rudi Van Houts (Netherlands)0:04:33
12Jelmer Pietersma (Netherlands)0:05:27
13Gutierrez Sergio Mantecon (Spain)0:05:41
14Fabian Giger (Switzerland)0:05:51
15Karl Markt (Austria)0:06:29
16Jan Skarnitzl (Czech Republic)0:07:05
17Gutierrez Ivan Alvarez (Spain)0:07:21
18Milan Spesny (Czech Republic)0:08:04
19Andrea Tiberi (Italy)0:08:34
20Tony Longo (Italy)0:08:50
21Hannes Metzler (Austria)0:09:25
22Umberto Corti (Italy)0:10:40
23Nicola Rohrbach (Switzerland)0:10:57
24Carlos Coloma Nicolas (Spain)0:11:30
25Klaus Nielsen (Denmark)0:12:04
26Matous Ulman (Czech Republic)0:12:33
27Michal Lami (Slovakia)0:13:20
28Bas Peters (Netherlands)0:14:03
29Giuseppe Lamastra (Italy)0:14:17
30Martino Fruet (Italy)0:15:17
31Ruben Ruzafa Cueto (Spain)0:16:52
-1lapBjorn Brems (Belgium)
-1lapMaxim Gogolev (Russian Federation)
-1lapPeriklis Ilias (Greece)
-1lapDavid Rosa (Portugal)
-1lapEmil Lindgren (Sweden)
-1lapAlexey Medvedev (Russian Federation)
-2lapsTim Wynants (Belgium)
-2lapsRobert Mennen (Germany)
-2lapsSergii Rysenko (Ukraine)
-2lapsRotem Ishai (Israel)
-2lapsMarios Athanasiadis (Cyprus)
-2lapsEvgeny Nikolaev (Russian Federation)
-3lapsDror Pekatch (Israel)
-3lapsEvgeny Pechenin (Russian Federation)
-6lapsJohnny Cattaneo (Italy)
-6lapsMoritz Milatz (Germany)


Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

after your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews