Vos wins in Essen on return to cyclo-cross

Marianne Vos (Netherlands) at UCI Cyclo-cross World Championships in Bogense
(Image credit: Getty Images)

Marianne Vos (CCC Liv) won her first cyclo-cross race of the 2020 winter season in Essen, going away on the final lap to win alone. 

Vos watched and waited as her rivals lead the race on the muddy but largely flat course in northern Belgium. Yara Kastelijn was expected to fight for victory but was forced out of the race due to a blocked chain mid-race. 

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Full Results
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Marianne Vos (Ned) CCC-Liv 0:39:45
2Perrine Clauzel (Fra) A.S. Bike Crossteam 0:00:06
3Inge van der Heijden (Ned) 777 0:00:09
4Kata Blanka Vas (Hun) Doltcini-Van Eyck Sport 0:00:17
5Anna Kay (GBr) Starcasino CX Team 0:00:21
6Marion Norbert Riberolle (Fra) Starcasino CX Team 0:00:53
7Alice Maria Arzuffi (Ita) 777 0:00:56
8Aniek van Alphen (Ned) Credishop-Fristads 0:01:02
9Laura Verdonschot (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen-Bingoal 0:01:08
10Alicia Franck (Bel) Proximus-Alphamotorhomes-Doltcini CT 0:01:12
11Clara Honsinger (USA) Cannondale-Cyclocrossworld 0:01:20
12Maghalie Rochette (Can) 0:01:24
13Rebecca Fahringer (USA) 0:01:53
14Karen Verhestraeten (Bel) Iko-Crelan 0:02:09
15Zina Barhoumi (Swi) 0:02:13
16Silvia Persico (Ita) Valcar-Travel & Service
17Kaitlin Keough (USA) 0:02:14
18Anne Tauber (Ned) 0:02:20
19Pauliena Rooijakkers (Ned) CCC-Liv 0:02:32
20Joyce Vanderbeken (Bel) 0:02:35
21Anaïs Morichon (Fra) Team Arkea-Samsic 0:02:36
22Ruby West (Can) Proximus-Alphamotorhomes-Doltcini CT 0:02:55
23Lara Krähemann (Swi) Cogeas Mettler Look Pro 0:03:20
24Madigan Munro (USA) Trek Factory Racing CX
25Loes Sels (Bel) Iko-Crelan 0:03:32
26Camille Devigne (Fra) Ardennes Cross Team 0:03:54
27Sidney Mcgill (Can) 0:04:17
28Kiona Crabbé (Bel) Cyclismo Mundial 0:04:21
29Julie Brouwers (Bel) 0:04:28
30Sara Cueto Vega (Spa) 0:04:29
31Amelie Laquebe (Fra) 0:04:36
32Marine Strappazzon (Fra) Team Podiocom CC 0:04:56
33Jinse Peeters (Bel) Cyclismo Mundial 0:05:09
34Gwennig le Dantec (Fra) 0:05:15
35Fauve Bastiaenssen (Bel)
36Siobhan Kelly (Can) 0:05:31
37Shana Maes (Bel) Tormans Cyclo Cross Team 0:05:47
38Jana Dobbelaere (Bel) 0:05:58
39Tessa Zwaenepoel (Bel) Proximus-Alphamotorhomes-Doltcini CT 0:06:11
40Lise van Wunsel (Bel) 0:06:12
41Laura Greenhalgh (GBr) 0:06:55
42Meg de Bruyne (Bel) 0:07:29
43Maïté Barthels (Lux) 0:07:45
44Corey Coogan Cisek (USA) 0:08:25
45Tine Rombouts (Bel)
46Yenthe van Lommel (Bel)
47Michelle Geoghegan (Irl)
48Lina Beirinckx (Bel)

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Cyclingnews is the world's leader in English-language coverage of professional cycling. Started in 1995 by University of Newcastle professor Bill Mitchell, the site was one of the first to provide breaking news and results over the internet in English. The site was purchased by Knapp Communications in 1999, and owner Gerard Knapp built it into the definitive voice of pro cycling. Since then, major publishing house Future PLC has owned the site and expanded it to include top features, news, results, photos and tech reporting. The site continues to be the most comprehensive and authoritative English voice in professional cycling.

Latest on Cyclingnews