Van der Poel wins in Bredene

Mathieu van der Poel at Telenet Superprestige Diegem 2019
(Image credit: Getty Images Sport)

Mathieu van der Poel was once again top of the podium, this time in Cyclocross Bredene, a C2 race that was missing a number of top riders.

With Wout Van Aert waiting until January 4 in Gullegem for his next race, Toon Aerts taking a break to let his four fractured ribs heal, and Eli Iserbyt, Laurens Sweeck and Michael Vanthourenhout resting up, Van der Poel made easy work of decimating the field.

Despite a crash, the Corendon-Circus rider pulled away from Tim Merlier to win his 16th race of the season.


Swipe to scroll horizontally
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Mathieu Van Der Poel (Ned) Corendon - Circus 0:59:37
2Tim Merlier (Bel) Creafin – Fristads 0:01:08
3Gianni Vermeersch (Bel) Creafin – Fristads 0:01:26
4Diether Sweeck (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen – Bingoal 0:01:47
5Thomas Pidcock (GBr) Trinity Racing 0:02:01
6Jim Aernouts (Bel) Telenet Baloise Lions 0:02:35
7Thijs Aerts (Bel) Telenet Baloise Lions 0:03:37
8Joran Wyseure (Bel) 0:03:42
9Zdeněk Štybar (Cze) 0:03:58
10Sean De Bie (Bel) 0:04:17
11Kerry Werner (USA) 0:04:42
12Dieter Vanthourenhout (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen – Bingoal 0:05:24
13Braam Merlier (Bel) Creafin – Fristads 0:05:40
14Kenneth Van Compernolle (Bel) 0:05:46
15Andreas Goeman (Bel) Telenet Baloise Lions 0:05:56
16Mario Junquera San Millan (Spa) 0:06:33
17Michael Van Den Ham (Can) Easton - Giant P / B Transitions Lifecare 0:06:52
18Cameron Mason (GBr) Trinity Racing 0:07:24
19Thomas Joseph (Bel)
20Felipe Orts Lloret (Spa) Cyclo - Cross Team Teika - Gsport - Bh
21Berne Vankeirsbilck (Bel)
22Grégory Careme (Bel)
23Cyprien Gilles (Fra)
24Wannes Vanden Bussche (Bel)
25Hendrik Sweeck (Bel)
26Xandro Meurisse (Bel)
27Maarten Van Staeyen (Bel)
28Nicolas De Smet (Bel)
29Jenson Young (GBr)
30Andrew Juiliano (USA)
31Floris Van Tricht (Bel)
32Cristian Cominelli (Ita) Cycling Cafe' Racing Team
33Toby Barnes (GBr)
34Mathieu Willemyns (Bel)
35Steven James (GBr)
36Raphaël Kockelmann (Lux)
37Jari Merveillie (Bel)
38Albert Poblet Dot (Spa)
39Henrik Lunder Aalrust (Nor)
40Axel Laurance (Fra)
41Clément Guilbert (Fra)
42Michael Butler (GBr)
43James Madgwick (GBr)
44Eric Meyers (Lux)
45Ryan Middlemiss (GBr)
46Clarke James (GBr)
47Finn Mansfield (GBr)
48Vincent Oger (Bel)
49Ren Tsumita (Jpn)
50Harry Mcgarvie (GBr)
51Loris Tursi (Ita)
52Ben Bishop (GBr)
53Philippe Petithory (Fra)
54Kevin Dalla Pieta' (Ita)
DNFAndrew Giniat (USA)
DNFGonzalo Inguanzo Macho (Spa) Cyclo - Cross Team Teika - Gsport - Bh
DNFThibaut De Smet (Bel) Tarteletto - Isorex
DNFCai Davies (GBr)
DNSTyla Loftus (GBr)

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1