Skip to main content

Huff holds long sprint to claim second Chicago Crit

Image 1 of 3

Joelle Numainville relaxes for a portrait in front of the Buckingham Fountain in the City of Chicago.

Joelle Numainville relaxes for a portrait in front of the Buckingham Fountain in the City of Chicago. (Image credit: Paul Forsythe)
Image 2 of 3

Joelle Numainville drills it to the finish at the Chicago Criterium

Joelle Numainville drills it to the finish at the Chicago Criterium (Image credit: Paul Forsythe)
Image 3 of 3

While on the podium Joelle Numainville jolts the crowd with a spray of champagne at the Chicago Criterium.

While on the podium Joelle Numainville jolts the crowd with a spray of champagne at the Chicago Criterium. (Image credit: Paul Forsythe)

Jelly Belly's Brad Huff showed his criterium legs have arrived just in time for the peak of the season. He was up against teams with plenty of lead-out strength, including the Kelly Benefit Strategies squad. The green team took control of the pack with six laps to go hoping to set up its ace youngsters Jake Keough or Canada's David Veilleux, but Huff took a risk that paid off.

Coming into the second turn with nearly one kilometre still to go, Huff leapt out of the pack and was able to hold his power all the way to the line to finish just ahead of Hilton Clarke (Fuji-Servetto) and Karl Menzies (OUCH Pro Cycling).

Astana's Chris Horner made his return to racing after his non-selection for the Tour de France, but in the wake of the bunch sprint finished solidly mid-pack.

Numainville nabs women's win

Joelle Numainville won the women's criterium with a powerful kick to the line to best seasoned champion Laura Van Gilder (Mellow Mushroom) and Sarah Caravella (Alan Factory Team). The Kenda sprinter just returned from winning the women's road race at the Pan American Championships in Mexico.

1Brad Huff (Jelly Belly)1:42:39
2Hilton Clarke (Fuji-Servetto)
3Karl Menzies (Ouch Pro Cycling)
4Michael Friedman (Garmin-Slipstream)
5Chad Burdzilauskas (Kenda Pro Cycling)
6Jake Keough (Kelly Benefit Strategies)
7Alex Candelario (Kelly Benefit Strategies)
8Emile Abraham (Latino cycling team)
9Eric Bourlebar (Team Mountain Khakis)
10David Veilleux (Kelly Benefit Strategies)
11Tyler Wren (Colavita/Sutter Home)
12Yosvany Falcon (Champion Porsche)
13Mark Hekman (Team Mountain Khakis)
14Steve Tilford (Tradewind Energy/The Trek Stor)
15Graham Howard (Bissell Pro Cycling Team)
16Nick Frey (Ciclismo Racing)
17Sheldon Deeny (Bissell Pro Cycling Team)
18Adam Myerson (Team Mountain Khakis)
19Hayden Godfrey
20Chris Horner (Astana)
21Sean Sullivan
22Heath Blackgrove (Team Hotel San Jose)
23Chad Hartley (Team Gear Grinder)
24Andy Crater (Wheel & Sprocket)
25Sergio Hernandez (Rock Racing)
26Paul Martin (Panther/RGF)
27Nick Bennette (Project Cycling/MetLife Cycling)
28Josh England
29Timothy Henry (DLP Racing)
30Jason Lowetz (Team Bearclaw)
31Dan Zmolik (Empire Cycling Team p/b North)
32Chad Cagle (Mercy Cycling)
33Ben Renkema (Kenda Pro Cycling)
34Kevin Attkisson (Texas Roadhouse Cycling Team)
35Stephan Kincaid (Empire Cycling Team p/b North)
36Victor Ayala (Kahala-LaGrange)
37David Gutterpla (Team Mountain Khakis)
38Brian Cornelius (Landis/TREK)
39Chris Winn (RMCEF/Westside)
40Chris Hall (Tradewind Energy/The Trek Stor)
41Adam Farabaugh (Empire Cycling Team p/b North)
42David Sachs (Vision Quest Coaching)
43Dan Lionberg (Team Rio Grande)
44Sean Metz (Acache)
45Dan Ajer
46Jorge Alvarado (Kahala-LaGrange)
47Tomasz Boba (WDT/ Allvoi)
48Jonathan Atkin (Team Latino)
49Randy Reichardt (Natural Grdlers/XP Co)
50Weston Luzaddor (Nuvo)
51Kevin Berger (Wheel & Sprocket)
52Nick Coil (Tradewind Energy/The Trek Stor)
53Joe Kukolla (Texas Roadhouse Cycling Team)
54Patrick Fasse (Bicycle Heaven Cycling Team)
55Ryan Fleming (Project Cycling/MetLife Cycling)
56Jim Flora
57Will Nowak
58Daniel Lawrence (Dogfish Racing)
59Erik Hamilton (Nuvo-Cultural Trail)
60John Rowley (Indiana Regional Medical Center)
61Vince Roberge (Panther/ RGF p/b Felt Bicycles)
62Delfine Parra (PYOC/ Higher Gear)
63Danny Kam (Team Bearclaw)
64Patrick Mcnally (Team MS Racing)
65Leo Frayre
66Bobby Lea (Ouch)
67Paul Harrison (Nature Valley/Penn Cycle)
68Peter Strittmatter
69John Dapkus (Bicycle Heaven Cycling Team)
70Ken Delo (Bicycle Heaven)
71Jacob Rytlewski (Kenda Pro Cycling)
72Alan Antonuk (Essex Brass)
73Thomas Doughty (Amgen/Giant Masters)
74Chris Wherry
75Frank Rowley (South Chicago Wheelmen)
76Dan Campbell (Panther / RGF pb Felt)
77Josh Carter (ABD Cycling Team)
78Daniel Workman (Ciclismo Racing)
79Diego Garavito (Latino cycling team)
80Aaron Hubbell (NUVO Cultural Trail)
81John Meyers (ABD Cycling Team)
82Bryce Mead (Team Redlands)
83Garrett White (Ten Speed Drive)
84Derek Laan (Panther/RGF pb Felt Bicycles)
85Daniel Ramsey (Team Mountain Khakis PB-EPN)
86Neil Shirley (Kelly Benefit Strategies)
87Bryan Fawley (Park Place Dealership)
88Ben Van Der Genugten (Kenda Pro Cycling)
89David Moyer (XXX Racing - AtheletiCo)
90Ronnie Strange (Team Hotel San Jose)
91Michael Macedon (Vision Quest Coaching)
92Andrew Kerr (Redline Racing)
93Andrew Lister (Dogfish Racing)
94Casey Saunders (Dogfish Racing)
95Eric Wiecek (Get a Grip)
96Michael Heagnui (Vision Quest Coaching)
97Gregory Christian (Panther/RGF pb Felt)
98Carlos Calcirrada (Latino Cycling team)
99Randy Warren (xXx Racing-AthletiCo)
100John Murphy (Ouch)
101Chris Zenthoefer (Tulsa Tough Racing)
102Christopher Richter (Heroes Foundation)
103Andrew Clark (Panther/ RGF)
104Mike Telleton (Team Bearclaw)
105Andy Moskal (Panther/RGF Solutions pb Felt B)
106Matt Welch (Burnham Racing)
107Andrew Daley (Burnham Racing)
108Derek Graham (Derek Graham)
109Jeremy Grimm (Panther/RGF Solutions pb Felt B)
110Brett Stewart (Alderfer Bergen)
111Pat Lemieux (Texas Roadhouse Cycling Team)
112Juan Pablo Dotti (Latino cycling team)
113Howard Smith
114Jason Allen
115Marco Aledia (Kenda Pro Cycling)
116Emilio Asconeguy (Latino cycling team)

Elite Women
1Numainville, Joelle (Team Kenda)0:50:10
2Laura Van Gilder (Mellow Mushroom)
3Sarah Caravella (ALAN)
4Mary-Ellen Ash (SugarCRM)
5Carrie Cash (Team Revolution)
6Kristen Meshberg (Team BH USA)
7Sheba Farrin (Hub Racing)
8Debbie Dust (PACT/Dishnetwork)
9Amy Maguire (Hub Racing)
10Karla Kingsley (Sugar CRM)
11Stephanie Breslin (Team Abundance)
12Megan Elliot
13Catherine Walberg (Team Kenda)
14Gina Voci (Juice Plus)
15Kate Ross (Lipsmacker)
16Kirsten Davis (BMW- Bianchi)
17Rachel Byus (Hotel San Jose)
18Annie Meyer (BHUSA)
19Heidi Sarna (XXX Racing- Athletico)
20Christi-An Hansley (Team MedPlan)
21Laura Melendez (West Priority Health)
22Kristin Roettger (Team Revolution)
23Inglis Gwen Erffmeyer (DFT p/b TREADS)
24Jessica Hill (MS Racing)
25Sarah Maguire (West Priority Health)
26Erin Hetzel (Alderter Berger)
27Ashley Sams (Team Kenda)
28Kristin Wentworth (Team Kenda)
29Francine Haas (Alberto's)
30Julie Kuliecza (ALAN)
31Bianca Bergman (SPBRC)
32Christy Keely (Team Kenda)
33Madeliene Puissant (BHUSA)
34Kate Mahoney (Cycle HDR)
35Jennifer Greenberg (Unattached)


Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

after your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews