Svein Tuft wins 10th Canadian time trial title

Canadian WorldTour star Svein Tuft (Orica-Scott) returned to Canada just to regain the time trial title he lost last year at the national championships, winning his tenth TT title and his 12th overall with two road race titles.

The course in the Gatineau Park outside Ottawa takes the riders through stunning forest, with the road climbing for the first half before competitors turn around for an equally long descent back to the finish line. Elite/Under-23 men did 36 kilometres.

The men's race began with wet roads but no rain, however, that changed to torrential rain and even some hail at one point. The rain backed off for a little while but then came back on the upper parts of the course while the finish area was starting to dry out.

Nigel Ellsay (Silber Pro Cycling), the ninth rider to start, took the lead with a time of 48:18, only three seconds off the winning time last year by his team mate Ryan Roth in dry conditions. Ellsay's time held up as riders continued to finish and was starting to look unbeatable as the conditions worsened. Rob Britton (Rally Cycling) was closest at 17 seconds with three riders left to finish, but that next rider was Tuft, who has dominated the time trial like no other rider in Canadian history. Tuft swept across the finish line five seconds faster than Ellsay to take the lead. Defending champion Ryan Roth, the final finisher, could only manage 12th. Adam Roberge (Silber Pro Cycling) finished fourth overall to take the Under-23 title.

"On a course like this, it's more of a grind," said Tuft, "so rain or shine it doesn't make a difference; it's just a tough course. For sure, I had motivation [to get back the title]. The level has come up so far in Canada. It was a personal ambition for me to keep my form after the Giro [d'Italia] and have a good ride here. I'm happy I came and made the effort."

Full Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Svein Tuft (Can) Orica-Scott0:48:13
2Nigel Ellsay (Can) Silber Pro Cycling0:00:05
3Robert Britton (Can) Rally Cycling0:00:22
4Adam Roberge (Can) Silber Pro Cycling0:00:36
5Nickolas Zukowsky (Can) Silber Pro Cycling0:01:11
6Matteo Dal-Cin (Can) Rally Cycling0:01:22
7Alexander Cowan (Can) Silber Pro Cycling0:01:23
8Alexander Cataford (Can) UnitedHealthcare Professional Cycling Team0:01:34
9Emile Jean (Can) Silber Pro Cycling0:01:37
10Travis Samuel (Can) H&R Block Pro Cycling Team0:02:00
11James Gene Piccoli (Can)0:02:21
12Ryan Roth (Can) Silber Pro Cycling0:02:30
13Guillaume Boivin (Can) Israel Cycling Academy0:02:32
14Adam Jamieson (Can) An Post Chain Reaction0:02:34
15Jordan Cheyne (Can) Jelly Belly p/b Maxxis0:02:43
16Derek Gee (Can)0:02:56
17Olivier Brisebois (Can) Garneau Québecor0:03:07
18Jean-François Soucy (Can) Garneau Québecor0:03:36
19Laurent Gervais (Can) Aevolo0:03:41
20Jordann Jones (Can)
21Adam De Vos (Can) Rally Cycling0:03:47
22Christopher Prendergast (Can) H&R Block Pro Cycling Team0:03:51
23Kyle Buckosky (Can)0:04:00
24Matthew Staples (Can) H&R Block Pro Cycling Team0:04:07
25Marc-Antoine Nadon (Can) H&R Block Pro Cycling Team0:04:10
26Julien Gagne (Can) Silber Pro Cycling0:04:36
27Alexander Amiri (Can)0:04:37
28Alexis Cartier (Can) H&R Block Pro Cycling Team0:04:53
29Max Rubarth (Can)0:04:57
30Bruno Langlois (Can) Garneau Québecor0:05:13
31Timothy Austen (Can)0:05:25
32Mitch Ketler (Can)0:05:28
33Edward Walsh (Can)0:05:31
34Marc-Antoine Soucy (Can) Garneau Québecor0:05:39
35Christian Gomes (Can)0:05:47
36Ryan Primeau (Can)0:05:50
37Jean-Simon D'Anjou (Can) Garneau Québecor0:05:58
38Thi Kirouac-Marcassa (Can)0:06:02
39Jean-Michel Lachance (Can)0:06:03
40Connor Toppings (Can)0:06:11
41Robert Starrs (Can)0:06:38
42Jean-Denis Thibault (Can) H&R Block Pro Cycling Team0:07:09
43Trevor O'Donnell (Can)0:07:19
44James Grant (Can)0:07:21
45Felix Coté Bouvette (Can) Garneau Québecor0:07:22
46Pierre-Olivier Santerre (Can)0:07:47
47Elliot Doyle (Can) Garneau Québecor0:08:02
48Simon-Pierre Gauthier (Can) Garneau Québecor0:08:34
49David Havill (Can)0:08:36
50Matthew Sherar (Can)0:08:45
51William Goodfellow (Can)0:08:55
52Joshua Kropf (Can)0:08:56
53Nicolas Courtemanche (Can)0:10:11
54Greg Boileau (Can)0:10:17
55Philip Guimond (Can)0:10:47
56Matthew Kamermans (Can)0:12:02
57Navarro Fong Roy (Can)0:12:21
58Benjamin Hewins (Can)0:17:45

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1