Milatz wins cross country in Saalhausen

Moritz Milatz (BMC Mountain Bike Team) and Annika Langvad (Easton Rockets) took the second round of German MTB-Bundesliga in Saalhausen. Milatz defeated Manuel Fumic (Cannondale) and Thomas Litscher (Felt-Ötztal-X Bionic) while Langvad rode a long solo to her win ahead of world champion Maja Wloszczowska and surprising Mona Eiberweiser.

At first, Milatz was together with Fumic in the front, but Fumic couldn't hold the speed of the German national champion. So he was dropped and reabsorbed by the chasing group including Emil Lindgren (Rabobank-Giant), Fabian Giger (Rabobank-Giant) and Litscher.

Litscher broke away from that group on lap four of eight but couldn't close the gap to Milatz. Instead, Fumic put the hammer down and left behind teammates Giger and Lindgren, caught Litscher and went on to take second place.

"I'm happy about the win after all the bad luck in the previous weeks," said Milatz. "I didn't want to make it a solo so early, but suddenly Manuel was riding slower. Today everything was fine."

"Moritz's speed was too high for me," said Fumic before saying he was satisfied with the race after a week of hard training.

Litscher found the race "a bit too much after my breakaway from the chasing group, but at least I'm okay with the result."

Lindgren was fourth and Giger fifth.

Women's race

In the women's race, Langvad immediately took the lead. After the first lap, she had a gap fo 40 seconds ahead of Wloszczowska, Eiberweiser, Alexandra Engen (Rothaus Poison-Bikes) and Elisabeth Sveum (Merida Smart Safety).

Wloszczwoska tried hard in the following four laps to catch the Danish woman, but she had only gained 20 seconds by the time they headed into the final lap.

Then Langvad accelerated again to take the win with 41 seconds ahead of Wloszczowska. Behind, Eiberweiser celebrated a comeback. She was able to overtake U23 Pietermaritzburg World Cup winner Sveum and got the third spot on the podium. Hanna Klein completed the podium in fifth.

"It was my strategy today to escape early. So I can ride my own pace. It was one of my goals to win one Bundesliga race this year and I made it," said Langvad.

Wloszczowska said she had a bad week before the race. "I was afraid of this race. but now I'm satisfied with the second place. Annika was very strong."

Eiberweiser showed herself happy with her comeback after suffering from backaches for a long time. "I still have problems, but today the pain was not in the legs. I'm very happy to have a race like this. It's been a long time."

Full Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Elite men
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Moritz Milatz (Ger) BMC Mountain Bike Racing Team1:34:55
2Manuel Fumic (Ger) Cannondale Factroy Racing0:00:59
3Thomas Litscher (Swi) Felt-Ötztal-X Bionic0:01:09
4Emil Lindgren (Swe) Rabobank Giant Offroad Team0:02:06
5Fabian Giger (Swi) Rabobank Giant Offroad Team0:02:41
6Balz Weber (Swi) BMC Mountain Bike Racing Team0:04:14
7Jullien Taramarcaz (Swi) BMC Mountain Bike Racing Team0:04:33
8Kevin van Hoovels (Bel) Versluys-Evenza0:04:54
9Klaus Nielsen (Den) Giant Denmark0:06:55
10Thorsten Marx (Ger) BlackTusk Racing0:07:17
11Lukas Kaufmann (Swi) Easton Rockets0:07:54
12Benjamin Justesen (Den)0:08:53
13Ola Kjoeren (Nor) Fokus Danica0:09:04
14Heiko Gutmann (Ger) Rothaus Poison-Bikes0:09:56
15Christopher Maletz (Ger) Easton Rockets0:10:47
16Andi Weinhold (Ger) Easton Rockets0:12:33
-2lapsNikolaev Evgeny (Rus) Team Primorskiy DistrictRow 16 - Cell 2
-2lapsBjorn Brems (Bel) Versluys-EvenzaRow 17 - Cell 2
-2lapsCasper Saltoft (Den)Row 18 - Cell 2
-2lapsMichael Hutter (Swi) Pink Gili Swiss bikingteamRow 19 - Cell 2
-3lapsSebastian Mordmüller (Ger) Focus Bad Salzdetfurth racingRow 20 - Cell 2
-3lapsRumen Voigt (Ger) Project XRow 21 - Cell 2
-3lapsAlexander Speisekorn (Ger) Best-Bike-Parts/ProgressRow 22 - Cell 2
-3lapsHåkan Löfström (Swe) IK Jarl RättvikRow 23 - Cell 2
-3lapsMatthias Pfrommer (Ger) Team HAICO RacingRow 24 - Cell 2
-4lapsCarlo Maschek (Ger) MBC HannoverRow 25 - Cell 2
-4lapsOliver Vonhausen (Ger) ghost racing teamRow 26 - Cell 2
-4lapsJohnni Nielsen (Den)Row 27 - Cell 2
-4lapsStefan Schairer (Ger) Gonso-Rawoflex-Team RSG ZollerRow 28 - Cell 2
-4lapsArtur Miazga (Pol) Lechia PiechowiceRow 29 - Cell 2
-4lapsMarcel Reiser (Ger) BlackTusk RacingRow 30 - Cell 2
-4lapsSeverin Schweisguth (Ger) Ghost Racing TeamRow 31 - Cell 2
-4lapsChristopher Kamphaus (Ger) RC Victoria NeheimRow 32 - Cell 2
-4lapsMarkus Lang (Ger) Team Guttenberger & PartnerRow 33 - Cell 2
-4lapsBenjamin Oesterle (Ger) mhw-cube-racing-teamRow 34 - Cell 2
-5lapsKonstantin Jung (Ger) FxsportsRow 35 - Cell 2
-5lapsKai Kautz (Ger) MTB-TeckRow 36 - Cell 2
-5lapsMarkus Möller (Ger) ATV HalternRow 37 - Cell 2
-5lapsTobias Trautmann (Ger) White Rock e.V.Row 38 - Cell 2
-5lapsPeter Hermann (Ger)Row 39 - Cell 2
-5lapsLukas Geisbüsch (Ger) RSC Mayen/Eifelpower RacingteaRow 40 - Cell 2
-5lapsJonas Struff (Ger) Scott Team WeinRow 41 - Cell 2
-6lapsHendrik Franke (Ger) RC Victoria NeheimRow 42 - Cell 2
-6lapsMartin Knape (Ger) Harz-Racing e.V.Row 43 - Cell 2
DNSRene Tann (Ger) BlackTusk RacingRow 44 - Cell 2
DNSFilip Eberl (Cze) Remerx Cycling Team KolinRow 45 - Cell 2
DNSMarco Schätzing (Ger) Team Firebike DrössigerRow 46 - Cell 2
DNSSebastian Szraucner (Ger) DJK RS GrafschaftRow 47 - Cell 2
DNSThomas Pfrommer (Ger) Team HAICO RacingRow 48 - Cell 2
DNSRobert Michaelis (Ger) Cannondale RSV SpringeRow 49 - Cell 2
DNSPascal Ketterer (Ger)Row 50 - Cell 2
DNSUlrich Theobald (Ger)Row 51 - Cell 2
DNSGábor Cser (Hun)Row 52 - Cell 2
DNFJose Hermida (Spa) Multivan Merida Biking TeamRow 53 - Cell 2
DNFJochen Käss (Ger) Multivan Merida Biking TeamRow 54 - Cell 2
DNFPatrik Gallati (Swi) BMC Mountainbike Racing TeamRow 55 - Cell 2
DNFWolfram Kurschat (Ger) Topeak Ergon Racing TeamRow 56 - Cell 2
DNFRobert Mennen (Ger) Topeak Ergon Racing TeamRow 57 - Cell 2
DNFFabian Brzezinski (Ger) fabosport-IGASRow 58 - Cell 2
DNFSascha Schwindling (Ger) Endorfin-SchuhMarkeRow 59 - Cell 2
DNFMario Waibel (Ger) Team Cmtb Eichenkreuz GoeppinRow 60 - Cell 2
DNFMarc Odrosek (Ger) Bike Team LimburgRow 61 - Cell 2
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Elite & Under 23 women
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Annika Langvad (Den) Easton Rockets1:24:21
2Maja Wloszczowska (Pol)0:00:42
3Mona Eiberweiser (Ger)0:03:01
4Elisabeth Sveum (Nor) Merida Smart Safety0:04:00
5Hanna Klein (Ger) Rothaus Poison-Bikes0:04:57
6Aleksandra Dawidowicz (Pol) CCC Polkowice0:05:58
7Silke Schmidt (Ger) Endorfin-Schuhmarke0:06:33
8Barbara Benko (Hun) Fucus-MIG Team0:07:23
9Alexandra Engen (Swe) Rothaus Poison-Bikes0:08:02
10Nadine Rieder (Ger) RSV Sonthofen0:10:06
11Regina Genser (Ger) BIKE Junior Team0:11:47
12Sabrina Schweizer (Ger) RU 1913 Wangen i.A.0:13:01
13Kajsa Snihs (Swe) IK Jarl Rättvik0:14:13
14Ekaterina Anoshina (Rus) Team Primorskiy District0:15:28
-1lapAnn-Kathrin Scheläschus (Ger) Team Koch EngineeringRow 14 - Cell 2
-1lapKim Gerlach (Ger) AMC Rodheim-BieberRow 15 - Cell 2
-1lapLisa Heckmann (Ger) Storck Bicycle Team TVRow 16 - Cell 2
-1lapBalci Asumann Burcu (Tur) Easton RocketsRow 17 - Cell 2
DNSRosara Joseph (NZl) Rabobank Giant Offroad TeamRow 18 - Cell 2
DNSTatjana Dold (Ger) Easton RocketsRow 19 - Cell 2
DNSSarah Bosch (Ger) Mountain HeroesRow 20 - Cell 2
DNSTheresa Wolfrum (Ger) BIKE Junior TeamRow 21 - Cell 2
Swipe to scroll horizontally