Cant wins in Lille

Sanne Cant (Enertherm-BKCP) wins the elite women's race at Belgian Cyclo-cross Nationals

Sanne Cant (Enertherm-BKCP) wins the elite women's race at Belgian Cyclo-cross Nationals (Image credit: Tim de Waele/

Belgian champion Sanne Cant (Enertherm-BKCP) excelled on the fast sand course and finished solo, winning the final round of the Bpost Bank Trophy in Lille on Saturday. Ellen Van Loy (Young Telenet-Fidea) was second at 33 seconds back. British champion Helen Wyman (Kona) finished third at short distance.

In the final round of the Bpost Bank Trophy, a second place from Van Loy within a minute from sand specialist Cant was more than enough to secure the overall victory in the series.

It’s the first major victory for 34-year-old Van Loy, a former volleyball player, who finally manages to turn her consistency into a victory. It was a proud Van Loy who crossed the finish line in Lille. “Absolutely. I worked really hard for it. I’m really glad and proud that I can round up the podium in first place,” Van Loy told Sporza.

Last year, Cant beat then World champion Marianne Vos in the sprint. This time around, there was no Vos and no World champion Pauline Ferrand-Prévot at the race.

The deficit of 1:54 on Van Loy turned out to be way too much for Sanne Cant to make up in the final race on a course which is only a few kilometres away from her home. One week after finishing as runner-up at the World Championships, Cant clinched her 19th victory of the season.

“I rode last weekend’s frustration out of myself today. I tried to go for the overall win but this course is superfast and then it’s very hard to create a big gap,” Cant told Sporza.

Van Loy had a good start in Lille and then found herself in the company of Cant and Wyman. The first chaser was Sanne van Paassen ahead of Loes Sels. During the second of five laps, Cant upped the pace in the sand, gunning for the bonus seconds at stake in the intermediate sprint. First Wyman got dropped. When Van Loy struggled to get through a sand chicane Cant was gone.

Making up nearly two minutes on Van Loy proved to be virtually impossible on Saturday afternoon. After three laps of racing, Cant was still no more than 15 seconds ahead of Van Loy. Not too far behind her Loes Sels overtook Van Paassen and bridged up with Wyman. Van Paassen rode at short distance back.

Another troubled passage of the sand chicane cost Van Loy some time and when hitting the final lap Cant was leading her by half a minute. Sels and Wyman were 10 more seconds behind, fighting for third place.

Cant made no mistakes in the final lap and won. Van Loy had to push on to hold off Wyman and Sels to secure second place. In the end, she was 33 seconds behind Cant, celebrating her overall victory when crossing the line. Wyman rode away from Sels in the final corners, taking third place. Sels was a disappointed fourth, well ahead of Van Paassen.

Full Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) Team
1Sanne Cant (Bel) Enertherm - BKCP
2Ellen Van Loy (Bel) VZW Young Telenet Fidea Cycling Team
3Helen Wyman (GBr) Konfa FFSA Factory Team
4Loes Sels (Bel) VZW Young Telenet Fidea Cycling Team
5Sanne Van Paassen (Ned) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team
6Laura Verdonschot (Bel) AA Drink-B.R.I.S. Cycling Team
7Sophie De Boer (Ned) Kalas-NNOF Cycling Team
8Femke Van Den Driessche (Bel) VZW Lotto-Ladiescycling
9Karen Verhestraeten (Bel) Kleur Op Maat cyclingteam
10Reza Hormes-Ravenstijn (Ned) Orange Babies Cycling Team
11Bianca Van Den Hoek (Ned)
12Aida Nuno Palacio (Spa)
13Jolien Verschueren (Bel) VZW Young Telenet Fidea Cycling Team
14Shana Maes (Bel) AA Drink-B.R.I.S. Cycling Team
15Lindy Van Anrooij (Ned)
16Esmee Oosterman (Ned) AA Drink-B.R.I.S. Cycling Team
17Pauline Delhaye (Fra)
18Christine Vardaros (USA)
19Joyce Vanderbeken (Bel) Wielerteam Decock-Woningbouw Vandekerckhove
20Lotte Eikelenboom (Ned) AA Drink-B.R.I.S. Cycling Team
21Maaike De Heij (Ned) WV De Valleirenners
22Nele Van Maldeghem (Bel) FUJI Medista MTB Team - Neeroeteren
23Suzie Godart (Ned)
24Lisa Jacobs (Aus)
25Marlies Beckers (Bel) B-Cycle Team
26Hannah Payton (GBr)
27Axelle Bellaert (Bel) AA Drink-B.R.I.S. Cycling Team
28Anja Geldhof (Bel)
29Meg De Bruyne (Bel) VD Hauwe CT - Gentse VS
30Laura Krans (Ned)
31Valerie Boonen (Bel) De Kastelse Durvers V.Z.W.
32Margriet Helena Kloppenburg (Nor)
33Brenda Kaczmarczyk (Bel) Heylen Meubelcentrale Zlwc St.Truiden
34Mieke Deroo (Bel) Beernem Cycling Team
35Sara Fletcher (USA)
36Tine Verdeyen (Bel) Cycling Team Zemst VZW
37Kristien Nelen (Bel)
38Lena Bischoff-Stein (Ger)
39Cindy Diericx (Bel) Coolens Cycling Team
40Sandie Verriest (Bel) Asfra Racing Team

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews