Nash takes victory in Baal

Katerina Nash (Luna Pro) powers through the mud

Katerina Nash (Luna Pro) powers through the mud (Image credit: Tim de Waele/

Katerina Nash (Luna Pro Racing) continued her winning ways of 2014 into 2015. Two days after beating world champion Marianne Vos (Rabo Liv) in Loenhout she won again on Belgian soil on New Year’s day. It’s her twelfth victory of the season.

During the seventh and penultimate round of the Bpost Bank Trophy-series in sunny Baal the 37 year-old US-resident beat Belgian riders Sanne Cant (Enertherm-BKCP) and Ellen Van Loy (Young Telenet-Fidea) - Vos didn’t race in Baal. Overnight series leader Sophie de Boer (Kalas-NNOF) abandoned, passing on the BPost-series lead to Van Loy. She now holds a 1:54 lead over Cant.

A group of four formed the first lead group on a course that featured a lot of sticky mud. The group consisted of fast starter Van Loy joined by Nash, Cant and Harris. Wyman and Havlikova were the first chasers. Series leader Sophie de Boer was never in the mix on Thursday and she pulled out of the race after the opening lap, indicating she was in no condition to race. Her departure adds five minutes to her scoreboard which meant that with three laps to go Van Loy was the new virtual leader of the BPost-series.

Harris was unable to keep up with the pace set by Nash. Little later Van Loy and Cant were dropped too. The Czech champion created a 15 seconds gap on the two Belgians. Behind them Harris was leading Wyman and Jolien Verschueren. Nash easily held on to her lead, grabbing yet another win on European soil. Cant dropped Van Loy and finished as runner-up, half a minute behind Nash. Van Loy kept pushing until the finish line, working for her series lead, finishing at 43 seconds. Harris, Verschueren and Wyman were the next to cross the line.

Full results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Katerina Nash (Cze) Luna Pro Team0:39:54
2Sanne Cant (Bel) Enertherm - BKCP0:00:32
3Ellen Van Loy (Bel) VZW Young Telenet Fidea Cycling Team0:00:45
4Nikki Harris (GBr) VZW Young Telenet Fidea Cycling Team0:01:50
5Jolien Verschueren (Bel) Wielerteam Decock-Woningbouw Vandekerckhove0:02:00
6Helen Wyman (GBr) Kona FSA Factory Team0:02:20
7Pavla Havlikova (Cze) VZW Young Telenet Fidea Cycling Team0:02:49
8Loes Sels (Bel) VZW Young Telenet Fidea Cycling Team0:03:30
9Erica Zaveta (USA) AA Drink-B.R.I.S. Cycling Team0:04:38
10Asa Maria Erlandsson (Swe)0:04:58
11Elle Anderson (USA) Kalas-NNOF Cycling Team0:05:15
12Githa Michiels (Bel)0:05:26
13Cindy Bauwens (Bel)0:07:25
14Christine Vardaros (USA)0:07:33
15Pauline Delhaye (Fra)0:07:45
16Mercedes Pacios Pujado (Spa)Row 15 - Cell 2
17Shana Maes (Bel)0:09:04
18Corey Coogan Cisek (USA)0:09:35
19Axelle Bellaert (Bel)Row 18 - Cell 2
20Jessika Timmermans (Bel)Row 19 - Cell 2
21Chris Van Dorsselaere (Bel)Row 20 - Cell 2
22Cindy Diericx (Bel)Row 21 - Cell 2
Swipe to scroll horizontally
bpost bank Trofee classification
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Ellen Van Loy (Bel) VZW Young Telenet Fidea Cycling Team5:08:23
2Sanne Cant (Bel) Enertherm - BKCP0:01:54
3Sophie De Boer (Ned) Kalas-NNOF Cycling Team0:03:29
4Helen Wyman (GBr) Kona FSA Factory Team0:06:54
5Jolien Verschueren (Bel) Wielerteam Decock-Woningbouw Vandekerckhove0:06:58
6Pavla Havlikova (Cze) VZW Young Telenet Fidea Cycling Team0:08:53
7Nikki Harris (GBr) VZW Young Telenet Fidea Cycling Team0:10:18
8Loes Sels (Bel) VZW Young Telenet Fidea Cycling Team0:14:44
9Githa Michiels (Bel)0:17:30
10Elle Anderson (USA) Kalas-NNOF Cycling Team0:19:19
11Katerina Nash (Cze) Luna Pro Team0:20:02
12Bianca Van Den Hoek (Ned)0:25:30
13Maud Kaptheijns (Ned)0:25:48
14Kaitlin Antonneau (USA) Cannondale Cyclocrossworld0:25:52
15Pauline Ferrand Prevot (Fra) Rabobank Women Team0:26:05
16Marianne Vos (Ned) Rabobank Women Team0:26:10
17Sanne Van Paassen (Ned) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team0:27:00
18Femke Van Den Driessche (Bel)0:27:58
19Lizzy Witlox (Ned)0:28:08
20Karen Verhestraeten (Bel) Kleur Op Maat cyclingteam0:28:15
21Aida Nuno Palacio (Spa)0:28:28
22Lucinda Brand (Ned)0:28:32
23Meredith Miller (USA) Noosa Pro CX0:28:53
24Laura Verdonschot (Bel) AA Drink-B.R.I.S. Cycling Team0:29:00
25Esmee Oosterman (Ned)0:29:13
26Arley Kemmerer (USA) PB2 Pro Cycling0:29:28
27Anna Van Der Breggen (Ned)0:29:34
28Elena Valentini (Ita)0:29:40
29Nikola Noskova (Cze)0:29:43
30Lucie Chainel-Lefevre (Fra)0:30:18
31Crystal Anthony (USA) Optum Pro CX p/b KBS0:30:28
32Ceylin Del Carmen Alvarado (Ned)Row 31 - Cell 2
33Katrien Thijs (Bel) Kleur Op Maat cyclingteam0:30:29
34Christine Majerus (Lux)0:30:31
35Cindy Bauwens (Bel)0:30:34
36Erica Zaveta (USA) AA Drink-B.R.I.S. Cycling Team0:30:40
37Joyce Vanderbeken (Bel)0:30:41
38Asa Maria Erlandsson (Swe)0:30:45
39Shana Maes (Bel)0:30:56
40Christine Vardaros (USA)0:31:02
41Pauline Delhaye (Fra)Row 40 - Cell 2
42Mercedes Pacios Pujado (Spa)Row 41 - Cell 2
43Corey Coogan (USA)Row 42 - Cell 2
44Axelle Bellaert (Bel) AA Drink-B.R.I.S. Cycling TeamRow 43 - Cell 2
45Jessika Timmermans (Bel) Hageland Cycling TeamRow 44 - Cell 2
46Chris Van Dorsselaere (Bel) Rudyco-Janatrans Cycling TeamRow 45 - Cell 2
47Cindy Diericx (Bel) Coolens Cycling TeamRow 46 - Cell 2
48Laure Bouteloup (Fra)Row 47 - Cell 2
49Gabriella Durrin (GBr) Neon Velo Cycling TeamRow 48 - Cell 2
50Diane Lee (GBr)Row 49 - Cell 2
51Sarah Lomas (GBr)Row 50 - Cell 2
52Stephanie De Croock (Bel)Row 51 - Cell 2
53Lindy Van Anrooij (Ned)Row 52 - Cell 2
54Kim Van De Steene Afdeling Oost-Vlaanderen WBV - VZWRow 53 - Cell 2
55Francine Meehan (Irl)Row 54 - Cell 2
56Gertie Willems (Bel) Kleur Op Maat cyclingteamRow 55 - Cell 2
57Joyce Heyns (Bel) De Kastelse Durvers V.Z.W.Row 56 - Cell 2
58Ksenia Lepikhina (USA)Row 57 - Cell 2
59Mirjam Gysling (Swi)Row 58 - Cell 2
60Anja Geldhof (Bel)Row 59 - Cell 2
61Maaike De Heij (Ned) WV De ValleirennersRow 60 - Cell 2
62Tine Verdeyen (Bel) Cycling Team Zemst VZWRow 61 - Cell 2
63Marijke De Pauw (Bel) WK Noord West BrabantRow 62 - Cell 2
64Iris Van Der Pol (Ned)Row 63 - Cell 2
65Marlies Beckers (Bel) B-Cycle TeamRow 64 - Cell 2
66Lotte Eikelenboom (Ned)Row 65 - Cell 2
67Annelies Van Doorslaer (Bel)Row 66 - Cell 2
68Laura Krans (Ned)Row 67 - Cell 2
69Anja Nobus (Bel) Feestcomiteit DrogenboomRow 68 - Cell 2
70Margriet Helena Kloppenburg (Den)Row 69 - Cell 2
71Chantal Verstraten (Ned)Row 70 - Cell 2
72Enara Lopez Gallastegi (Spa)Row 71 - Cell 2
73Meg De Bruyne (Bel) VD Hauwe CT - Gentse VSRow 72 - Cell 2
74Karlijn Swinkels (Ned)Row 73 - Cell 2
75Suzanne Verhoeven (Bel)Row 74 - Cell 2
76Nele Van Maldeghem (Bel) FUJI Medista MTB Team - NeeroeterenRow 75 - Cell 2
77Suzie Godart (Lux)Row 76 - Cell 2
78Brenda Kaczmarczyk (Bel) Heylen Meubelcentrale Zlwc St.TruidenRow 77 - Cell 2
79Jana Dobbelaere (Bel)Row 78 - Cell 2
80Mieke Docx (Bel) C.T.- DJ.Matic-KortrijkRow 79 - Cell 2
81Maud Vandenbrande (Bel)Row 80 - Cell 2
82Maaike Lanssens (Bel) WC De Molenspurters MeulebekeRow 81 - Cell 2
83Sandie Verriest (Bel) Asfra Racing TeamRow 82 - Cell 2
84Reza Hormes (Ned) Orange Babies Cycling TeamRow 83 - Cell 2
85Monique Van De Ree (Ned)Row 84 - Cell 2
86Amira Mellor (GBr)Row 85 - Cell 2
87Hannah Payton (GBr)Row 86 - Cell 2
88Ilse Vandekinderen (Bel)Row 87 - Cell 2
89Marie Jackson (GBr)Row 88 - Cell 2
90Aurélie Vermeir (Bel) Kon. VC ´T Meetjesland - KnesselareRow 89 - Cell 2
91Katleen Fraeye (Bel) Feestcomiteit DrogenboomRow 90 - Cell 2

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews