Skip to main content

Mayo, Contador and Hruska in Vuelta a Burgos

By Antonio J. Salmerón

Last year's Vuelta a Burgos winner, Juan Carlos Domínguez (, will have as his main rivals Iban Mayo (Euskaltel), in his first race back since the Tour, Alberto Contador (Astana) and Jan Hruska, who leads the controversial 3 Molinos Resort. But Rubén Plaza and Eladio Jiménez (Comunidad Valenciana), Jose Iván Gutiérrez (Illes Balears), Jose Joaquin Rojas (Astana), and Pedro Horrillo (Rabobank) can also be considered among the favourites for the Spanish tour.

The peloton will be composed of 144 riders from 18 teams, six of them ProTour: Caisse d'Epargne-Illes Balears, Euskaltel Euskadi, Saunier Duval and Astana (all Spain), Milram (Italy) and Rabobank (Netherlands). The continental professional teams are Kaiku, Comunidad Valenciana, 3 Molinos Resort, Relax Fuenlabrada and Andalucía Paul Versan (Spain), as well as Chocolade Jacques, and Landbouwkrediet-Colnago (all Belgium), and Acqua Sapone and Team Androni Giocattoli (Italy). finally, the field is completed by two Spanish continental teams, Grupo Nicolas Mateos and the Viña Magna-Cropu team.