Skip to main content

Cyprus Sunshine Cup to conclude in Voroklini

Jaroslav Kulhavy (Rubena / Specialized) races downhill

Jaroslav Kulhavy (Rubena / Specialized) races downhill (Image credit: Armin Küstenbrück)

The fourth and final round of the Cyprus Sunshine Cup will be held on Sunday in Voroklini. In the women's competition, Alexandra Engen has already secured the overall title, but among the men, the battle will continue as Emil Lindgren attempts to hold off Periklis Ilias for the title.

The final women's race will feature a high level of competition including Olympic Champion Sabine Spitz (central Ghost Pro Team) and her teammate Elisabeth Osl along with round three winner Lene Byberg (Specialized) and Petra Henzi (Fischer BMC). All four riders are ranked in the top 12 in the world, so Engen will have her work cut out for her as she tries to win another round.

In the men's race, Greek champion Periklis Ilias (ISD Cycling) may replace Emil Lindgren as leader because the Swede has already departed Cyprus for some recovery time in his home country. Swiss Christoph Bischof (ISD Cycling) also has a small chance at taking the title. Others to watch in Voroklini will be Ukrainian Sergiy Rysenko (ISD Cycling) and Swede Mathias Wengelin ( Cyclotek Racing Team) along with the young German national team riders such as Torsten Marx (DS-Rennsport) and René Tann (Fujibikes), both of whom will be in their first race of the year.

Racers will compete in Voroklini, east of Larnaca, on a 6.9km lap with 240m of elevation gain per lap.

See Cyclingnews' full coverage of last weekend's round three of the Cyprus Sunshine Cup.