Aitcheson wins Athens Twilight

Clark, Lea join Astellas rider in breakaway romp

Ryan Aitcheson (Astellas Cycling Team) took the top step with Oscar Clark (Holowesko | Citadel Cycling Team p/b Hincapie Sportswear) and Bobby Lea (Maloja Pushbikers) securing 2nd and 3rd respectively.

"The race stayed hard," Aitcheson told race announcers before the podium. "We kept the pace up and then we reshuffled. Gap started opening and we just rode as hard as we could. I had one of the best lead out riders in the country, Aldo Ilseic. We were saving each other. Once we took the corners one, two and three, we knew we had it."

Seven riders lapped the field including Clark, Lea, John Harris (GREEN LINE VELO driven by Zipcar), Eamon Lucas (Astellas), Tom Gibbons (Unattached) and Aitcheson. Once the settled into the pack, another move went up the road with three of the seven riders from the original break going with them, meaning those riders would be two laps up.

Gibbons and Harris missed the move, so they were stuck in the pack.

Starting with 170 riders, but ending with just about 50 was a testament on how fast the riders were traveling. Clark, Aitcheson and Lea were the three who lapped the field twice, setting them up for the inevitable sprint for first. Aitcheson had the advantage of Aldo Ilseic as a lead out, and the Astellas rider got on his wheel with a half lap left and was essentially escorted to the line by a fine lead out by his teammate.

Athens wrapped up the 2016 edition of Speed Week and saw Bobby Lea completing his domination by retaining both the orange overall and the blue lap leader jerseys. Eamon Lucas took home the grey best young rider jersey.


#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Ryan Aitcheson (Astellas Cycling Team)1:42:38 
2Oscar Clark (Holowesko | Citadel Cycling Team p/b Hincapie Sportswear)  
3Bobby Lea (Maloja Pushbikers)  
4Aldo Ilesic (Astellas Cycling Team)  
5Stefan Schafer (Maloja Pushbikers)  
6Andrew Dahlheim (Team Arapahoe Resources)  
7Ed Veal (RealDeal/D'Ornellas p/b Garneau)  
8John Harris (GREEN LINE VELO driven by Zipcar)  
9Adam Koble (Team Arapahoe Resources)  
10Eamon Lucas (Astellas Cycling Team)  
11Tom Gibbons (United Healthcare of Georgia p/b The 706 Project)  
12Andzs Flaksis  
13Christian Grasmann (Maloja Pushbikers)  
14Jaime Bernal (Team Cocos)  
15Umberto Poli (Team Novo Nordisk)  
16Colton Brookshire (NCCF team specialized)  
17Matt Salpietro (Texas Roadhouse)  
18Adam Farabaugh (Support Clean Sport / SeaSucker / Guttenplan Coaching)  
19Stefan Mastaller (Maloja Pushbikers)  
20Guy Tawney (Centurion Next Wave Cycling Team)  
21Christian Camilo Torres (CRCA/Foundation)  
22Devin Reavis (High Country Development Team p/b Pactimo)  
23Frank Travieso (United Healthcare of Georgia p/b The 706 Project)  
24Kevin Mullervy  
25Chris Uberti  
26Matt Moosa  
27Ben Fredrick  
28Andy Reardon  
29Emelio Asconkguy  
30Brad Bradford  
31chris ernst (Team Ontario)  
32Gunnar Holmgren (Team Ontario / Centurion Next Wave Cycling Team)  
33Willem Kaiser (United Healthcare of Georgia p/b The 706 Project)  
34Marcel Kalz (Maloja Pushbikers)  
35Chad Conley  
36Paul Morris (Team Clif Bar)  
37Kevin Gogven  
38Mac Brennan  
39Unknown rider  
40Ricky Randall (Team Arapahoe Resources)  
41Clay Murfet (Astellas Cycling Team)  
42Brandon Feehery (Astellas Cycling Team)  
43Unknown rider  
44Adam Leibovitz (Giant Racing)  
45Grant Erhard  
46Michael Stoop  
47Jacob White (Team Arapahoe Resources)  
48Andy Scarano (United Healthcare of Georgia p/b The 706 Project)  
49Fletcher Lydick  
50Sam Rosenholtz (GREEN LINE VELO driven by Zipcar)  
51Daniel Holloway (Giant Racing powered by Intelligentsia)  
52Darren Dowling  
53Ian Keough (Astellas Cycling Team)  
54Unknown rider  
55Akil Campbell (Stradalli - Safetti)  
56Gonzalez Frankie  
57AJ Moran  
58Sebastian Morfin (Stradalli - Safetti)  
59Fabio Calabria (Team Novo Nordisk)  
60Anton Varabei (RealDeal/D'Ornellas p/b Garneau)  
61Hamza Eastman (Team Cocos)  
62Justin Meade (Team Finish Strong Elite Cycling Team)  
63Juan Polanco (CRCA/Foundation)  
64Parker Kyzer (Team Finish Strong)  
65Noah Simms (Team Ontario/Centurion Next Wave Cycling Team)  
66Dylan Cantrell (United Healthcare of Georgia/706P)  
67Blake Anton (Team Clif Bar)  
68Jose Frank Rodriguez (Stradalli - Safetti)  
69Artur Sagat (Pioneer Mortgage Funding)  
70Huntley Nash  
71Michael Jasinski (Team Clif Bar)  
72John Butler  
73Charkie Huegel (Nine Lives Carbon Repair)  
74Ryan Shean  
75Justin Pfaff  
76Emile Abraham (United Healthcare of GA p/b The 706 Project)  
77Evan Bybee (Team Arapahoe Resources)  
78David Pavlik  
79Sam Connell  
80Graydon Staples  
81Kyle Knott  
82Martin Hacecky (Maloja Pushbikers)  
83Ben Renkema (Team Finish Strong)  
84Ryan Good (11elevencycling)  
85Unknown rider  
86Quentin Valognes (Team Novo Nordisk)  
87Lucas Livermon (Cyclus Sports)  
88Raynauth Jeffrey (Team Cocos)  
89Gen Kogure  
90Ryan Joyce (Cyclus Sports)  
91Myles Lietzke (Lowcountry Racing)  
92Zack Kratche (Pioneer Mortgage Funding)  
93Chris Collins  
94Brais Dacal (Team Novo Nordisk)  
95Jake Allaire (Team Ontario)  
96Matthew Staples (Ontario)  
97John Pratt  
98Ryan White  
100Hector Fabian Aguilar Figueria (SCC SOUTHERN CRESCENT CYCLING)  
101Carlo Villarreal (Organic Valley)  
102Donovan Clarke (CRCA/The Weather Channel Giant Cycling Team)  
103Geron Williams (CRCA/Foundation)  
104Chad Hartley (Giant Racing powered by Intelligentsia)  
105Enrique Lopez (Stradalli - Safetti)  
106Norlandy Tavera (CRCA/Foundation)  
107Brian Sciba  
108Matthew Kelley (Summit Wealth Strategies)  
109Christopher Darel  
110David Herrera (Governacion de Caldas)  
111Shane Feehery  
112Emanuel Mini (Team Novo Nordisk Development)  
113Eric Serantoni (Low Country Racing)  
114Juan Pimentel (CRCA/Foundation)  
115Dillon Swaim  
116Zachary Lewis (11elevencycling)  
117Kohsuke Fukedome (Legarsi-Igname)  
118Anthony Rodriguez (CRCA/Foundation)  
119Henry Willis  
120Tim Burton (RealDeal/D'Ornellas p/b Garneau)  
121Thomas Brown (LITESPEED-BMW)  
122Jacob Gerhardt (Team Clif Bar)  
123Paul Barrett (Robson-Forensic pb Subaru)  


Related Articles

Back to top