Schurter wins Windham World Cup

Absalon second and Naef third

Nino Schurter (Scott-Odlo) took his second World Cup victory in as many weeks on Sunday, in Windham, New York, fighting back from a flat to beat usual rival Julien Absalon (BMC) by a slim four seconds.

Schurter took the lead after the start loop, carving out a ten second lead on the first lap over Absalon, Manuel Fumic (Cannondale Factory) and Dan McConnell (Trek Factory Racing). He was extended his lead in lap two when he flatted, luckily, shortly before the tech zone at the start of the next lap.

After a quick wheel change he had dropped to fifth, and set off in pursuit of Absalon and Fumic, rejoining them a lap later. The trio stayed together until the penultimate lap, when Absalon attacked on the climb, with only Schurter able to respond. The pair started the final lap together and rode up the climb still together, with Absalon managing to get the hole shot into the descent, denying the faster descender Schurter the chance to get away.

The Swiss rider executed a bold move through a rock garden to retake the lead and open a slim four second gap, which he held to the line. Fumic took third, with Trek Factory team mates Sergio Mantecon and McConnell rounding out the podium.

"I was suffering quite a bit up the hill," revealed Schurter. "It was quite a challenge to keep Julien's wheel on the uphill. I had my last chance in the rock garden and tried to pass him. I actually saw that it works three laps before when Fumic passed me there, so I tried the same as him and was really happy that it worked."

"I'm in super great shape, but it is not my course here. Too long a climb for me. At the top I was always suffering. It was great to win at Mont-Sainte Anne and even greater to win here."

"I have quite a lead now [in the overall] Absalon is probably now in second, I don't know what Jaroslov did today, but I would say now I have a good lead. It was two really important races for the overall."

"It was a really hard race," agreed Absalon. "I didn't start really well. I was suffering to catch the leaders. Finally I caught the leaders, but we were all together in front. In the technical section I was not really fast. Last week I was slow in training and more fast in the race, this week was the opposite - fast in training and slow in the race. I was not fast enough compared to Mano or Nino. That is why Nino pass me in the rock garden. I don't know why. The rocks were moving, so it was not the same as yesterday, so it was not possible for me to be as fast as Nino. I was close, closer than last week, but second again."

Schurter now leads the standings with 100 points, with Absalon moving up to second at 910 points and former leader Jaroslav Kulhavy dropping to third at 782 points.


#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Nino Schurter (Sui)1:30:55 
2Julien Absalon (Fra)0:00:04 
3Manuel Fumic (Ger)0:00:27 
4Sergio Mantecon Gutierrez (Esp)0:00:51 
5Daniel Mcconnell (Aus)0:01:14 
6Raphael Gagne (Can)0:01:57 
7Lukas Flückiger (Sui)0:02:21 
8Carlos Coloma Nicolas (Esp)0:02:34 
9Florian Vogel (Sui)0:02:48 
10Ondrej Cink (Cze)0:03:14 
11Mathias Flückiger (Sui)0:03:32 
12Fabian Giger (Sui)0:03:51 
13Ralph Naef (Sui)0:03:58 
14Marco Aurelio Fontana (Ita)0:04:03 
15José Antonio Hermida Ramos (Esp)0:04:05 
16Luca Braidot (Ita)0:04:22 
17Rudi Van Houts (Ned)0:04:28 
18Maxime Marotte (Fra)0:04:44 
19Karl Markt (Aut)0:04:53 
20Matthias Stirnemann (Sui)0:04:59 
21Nicola Rohrbach (Sui)0:05:13 
22Jordan Sarrou (Fra)0:05:26 
23Catriel Andres Soto (Arg)0:05:28 
24Kevin Van Hoovels (Bel)  
25Stephen Ettinger (USA)  
26Derek Zandstra (Can)0:05:29 
27Jan Skarnitzl (Cze)0:05:43 
28Martin Gujan (Sui)0:05:46 
29Martin Loo (Est)0:05:47 
30Michal Lami (Svk)0:06:13 
31Jan Nesvadba (Cze)0:06:39 
32Jaroslav Kulhavy (Cze)0:06:45 
33Zsolt Juhasz (Hun)0:07:06 
34Daniele Braidot (Ita)0:07:30 
35Thomas Litscher (Sui)0:07:33 
36Reto Indergand (Sui)0:07:35 
37David Valero (Esp)0:07:44 
38Sebastien Carabin (Bel)0:07:46 
39Bart De Vocht (Bel)0:08:11 
40Cameron Jette (Can)0:08:22 
41David Joao Serralheiro Rosa (Por)0:08:33 
42Alex Grant (USA)0:08:37 
43Ruben Scheire (Bel)0:08:49 
44Leandre Bouchard (Can)0:08:51 
45Jeremy Martin (Can)0:09:32 
46Gregor Raggl (Aut)0:09:33 
47Spencer Paxson (USA)0:09:34 
48Martin Gluth (Ger)0:09:43 
49Alexander Gehbauer (Aut)0:09:53 
50Ricardo Pscheidt (Bra)0:09:59 
51Andras Parti (Hun)0:10:14 
52Rubens Donizete Valeriano (Bra)0:10:17 
53Rotem Ishay (Isr)0:10:31 
54Simon Gegenheimer (Ger)0:10:32 
55Geoff Kabush (Can)  
56Cameron Ivory (Aus)0:10:52 
57Evan Guthrie (Can)0:10:57 
58Benjamin Sonntag (Ger)0:11:02 
59Steffen Thum (Ger)0:12:42 
60Evan Mcneely (Can)0:13:49 
61Antoine Caron (Can)  
62Cameron Dodge (USA)  
63Thomas Sampson (USA)  
64Brian Matter (USA)  
65Stéphane Tempier (Fra)  
66Sherman Trezza (Bra)  
67Nicholas Pettina (Ita)  
68Dario Alejandro Gasco (Arg)  
69David Fletcher (GBr)  
70Hector Riveros (Col)  
71Cole O’Berman (USA)  
72Brendan Johnston (Aus)  
73Andrew L'Esperance (Can)  
74Russell Finsterwald (USA)  
75William Melone (USA)  
76Ernie Watenpaugh (USA)  
77Markus Bauer (Ger)  
78David Flaten (USA)  
79Christopher Hamlin (USA)  
80Elliot Reinecke (USA)  
81Francisc Ramos Sanzana (Chi)  
82Noah Tautfest (USA)  
Back to top