Wiebes wins RideLondon Classique as Wild is disqualified

Massive crash in final 100 metres mars sprint and leads to Dutch rider's DQ

Kirsten Wild (WNT-Rotor Pro Cycling) crossed the line first Saturday at the RideLondon Classique, but the race jury ruled the Dutch rider deviated from her line in the final 100 metres and disqualified her result, lifting Lorena Wiebes (Parkhotel Valkenburg) to the top step of the podium ahead of Elisa Balsamo (Valcar-Cylance Cycling).

A massive crash in the final 100 metres took out Chloe Hosking (Alé Cipollini) and about 20 other riders, and the race jury ruled Wild's move from her line caused the melee. 

How it happened

The criterium-like course was shortened compared to the last year's. Cutting out Whitehall and the Admiralty Arch, the new circuit had a length of 3.4 kilometres and was raced clockwise instead of anticlockwise. On 20 laps, the peloton raced around St James’s Park, passing Horse Guards Parade and Buckingham Palace before going up Constitution Hill. After a U-turn at the top, the race finished on The Mall.

Intermediate sprints after laps 4, 8, 12, and 16 ensured that the speed was high throughout the race, and there were no real breakaways. Abby-Mae Parkinson (Drops) tried to get away several times but had the peloton on her wheel each time. Dani Christmas (Lotto Soudal Ladies) attacked on lap 11 and had a small gap for about one kilometre before being reeled in again.

Team Sunweb led out Susanne Andersen for the four intermediate sprints. The 21-year-old was first across the line three times, winning the sprint competition. Coming onto the finishing straight with one lap to go, her teammate Leah Kirchmann crashed. Kirchmann’s bike got tangled up with that of British champion Alice Barnes who avoided crashing but was out of contention for the final sprint.

The lead-out trains of Valcar Cylance and WNT-Rotor took control on the final lap. Team Sunweb came to the front with one kilometre to go, but it was German champion Lisa Brennauer (WNT-Rotor), with Wild on her wheel, who led the peloton past Buckingham Palace and onto the finishing straight with just over 500 metres to go.

Coming from behind, Wiebes had to open her sprint early and sped past Brennauer with about 200 metres to go as Brennauer ran out of steam. As riders tried to follow Wiebes, Wild lost the open road ahead of her, and when she went to the left, she caused the crash of Hosking that set off a chain reaction across the width of the road.

Wild crossed the line just ahead of Wiebes, but after a review of the finish, she was disqualified by the race jury, giving Wiebes the win.

Full Results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Lorena Wiebes (Ned) Parkhotel Valkenburg1:33:55 
2Elisa Balsamo (Ita) Valcar-Cylance Cycling  
3Coryn Rivera (USA) Team Sunweb Women  
4Lotte Kopecky (Bel) Lotto Soudal Ladies  
5Letizia Paternoster (Ita) Trek-Segafredo Women  
6Marianne Vos (Ned) CCC-Liv  
7Christine Majerus (Lux) Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam  
8Marta Tagliaferro (Ita) Hitec Products-Birk Sport  
9Maria Giulia Confalonieri (Ita) Valcar-Cylance Cycling  
10Eugénie Duval (Fra) FDJ Nouvelle-Aquitaine Futuroscope  
11Eva Buurman (Ned) Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam  
12Marta Bastianelli (Ita) Team Virtu Cycling  
13Fernke Markus (Fra) Parkhotel Valkenburg  
14Lonneke Uneken (Ned) Hitec Products-Birk Sport  
15Lucy Garner (GBr) Hitec Products-Birk Sport  
16Romy Kasper (Ger) Ale Cipollini  
17Clara Copponi (Fra) FDJ Nouvelle Aquitaine Futuroscope  
18Tiffany Cromwell (Aus) Canyon-SRAM  
19Alison Jackson (Can) Tibco-Silicon Valley Bank  
20Jip van den Bos (Ned) Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam0:00:05 
21Lauren Kitchen (Aus) FDJ Nouvelle-Aquitaine Futuroscope0:00:06 
22Jeanne Korevaar (Ned) CCC-Liv0:00:14 
23Karlijn Swinkels (Ned) Ale Cipollini0:00:19 
24Riejanne Markus (Ned) CCC-Liv  
25Annelies Dom (Bel) Lotto Soudal Ladies  
26Maëlle Grossetete (Fra) FDJ Nouvelle-Aquitaine Futuroscope0:00:23 
27Floortje Mackaij (Ned) Team Sunweb Women0:00:25 
28Pfeiffer Georgi (GBr) Team Sunweb Women0:00:26 
29Lara Vieceli (Ita) WNT-Rotor Pro Cycling0:00:28 
30Lisa Brennauer (Ger) WNT-Rotor Pro Cycling0:00:29 
31Sara Penton (Swe) Team Virtu Cycling  
32Ilaria Sanguineti (Ita) Valcar-Cylance Cycling0:00:30 
33Christina Siggaard (Den) Team Virtu Cycling0:00:32 
34Julie Solvang (Nor) Hitec Products-Birk Sport0:00:33 
35Dani Christmas (GBr) Lotto Soudal Ladies  
36Chiara Consonni (Ita) Valcar-Cylance Cycling0:00:36 
37Kirsten Wild (Ned) WNT-Rotor Pro Cycling  
38Coralie Demay (Fra) FDJ Nouvelle-Aquitaine Futuroscope0:00:38 
39Emilie Moberg (Nor) Team Virtu Cycling0:00:39 
40Audrey Cordon-Ragot (Fra) Trek-Segafredo Women0:00:41 
41Skylar Schneider (USA) Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam0:00:42 
42Chantal Blaak (Ned) Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam0:00:44 
43Danique Braam (Ned) Lotto Soudal Ladies0:01:04 
44Claudia Koster (Ned) WNT-Rotor Pro Cycling0:01:06 
45Lealin Teutenburg (Ger) WNT-Rotor Pro Cycling0:01:07 
46Vittoria Guazzini (Ita) Valcar-Cylance Cycling  
47Ella Harris (NZl) Canyon-SRAM  
48Grace Garner (GBr) Hitec Products-Birk Sport0:01:12 
49Jessica Raimondi (Ita) Ale Cipollini0:01:15 
50Abby-Mae Parkinson (GBr) Drops0:01:19 
51Sarah Rijkes (Aut) WNT-Rotor Pro Cycling0:01:21 
52Chantal Hoffmann (Lux) Lotto Soudal Ladies0:01:24 
53Janine van der Meer (Ned) Parkhotel Valkenburg0:01:29 
54Lauretta Hanson (Aus) Trek-Segafredo Women0:01:36 
55Katarzina Pawlowska (Pol) Team Virtu Cycling0:01:37 
56Susanne Andersen (Nor) Team Sunweb Women0:01:39 
57Pernille Feldman (Nor) Hitec Products  
58Abi Van Twisk (GBr) Trek-Segafredo Women  
59Julia Soek (Ned) Team Sunweb Women0:01:44 
60Allison Beveridge (Can) Rally UHC Cycling Women0:01:46 
61Rotem Gafinovitz (Isr) Canyon-SRAM0:01:53 
62Christa Riffel (Ger) Canyon-SRAM  
63Sara Bergen (Can) Rally UHC Cycling Women0:01:59 
64Lotta Pauliina Lepistö (Fin) Trek-Segafredo Women0:02:20 
65Valerie Demey (Bel) CCC-Liv0:02:48 
66Alice Barnes (GBr) Canyon-SRAM0:03:36 
67Elizabeth Bennett (GBr) Drops0:03:59 
68Manon Lloyd (GBr) Drops0:04:02 
69Leah Kirchmann (Can) Team Sunweb Women  
70Natalie Redmond (Aus) Drops  
71Maria Van 'T Geloof (Ned) Alé Cipollini0:04:55 
72Katherine Maine (Can) Rally UHC Cycling Women0:05:11 
73Brodie Chapman (Aus) Tibco-Silicon Valley Bank0:05:36 
74Shannon Malseed (Aus) Tibco-Silicon Valley Bank  
75Rozanne Slik (Ned) Tibco-Silicon Valley Bank  
76Gillian Ellsay (Can) Rally UHC Cycling Women0:05:49 
77Summer Moak (USA) Rally UHC Cycling Women0:05:50 
78Esther van Veen (Ned) Parkhotel Valkenburg0:06:02 
79Megan Barker (GBr) Drops0:07:44 
80Kendall Ryan (USA) Tibco-Silicon Valley Bank0:08:08 
DNFDannielle Khan (GBr) Lotto Soudal Ladies  
DNFMarit Raaijmakers (Ned) Parkhotel Valkenburg  
DNFEmma White (USA) Rally UHC Cycling Women  
DNFChloe Hosking (Aus) Ale Cipollini  
DNFLouise Norman Hansen (Den) Team Virtu Cycling  
DNFGiorgia Bariani (Ita) Ale Cipollini  
DNFAlice Maria Arzuffi (Ita) Valcar-Cylance Cycling  

Related Articles

Back to top