Under 23 Horgan upsets more senior rivals

Youngster a minute faster than senior riders

Christchurch junior cyclist Sam Horgan upset his more senior rivals to score the fastest time in the 40km time trial on the first day of the New Zealand Club Championships near Nelson today. The Subway Avanti rider took out the under-23 honours with an impressive 51:49 minutes for the 40km time trial, with testing winds and a undulating course near Upper Moutere.

He was nearly a minute faster than the winner of the senior men’s division, former Olympian Robin Reid (Star & Garter Tasman) who gained a good win for the host club.

Horgan said the conditions had improved by the time the under-23 and senior riders began. “The conditions got easier for us later on because the wind calmed down. The winds were swirling a bit earlier on and there seemed to be a head wind for most of the way,” said Horgan. “I had ridden the course a few times in the Benchmark series and I am now looking forward to the road race. I hope Subway Avanti will dominate again.”

Horgan finished clear of the talented Otago rider Alex McGregor who clocked 52:24 minutes, also under Reid’s winning time in the senior event where he was timed at 52:45 minutes.

It was a closely fought affair in the senior men with Hamilton City’s Justin Kerr only eight second back with double Olympian Chris Nicholson (Star & Garter) third. The local club grabbed the senior double when Bronwen Frazer successfully defended her title in the women’s race over 25km.

It proved a major battle with Frazer only five seconds faster than second placed Gabrielle Vermunt (Cycling Southland) with Nicola Bowden (Te Awamutu) a further 24 seconds back in third.

Christchurch rider Michael Vink (Pegasus) won the under-19 men’s honours in a super-talented field. He clocked 32:06 minutes to finished clear of his fellow world championship team members Patrick Bevin (Taupo) in 32:50 minutes and Josh Atkins (Pegasus) 33:17 minutes for the 25km time trial.

Former international Stu Imrie was the fastest of the Masters riders. The Counties Manukau cyclist, riding in the 40-44 years age group, was timed at 33:28 minutes for the 25km distance, faster than riders 10 years his junior.


#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
Senior men, 40km
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Robin Reid (Star & Garter)0:52:45 
2Justin Kerr (Hamilton City)0:00:08 
3Chris Nicholson (Star & Garter Tasman)0:01:06 
Under-23 men, 40km
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Samuel Horgan (Subway Avanti)0:51:49 
2Alex McGregor (Cycling Otago)0:00:35 
3Daniel Barry (Star & Garter Tasman)0:01:58 
Under-19 men, 25km
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Michael Vink (Pegasus)0:32:06 
2Patrick Bevin (Taupo)0:00:44 
3Josh Atkins (Pegasus)0:01:11 
Under 17 boys, 15km
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Fraser Gough (Ramblers, Hawkes Bay)0:20:37 
2Pieter Bulling (Cycling Southland)0:00:26 
3Hayden McCormick (Te Awamutu)0:00:46 
Under-15, 15km
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Vladamir Stewart (Wanganui)0:23:28 
2Joel McManus (Star & Garter Tasman)0:00:18 
3Ollie Jones (Port Nicholson Poneke)0:00:19 
Masters, 15km, 60-64 years
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Barry Harcourt (Cycling Southland)0:23:49 
2Neil Robinson (Gisborne)0:00:24 
3Russell Ward (Pegasus)0:00:34 
55-59 year, 15kms
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Gary Ferguson (Pegasus)0:22:31 
2Ray Robinson (Cycling Southland)0:00:30 
3Kevin Lawler (Pegasus)  
50-54 years, 25km
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Garry Overend (Star & Garter)0:35:20 
2Bruce Galloway (Ramblers)0:00:59 
3Barry Gilliland (Palmerston North)0:02:10 
45-49 years, 25km
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1David Sullivan (Pegasus)0:34:39 
2Ron Pithie (Pegasus)0:01:42 
3Bob Puru (Morrinsville)0:02:15 
40-44 years, 25km
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Stu Imrie (Counties Manukau)0:33:28 
2Raymond Dunstan (Cuddon Marlborough)0:00:38 
3Troy Restieaux (Counties Manukau)0:02:14 
35-39 years, 25km
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Lee Johnstone (Marsden Wheelers)0:35:16 
2Ian Thompson (Port Nicholson Poneke)0:00:36 
3Peter Sheed (Pegasus)0:00:54 
30-34years, 25km
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Conway Taylor (Cuddon Marlborough)0:35:35 
2Chris Hayward (Cuddon)0:00:36 
3Nigel Pink (Pegasus)0:00:37 
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
Senior women, 25km
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Bronwen Frazer (Star & Garter)0:36:12 
2Gabrielle Vermunt (Cycling Southland)0:00:05 
3Nicola Bowden (Te Awamutu)0:00:29 
Under 19 girls, 15km
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Courteney Lowe (Tauranga)0:23:17 
2Maddy Brunton (Te Awamutu)0:00:19 
3Philippa Sutton (Hamilton City)0:00:49 
Under 17, 15 km
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Sophie Williamson (Central Otago Wakatipu)0:23:48 
2Alysha Keith (Cycling Otago)0:00:13 
3Lana Morrison (Te Awamutu)0:00:58 
Under 15, 15km
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Robin Hacker-Cary (Te Awamutu)0:24:33 
2Chloe McCaughan (Pegasus)0:00:24 
3Sonia Ginders (Cuddon, Marlborough)0:00:33 
Masters, 50-55 years
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Denese Keenan (Cycling Timaru)0:40:30 
2Susan Tunnicliff (Ramblers)0:01:55 
3Brenda Fortune (Pegasus)0:02:11 
45-49 years
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Marian Savage (Star & Garter)0:46:10 
2Catriona Pirie (Palmerston North)0:03:42 
40-44 years
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Janet Cuttle (Tinwald)0:41:04 
2Eileen Searle (Star & Garter)0:03:57 
3Sheri Wales (Masterton)0:05:59 
35-39 years
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Paula Steel (Star & Garter)0:39:52 
2Lenora Pearson (Palmerston North)0:00:04 
3Marion Webb (Counties Manukau)0:00:05 
30-34 years
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Rhonda Murphy (Cuddon Marlborough)0:41:30 
Back to top