Van Hummel victorious at Memorial Rik Van Steenbergen

Dutchman takes field sprint finale

Kenny Van Hummel (Skil-Shimano) took out his fifth win of the season in the Memorial Rik Van Steenbergen. The Dutch rider out-sprinted German André Greipel (Omega Pharma-Lotto) and Denis Galimzyanov (Katusha) in the dash to the line.

Greipel hit out early in the sprint and faded before the line, blaming inaccurate distance markers for his mistake. As his power waned Van Hummel wasa able to push past by a wheel to claim the win.

149 riders set out for the 201km race from Aartselaar, outside Antwerp, to Laar, an event dedicated to the Belgian legend, a three-time world champion and two-time Tour of Flanders champion.

The race was fast and aggressive for nearly two hours, with no significant groups able to escape until 80km into the race when an attack finally pulled a group clear. Nine riders, including Steven Van Vooren (Topsport Vlaanderen-Mercator), David Boucher (Omega Pharma-Lotto), Bram Tankink (Rabobank), Geoffrey Soupe (FDJ), Jan Barta (Team Netapp), Kurt Hovelynck (Donckers Koffie-Jelly Belly), Benjamin Verraes (Jong Vlaanderen-Bauknecht), Philip Van Daele (Colba-Mercury-Dourphonie) and Olivier Pardini (Wallonie Bruxelles-Credit Agricole) stayed away for the next 112km when the peloton regrouped with less than 10km to go.

Omega Pharma-Lotto set the sprint up perfectly for Greipel, but the German jumped too soon, and Van Hummel was able to turn on the after-burners and speed past to take the win.

Full Results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Kenny Robert Van Hummel (Ned) Skil - Shimano4:30:08 
2André Greipel (Ger) Omega Pharma-Lotto  
3Dennis Galimzyanov (Rus) Katusha Team  
4Stefan Van Dijk (Ned) Veranda's Willems - Accent  
5Aidis Kruopis (Ltu) Landbouwkrediet  
6Yauheni Hutarovich (Blr) FDJ  
7Kevin Peeters (Bel) Landbouwkrediet  
8Michaël Van Staeyen (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator  
9Borut Bozic (Slo) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team  
10Daniel Schorn (Aut) Team Netapp  
11Kenneth Vanbilsen (Bel) Donckers Koffie - Jelly Belly  
12Theo Bos (Ned) Rabobank Cycling Team  
13Takashi Miyazawa (Jpn) Farnese Vini - Neri Sottoli  
14Steven Caethoven (Bel) Veranda's Willems - Accent  
15Steve Schets (Bel) Donckers Koffie - Jelly Belly  
16Sjef De Wilde (Bel) Veranda's Willems - Accent  
17Pier Paolo De Negri (Ita) Farnese Vini - Neri Sottoli  
18Edwig Cammaerts (Bel) Landbouwkrediet  
19Elia Favilli (Ita) Farnese Vini - Neri Sottoli  
20Jean-Pierre Drucker (Lux) Veranda's Willems - Accent  
21Anthony Ravard (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale  
22Boris Dron (Bel) Lotto - Bodysol Pole Continental Wallon  
23Barry Markus (Ned) Rabobank Continental Team  
24Andrew Fenn (GBr) An Post - Sean Kelly  
25Gorik Gardeyn (Bel) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team  
26Joeri Stallaert (Bel) Landbouwkrediet  
27Andreas Stauff (Ger) Quickstep Cycling Team  
28Gediminas Bagdonas (Ltu) An Post - Sean Kelly  
29Kevin Verwaest (Bel) Jong Vlaanderen - Bauknecht  
30Romain Feillu (Fra) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team  
31Frédérique Robert (Bel) Quickstep Cycling Team  
32David Boucher (Fra) Omega Pharma-Lotto  
33Vladimir Isaichev (Rus) Katusha Team  
34Laurens De Vreese (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator  
35Nacer Bouhanni (Fra) FDJ  
36Philip Lavery (Irl) An Post - Sean Kelly  
37Pieter Jacobs (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator  
38Yuriy Krivtsov (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale  
39Benjamin Verraes (Bel) Jong Vlaanderen - Bauknecht  
40Tom Dernies (Bel) Lotto - Bodysol Pole Continental Wallon  
41Roger Kluge (Ger) Skil - Shimano  
42Julien Berard (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale  
43Francesco Chicchi (Ita) Quickstep Cycling Team  
44Maxime Vantomme (Bel) Katusha Team  
45Romain Lemarchand (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale  
46Van Coppernolle (Bel) Jong Vlaanderen - Bauknecht  
47Kevin Hulsmans (Bel) Donckers Koffie - Jelly Belly  
48Stijn Vandenbergh (Bel) Katusha Team  
49Sven Nys (Bel) Landbouwkrediet  
50Mathieu Ladagnous (Fra) FDJ  
51Christophe Premont (Bel) Wallonie Bruxelles - Credit Agricole  
52Niels Wytinck (Bel) Colba - Mercury  
53Guillaume Van Keirsbulck (Bel) Quickstep Cycling Team  
54Garrit Broeders (Bel) Jong Vlaanderen - Bauknecht  
55Marcel Sieberg (Ger) Omega Pharma-Lotto  
56James Vanlandschoot (Bel) Veranda's Willems - Accent  
57Antoine Demoitie (Bel) Lotto - Bodysol Pole Continental Wallon  
58Andreas Dietzker (Swi) Team Netapp  
59Alexander Porsev (Rus) Katusha Team  
60Alexander Mironov (Rus) Katusha Team  
61Andreas Schillinger (Ger) Team Netapp  
62Ben Gastauer (Lux) AG2R La Mondiale  
63Daryl Impey (RSA) Team Netapp  
64Wilfried Cretskens (Bel) Donckers Koffie - Jelly Belly  
65Jürgen Van Goolen (Bel) Veranda's Willems - Accent  
66Michael Matthews (Aus) Rabobank Cycling Team  
67Roberto De Patre (Ita) Farnese Vini - Neri Sottoli  
68Bert-Jan Lindeman (Ned) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team  
69Staf Scheirlinckx (Bel) Veranda's Willems - Accent  
70Geoffrey Soupe (Fra) FDJ  
71Graeme Brown (Aus) Rabobank Cycling Team  
72Mathieu Teychenne-Coutet (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale  
73Jens Debusschere (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto  
74Mickaël Delage (Fra) FDJ  
75Egidijus Juodvalkis (Ltu) Landbouwkrediet  
76Maxime Bouet (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale  
77Rick Flens (Ned) Rabobank Cycling Team  
78Rob Goris (Bel) Veranda's Willems - Accent  
79Kenny De Haes (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto  
80Johann Offredo (Fra) FDJ  
81Frédéric Guesdon (Fra) FDJ  
82Huub Duijn (Ned) Donckers Koffie - Jelly Belly  
83Jurgen François (Bel) Colba - Mercury  
84Sander Oostlander (Ned) Cyclingteam De Rijke  
85Bram Tankink (Ned) Rabobank Cycling Team0:00:18 
86Maarten Tjallingii (Ned) Rabobank Cycling Team  
87Vincent Bastaens (Bel) Landbouwkrediet  
88Adam Blythe (GBr) Omega Pharma-Lotto  
89Jonathan Dewitte (Bel) Wallonie Bruxelles - Credit Agricole  
90Steve Chainel (Fra) FDJ  
91Mark Cassidy (Irl) An Post - Sean Kelly  
92Preben Van Hecke (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator  
93Emanuel Vona (Ita) Farnese Vini - Neri Sottoli  
94Pieter Vanspeybrouck (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator  
95Kevin Van Impe (Bel) Quickstep Cycling Team  
96Steven De Neef (Bel) Jong Vlaanderen - Bauknecht  
97Timon Seubert (Ger) Team Netapp  
98Cesare Benedetti (Ita) Team Netapp  
99Lars Boom (Ned) Rabobank Cycling Team  
100Frederik Willems (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto  
101Thomas Bertolini (Ita) Farnese Vini - Neri Sottoli  
102Stijn Neirynck (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator  
103Jens Mouris (Ned) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team0:00:29 
104Coen Vermeltfoort (Ned) Rabobank Cycling Team0:00:42 
105Stijn Joseph (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator0:01:00 
106Timothy Van Gheel (Bel) ABM0:01:11 
107Tom Vermeersch (Ned) ABM  
108Florent Serry (Bel) Lotto - Bodysol Pole Continental Wallon  
109Michael Schwarzmann (Ger) Team Netapp0:01:34 
110Kevin Van Dyck (Bel) Jong Vlaanderen - Bauknecht0:01:30 
111Olivier Pardini (Bel) Wallonie Bruxelles - Credit Agricole0:01:38 
112Diego Caccia (Ita) Farnese Vini - Neri Sottoli0:01:41 
113Pieter Ghyllebert (Bel) An Post - Sean Kelly  
114Niko Eeckhout (Bel) An Post - Sean Kelly  
115Fabio Polazzi (Bel) Wallonie Bruxelles - Credit Agricole  
116Lieuwe Westra (Ned) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team  
117Koen Barbe (Bel) Landbouwkrediet0:02:00 
118Ronan Van Zandbeek (Ned) Skil - Shimano0:02:03 
119Olivier Chevalier (Bel) Wallonie Bruxelles - Credit Agricole0:02:04 
120Gil Suray (Bel) Lotto - Bodysol Pole Continental Wallon0:02:12 
121Martin Reimer (Ger) Skil - Shimano0:02:32 
122Marco Bandiera (Ita) Quickstep Cycling Team0:02:44 
123Kevin Claeys (Bel) An Post - Sean Kelly0:02:49 
124Kurt Hovelynck (Bel) Donckers Koffie - Jelly Belly  
125Jan Barta (Cze) Team Netapp  
126Mikhail Ignatiev (Rus) Katusha Team  
127Thomas De Gendt (Bel) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team  
128Jan Tratnik (Slo) Quickstep Cycling Team  
129Rodrigues Arguelyes (Rus) Katusha Team  
130Maxime Anciaux (Bel) Lotto - Bodysol Pole Continental Wallon  
131Steven Van Vooren (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator  
Back to top