Pow-wow! Powers doubles up in Lionhearts 'cross

Wicks claims second as Trebon abandons

Jeremy Powers (CyclocrossWorld/Cannondale) continued his successful season with a second victory at the Cincinnati UCI3 Festival, this time in the pocket-sized Sunset Park in Middletown, Ohio for the Java Johnny’s – Lionhearts International today.

At the start Powers and Barry Wicks (Kona) outsprinted the field from opposite sides of the front row, with Wicks taking the front spot. Powers, though, would take the lead and make friends of the crowd when he unexpectedly bunny-hopped the barriers on the first lap gapping Wicks and the rest of the field. Ryan Trebon (Kona), Wicks and the season’s new revelation, Mark LaLonde of Planet bike, made up the first chase group, while Ryan Knapp (BikeReg.com), Brian Matter (Gear Grinder), Joachim Parbo (CCV Leopard Cycles) and Troy Wells (Clif Bar) comprised the second chase. Trebon tried to bridge the gap to Powers, then fell back through the chase groups before disappearing, literally, from the race.

Powers continued to extend his lead, bunny-hopping the barriers every lap. More subtle, but perhaps more important, were Powers’ cornering lines. On some of the tight hairpin corners, Powers was noticeably faster, and in some cases was able to pedal all the way around where every other racer was coasting.

Powers not only bunny-hopped the barriers on the last lap, he popped a wheelie to salute the crowd as he rolled another two-thirds of a lap to his second victory in two days. Wicks attacked LaLonde on the asphalt start straight to establish a gap that he held to the end. When LaLonde was asked what he thought when Wicks attacked, he smiled and said, “Ouch!”

The second chase group, now without Knapp, stayed together until the last minutes of the race when Joachim Parbo gutted out another race to finish fourth ahead of Matter.

Full Results
1Jeremy Powers (USA) Cannondale/CycloCrossWorld.com1:01:47 
2Barry Wicks (USA) Kona0:00:14 
3Marko Lalonde (USA) Planet Bike0:00:24 
4Joachim Parbo (Den) CCV Leopard Cycles0:01:33 
5Brian Matter (USA) Team Geargrinder0:01:40 
6Troy Wells (USA) Team Clif Bar0:02:12 
7Ryan Knapp (USA) Panther/RGF p/b Felt Bicycles0:02:34 
8Andrew Wulfkuhle (USA) C3-Sollay.com0:02:45 
9Mitchell Kersting (USA) Rapid Transit Racing0:02:57 
10Greg Wittwer (USA) ALAN North America Cycling Team0:03:08 
11Molly Cameron (USA) Portland Bicycle Studio0:03:27 
12Travis Livermon (USA)0:03:39 
13Tom Burke (USA)0:03:46 
14Weston Schempf (USA) C3 Sollay.com/Athletes Serving Athletes0:03:53 
15Bryan Fawley (USA)0:03:32 
16David Weaver (USA) Alan North America Cycling Team0:05:26 
17Andrew Reardon (USA) Starbrite Carwash / MOAB0:05:29 
18Eric Wondergem (USA) Hup United0:05:41 
19Robert Kendall (USA) Barbasol0:05:51 
20Nathan Wyatt (USA)0:05:58 
21Stephen Cummings (USA) Indiana Regional Medical Center0:06:07 
22Scott Mclaughlin (USA) SRAM FACTORY0:06:19 
23Andrew Messer (USA) DRT Racing  
24Ryan Leach (USA)  
25Mike Sherer (USA) Alderfer Bergen  
26Ryan O'conner (USA)  
27Brandon Jessop (USA) Boulder Cycle Sport  
28Noah Metzler (USA) Team Globalbike  
29Joshua Whitmore (USA) Team Globalbike  
30Zachary Edwards (USA) DRT Racing  
31Mike Kennedy (USA) Barbasol/ Rapid Transit  
32Marcus Moran (USA) Bob's Red Mill/Rocky Mountain  
33Tyler Hawes (USA)  
34Jacob Virostko (USA) BioWheels/Reece-Campbell Racing  
35Dustin Greer (USA) Ohio Valley Velo/Maxxis  
36Matthew Weeks (USA) Team Lake Effect  
Back to top