Delaplace comes home as a hero

Polynormande victory for young French rider

Following a very promising Tour de France where he was not only the youngest rider in the field but also present in a number of breakaways, Anthony Delaplace (Saur-Sojasun) made his dream a reality. His dream was to win the Polynormande, the French Cup race of his region in the province of the Manche in Normandy. Delaplace hails from Cherbourg on the English Channel.

“Only six years ago I won this race in the U17 category, time goes fast,” said the former junior French champion, who already imposed himself in that leg of the Madiot Trophy – a series of six races for riders who are 15 and 16 years of age – in 2005.

“Like today, I won solo,” he recalled. “This is the only way for me to win. I’m a very bad sprinter.” He is a true attacker, however. In his second year pro with Saur-Sojasun, Delaplace had already impressed enough to secure a spot in the Tour de France team and showed on several occasions that he deserved it
“I came out of the Tour in good condition,” Delaplace told Cyclingnews. “I paid attention to what I ate this week because I wanted to do well today. I was so motivated that I wanted to attack too early. I like this race so much. The public was pushing me a lot, and Mikaël Chérel as well. It’s a dream come true for me to win the Polynormande.”

Ag2r-La Mondiale’s Mikaël Chérel was even more of a local than Delaplace, as he hails from St-Brice-de-Landelles only three kilometres away from St-Martin-de-Landelles, the home of famed Tour de France speaker Daniel Mangeas.

Both Chérel and Delaplace made the 16-man breakaway that kicked off early with Jérémy Roy and Arnaud Gérard (FDJ), Dimitri Champion (Ag2r-La Mondiale), Yoann Bagot and Julien El Farès (Cofidis), Kevin Reza (Europcar), Jérémie Galland (Saur-Sojasun), Thomas Degand (Vérandas Willems), Bert Scheirlinckx (Landbouwkrediet), Sylvain Georges (BigMat-Auber 93), Florian Vachon and Renaud Dion (Bretagne-Schuller), Steven Tronet (Roubaix) and Eduardo Gonzalo (La Pomme-Marseille).

The peloton gave up chasing after half way and five riders broke clear with 40km to go: the two super motivated local boys Delaplace and Chérel, along with El Farès, Vachon and Gérard. With 20km to go, Delaplace attacked solo on the same climb, the côte de la Pigeonnière, where he won as an U17 in 2005.

He built up a lead of 1.44 for himself by the finishing line. “But until 300 metres to go, I didn’t dare to believe that I was going to win,” he said. “I was still afraid of a flat tyre or a crash until the last kilometre.”

Tony Gallopin (Cofidis) sprinted for sixth place to take the lead in the French Cup after ten legs and with four remaining: Classic de l’Indre (August 21), Tour du Doubs (September 4), GP Isbergues (September 18), Tour de Vendée (October 2).

“I’ll do them all and try and win it,” Gallopin said. With 117 points, he leads Romain Feillu (Vacansoleil-DCM), who is on 110, Georges (93) and Delaplace (90).



#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Anthony Delaplace (Fra) Saur-Sojasun3:43:36 
2Julien El Fares (Fra) Cofidis0:01:44 
3Arnaud Gérard (Fra) FDJ  
4Florian Vachon (Fra) Bretagne Schuller  
5Mikael Chérel (Fra) Ag2r-La Mondiale0:01:48 
6Tony Gallopin (Fra) Cofidis0:04:36 
7Julien Simon (Fra) Saur-Sojasun  
8Matthieu Ladagnous (Fra) FDJ  
9Jérôme Cousin (Fra) Europcar  
10Morgan Kneisky (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole  
11Laurent Pichon (Fra) Bretagne Schuller  
12Bert De Waele (Bel) Landbouwkrediet  
13Evert Verbist (Bel) Veranda's Willems-Accent  
14Tony Hurel (Fra) Europcar  
15Geert Verheyen (Bel) Landbouwkrediet  
16Grégory Habeaux (Bel) Veranda's Willems-Accent  
17Yukiya Arashiro (Jpn) Europcar  
18Johan Le Bon (Fra) Bretagne Schuller  
19David Le Lay (Fra) Ag2r-La Mondiale  
20Guillaume Bonnet (Fra) France  
21Renaud Dion (Fra) Bretagne Schuller  
22Jonathan Thire (Fra) Auber 93  
23Cyril Lemoine (Fra) Saur-Sojasun  
24Romain Lemarchand (Fra) Ag2r-La Mondiale  
25Jean Eudes Demaret (Fra) Cofidis  
26Desriac (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole  
27Bellemakersdirk (Ned) Landbouwkrediet  
28Yuriy Krivtsov (Fra) Ag2r-La Mondiale  
29Tom Thill (Lux) Differdange Magic-Sportfood.de0:04:42 
30Mathieu Drujon (Fra) Auber 93  
31Yohan Bagot (Fra) Cofidis  
32Pierrick Fédrigo (Fra) FDJ  
33Benjamin Giraud (Fra) La Pomme Marseille  
34Matthieu Boulo (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole  
35Morten Knudsen (Den) Differdange  
36Julien Antomarchi (Fra) La Pomme Marseille  
37Julien Guay (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole  
38Florian Le Corre (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole  
39Yohan Cauquil (Fra) La Pomme Marseille  
40Arnoud Van Groen (Ned) Veranda's Willems Accent  
41Helminen (Fin) Landbouwkrediet  
42Fabrice Jeandesboz (Fra) Saur-Sojasun  
43Clément Mahé (Fra) France0:04:49 
44Johan Mombaerts (Fra) Auber 93  
45Julien Bérard (Fra) Ag2r-La Mondiale  
46Thomas Degand (Bel) Veranda's Willems-Accent  
47Julien Fouchard (Fra) Cofidis  
48Masaru Fukuhara (Jpn) Bridgestone Anchor0:04:54 
49Nicolas Edet (Fra) Cofidis  
50Jérémy Roy (Fra) FDJ0:04:59 
51Toms Skujins (Lat) La Pomme Marseille  
52Sébastien Duret (Fra) Bretagne Schuller0:05:01 
53Dimitri Champion (Fra) Ag2r-La Mondiale  
54Wim De Vocht (Bel) Veranda's Willems-Accent  
55Maxime Renault (Fra) France  
56Rudy Lesschaeve (Fra) Differdange  
57Giovanni Bernaudeau (Fra) Europcar  
58Guillaume Levarlet (Fra) Saur-Sojasun  
59Frédéric Guesdon (Fra) FDJ  
60Lloyd Mondory (Fra) Ag2r-La Mondiale  
61Franck Bouyer (Fra) Europcar  
62Anthony Geslin (Fra) FDJ  
63Benoît Vaugrenard (Fra) FDJ  
64Christian Poos (Lux) Differdange Magic-Sportfood.de0:05:10 
65Jérémie Galland (Fra) Saur-Sojasun0:05:13 
66Steven Tronet (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole0:05:24 
67Ronan Racault (Fra) Auber 930:05:30 
68Jean-Luc Delpech (Fra) Bretagne Schuller  
69Olivier Bonnaire (Fra) FDJ  
70Anthony Colin (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole0:05:43 
71Jonas Ljungblad (Swe) Differdange Magic-Sportfood.de0:05:58 
72Arnaud Molmy (Fra) Auber 93  
73Joël Zangerle (Lux) Differdange  
74Kazuo Inoue (Jpn) Bridgestone Anchor  
75Tomoya Kanoh (Jpn) Bridgestone Anchor  
76Stéphane Bonsergent (Fra) Bretagne Schuller  
77Edouard Louyest (Fra) France  
78Thomas Vaubourzeix (Fra) La Pomme Marseille  
79Fabien Bacquet (Fra) Auber 930:09:30 
80Nicolas Vogondy (Fra) Cofidis  
81Jimmy Casper (Fra) Saur-Sojasun0:09:33 
82Jempy Drucker (Lux) Veranda's Willems-Accent0:09:35 
83Sylvain Georges (Fra) Auber 930:09:49 
HDYoshiyuki Shimizu (Jpn) Bridgestone Anchor  
HDBert Scheirlinckx (Bel) Landbouwkrediet  
HDEvaldas Siskevicius (Ltu) La Pomme Marseille  
HDRomain Bacon (Fra) Auber 93  
DNFDieter Cappelle (Bel) Veranda's Willems-Accent  
DNFStaf Scheirlinckx (Bel) Veranda's Willems-Accent  
DNFKristof Goddaert (Bel) Ag2r-La Mondiale  
DNFLeonardo Duque (Col) Cofidis  
DNFAlexandre Pichot (Fra) Europcar  
DNFKévin Reza (Fra) Europcar  
DNFJonathan Hivert (Fra) Saur-Sojasun  
DNFSébastien Delfosse (Bel) Landbouwkrediet  
DNFBart Dockx (Bel) Landbouwkrediet  
DNFDavy Commeyne (Bel) Landbouwkrediet  
DNFGuillaume Blot (Fra) Bretagne Schuller  
DNFBenoît Daeninck (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole  
DNFStefan Cohnen (Ned) Differdange  
DNFTomoya Kaneko (Jpn) Bridgestone Anchor  
DNFEduardo Gonzalo Ramirez (Spa) La Pomme Marseille  
DNFJustin Jules (Fra) La Pomme Marseille  
DNFHyo Suk Gong (Kor) Geumsam Ginseng Asia  
DNFKi Hong Yoo (Kor) Geumsam Ginseng Asia  
DNFJunoh Kwon (Kor) Geumsam Ginseng Asia  
DNFHyeongmin Choe (Kor) Geumsam Ginseng Asia  
DNFAurelien Passeron (Fra) Geumsam Ginseng Asia  
DNFJi Hoon Kim (Kor) Geumsam Ginseng Asia  
DNFChristopher De Souza (Fra) France  
DNFMeven Lebreton (Fra) France  
DNFAlbain Cormier (Fra) France  
DNFBob Rodriguez (Fra) France  


Back to top