Mollema takes Japan Cup victory

Dutchman gets the better of Ulissi on selective course

Bauke Mollema (Trek Factory Racing) brought the curtain down on his 2015 season in style on Sunday by taking victory at the Japan Cup road race. 

The Dutchman outpaced Diego Ulissi (Lampre-Merida) and Yukiya Arashiro (Japan National Team) at the end of a selective 144.2-kilometre route, which was based on the 1990 World Championships course.

There were 14 laps of a 10.3-kilometre circuit, which featured the Kogashi Forest climb, and by the final lap there were less than 10 riders in the front group. On the final climb of Kogashi Forest, Mollema and Ulissi broke free along with Team Sky's Sebastian Henao, with Arashiro bridging across on the descent. The road began to ramp up again, though, to the finish line, and Mollema emerged strongest. 

"I was just following attacks until the last time up the climb, and then I saved all my energy for the finish. I knew it would most likely come to a sprint with a small group and it was better to save all my energy for this, but I still was not sure to win because the others were faster than me. But in the end I was strong enough to do it," said Mollema.

"The race was hard, but the team did such a great job; the guys pulled hard all race to bring back the breakaway. I am happy that I could pay them back with a win, and also for all the fans. This is my first time in Japan, and I have to say that the fans are just unbelievable, just crazy for cycling, it was really nice to see. I have enjoyed being here a lot, and now with this win, and also yesterday with Fumy's [Beppu] win, it has been just a really great experience."

The result marks a nice end to Mollema's first season with Trek, in which he finished seventh at the Tour de France and won the Tour of Alberta. 

Full Results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Bauke Mollema (Ned) Trek Factory Racing3:53:40 
2Diego Ulissi (Ita) Lampre-Merida  
3Yukiya Arashiro (Jpn) Team Europcar  
4Floris Gerfs (Ned) BMC Racing Team  
5Jan Polanc (Slo) Lampre-Merida0:00:11 
6Matej Mohoric (Slo) Cannondale-Garmin Pro Cycling Team0:00:16 
7Sebastian Henao Gomez (Col) Team Sky0:00:22 
8Benjamin Prades (Spa) Matrix Powertag0:00:44 
9Ben Swift (GBr) Team Sky0:01:22 
10Yusuke Hatanaka (Jpn) Team Ukyo0:01:54 
11Michael Schär (Swi) BMC Racing Team  
12Manuele Mori (Ita) Lampre-Merida  
13Pier Paolo De Negri (Ita) Nippo - Vini Fantini  
14Sho Hatsuyama (Jpn) Bridgestone Anchor Cycling Team  
15Javier Megias Leal (Spa) Team Novo Nordisk  
16Jose Vicente Toribio Alcolea (Spa) Matrix Powertag  
17Nariyuki Masuda (Jpn) Utsunomiya Blitzen  
18Masakazu Ito (Jpn) Aisan Racing Team  
19Shu Ming Liu (Tpe) Attaque Team Gusto  
20Tomohiro Hayakawa (Jpn) Aisan Racing Team0:01:57 
21Manuel Senni (Ita) BMC Racing Team0:01:59 
22Thomas Rabou (Ned) Attaque Team Gusto  
23Ryota Nishizono (Jpn) Bridgestone Anchor Cycling Team0:02:03 
24Oscar Pujol Munoz (Spa) Team Ukyo0:02:12 
25Charles Planet (Fra) Team Novo Nordisk0:03:45 
26Genki Yamamoto (Jpn) Nippo - Vini Fantini0:06:58 
27Ruben Zepuntke (Ger) Cannondale-Garmin Pro Cycling Team0:07:06 
28Tao Geoghegan Hart (GBr) Team Sky  
29Peter Stetina (USA) BMC Racing Team  
30Antonio Nibali (Ita) Nippo - Vini Fantini  
31Takeaki Amezawa (Jpn) Nasu Blasen0:07:10 
32Toshiki Omote (Jpn) Japan0:07:41 
33Ying Hon Yeung (HKg) Attaque Team Gusto  
34Peter Velits (Svk) BMC Racing Team  
35Martijn Verschoor (Ned) Team Novo Nordisk  
36Eiichi Hirai (Jpn) Team Ukyo0:07:43 
37Airan Fernandez Casasola (Spa) Matrix Powertag  
38Damien Monier (Fra) Bridgestone Anchor Cycling Team  
39Laurent Didier (Lux) Trek Factory Racing0:08:05 
40Eric Sheppard (Aus) Attaque Team Gusto0:09:36 
41Takero Terasaki (Jpn) Bridgestone Anchor Cycling Team0:10:51 
42Naoya Yoshioka (Jpn) Nasu Blasen  
DNFTakaaki Hori (Jpn) Utsunomiya Blitzen  
DNFYudai Arashiro (Jpn) Nasu Blasen  
DNFNicolas Lefrancois (Fra) Team Novo Nordisk  
DNFYuzuru Suzuki (Jpn) Utsunomiya Blitzen  
DNFFumiyuki Beppu (Jpn) Trek Factory Racing  
DNFTakeaki Ayabe (Jpn) Aisan Racing Team  
DNFAlberto Bettiol (Ita) Cannondale-Garmin Pro Cycling Team  
DNFSuguru Tokuda (Jpn) CCT p/b Champion System  
DNFAndrea Peron (Ita) Team Novo Nordisk  
DNFBernhard Eisel (Aut) Team Sky  
DNFHayato Yoshida (Jpn) Matrix Powertag  
DNFYoshimitsu Hiratsuka (Jpn) Aisan Racing Team  
DNFYukihiro Doi (Jpn) Team Ukyo  
DNFChun Kai Feng (Tpe) Lampre-Merida  
DNFKazuki Aoyanagi (Jpn) Utsunomiya Blitzen  
DNFKota Sumiyoshi (Jpn) Team Ukyo  
DNFEdward Ravasi (Ita) Lampre-Merida  
DNFShotaro Iribe (Jpn) Shimano Racing Team  
DNFShao Hsuan Lu (Tpe) Attaque Team Gusto  
DNFHideto Nakane (Jpn) Aisan Racing Team  
DNFShinri Suzuki (Jpn) Utsunomiya Blitzen  
DNFSaya Kuroeda (Jpn) Japan  
DNFFabian Cancellara (Swi) Trek Factory Racing  
DNFDaiki Yasuhara (Jpn) Matrix Powertag  
DNFYaroslav Popovych (Ukr) Trek Factory Racing  
DNFRyu Suzuki (Jpn) Nasu Blasen  
DNFNathan Haas (Aus) Cannondale-Garmin Pro Cycling Team  
DNFJunya Sano (Jpn) Nasu Blasen  
DNFThomas Lebas (Fra) Bridgestone Anchor Cycling Team  
DNFDamiano Cunego (Ita) Nippo - Vini Fantini  
DNFGiacomo Berlato (Ita) Nippo - Vini Fantini  

Related Articles

Back to top