Scarponi wins GP Costa degli Etruschi

Lampre-Merida sweeps top three

Team Lampre Merida created a landmark for the team with all three places on the podium in the G.P. Costa degli Etruschi. Michele Scarponi lead home, picking up his first win since being awarded the 2011 Giro d'Italia title, with teammates Diego Ulissi and Filippo Pozzato in second and third.

Lampre asserted their dominance on the race early on with Valerio Conti among the first attacks.

A six-man move went clear later in the race but the true action began when Vincenzo Nibal (Astana) Scarponi and Pozzato joined a dangerous move of 20 riders at the front of the race.

It was Scarponi who looked the freshest, however, and he duly attacked with one kilometre to go. He finished alone before Ulissi and Pozzato could round out the podium.

"I finally managed to gain a victory this season. Having it reached right now in conjunction with the convening of the Italian national is for me a source of great confidence and strength in view of the commitment of world championships next week," Scarponi said.

"I have to say that my teammates and Ulissi and Pozzato are going really strong, a sign that in Lampre Merida's house we really prepared well for a great final of the season."

Full Results

Elite men
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Michele Scarponi (Ita) Lampre-Merida4:30:51 
2Diego Ulissi (Ita) Lampre-Merida0:00:04 
3Filippo Pozzato (Ita) Lampre-Merida  
4Rinaldo Nocentini (Ita) Italian National Team  
5Ivan Santoromita (Ita) Italian National Team  
6Patrik Sinkewitz (Ger) Meridiana Kamen Team  
7Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Astana Pro Team0:00:12 
8Mauro Finetto (Ita) Vini Fantini-Selle Italia0:00:57 
9Miguel Angel Rubiano Chavez (Col) Androni Giocattoli  
10Daniele Ratto (Ita) Cannondale Pro Cycling  
11Emanuele Sella (Ita) Androni Giocattoli  
12Simone Ponzi (Ita) Astana Pro Team  
13Francesco Failli (Ita) Vini Fantini-Selle Italia  
14Franco Pellizotti (Ita) Androni Giocattoli  
15Davide Formolo (Ita) Italian National Team0:01:00 
16Ivan Basso (Ita) Cannondale Pro Cycling0:01:05 
17Rafael Andriato (Bra) Vini Fantini-Selle Italia0:01:46 
18Enrico Battaglin (Ita) Bardiani Valvole-CSF Inox  
19Patrick Facchini (Ita) Androni Giocattoli  
20Andrea Masciarelli (Ita) Utensilnord Ora24.Eu  
21Pablo Valencia Gonzaljuan (Col) Colombia  
22Volodymyr Starchyk (Ukr) Amore & Vita  
23Kevin Ista (Bel) IAM Cycling  
24Alberto Bettiol (Ita) Italian National Team  
25Pier Paolo De Negri (Ita) Vini Fantini-Selle Italia  
26Sergei Pomoshnikov (Rus) RusVelo  
27Mikhail Akimov (Rus) RusVelo  
28Sergey Firsanov (Rus) RusVelo  
29Sebastian Henao (Col) Colombia  
30Jackson Rodriguez (Ven) Androni Giocattoli  
31Daniel Jaramillo (Col) Colombia  
32Edoardo Zardini (Ita) Bardiani Valvole-CSF Inox  
33Winner Anacona (Col) Colombia  
34Hurtaddarwin Atapuma (Col) Colombia  
35Fredrik Carl Wilh Kessiakoff (Swe) Astana Pro Team  
36Jarlinson Pantano (Col) Colombia  
37Riccardo Chiarini (Ita) Androni Giocattoli  
38Przemyslaw Niemiec (Pol) Lampre-Merida  
39Enrico Barbin (Ita) Bardiani Valvole-CSF Inox  
40Andrea Zordan (Ita) Italian National Team  
41Davide Mucelli (Ita) Ceramica Flaminia-Fondriest  
42Elia Favilli (Ita) Lampre-Merida  
43Fabio Felline (Ita) Androni Giocattoli0:02:40 
44Sébastien Hinault (Fra) IAM Cycling0:03:20 
45Marco Bandiera (Ita) IAM Cycling  
46Johan Romero Corredjeffry (Col) Colombia  
47Julian Quintero Norencarlos (Col) Colombia  
48Jonathan Monsalve (Ven) Vini Fantini-Selle Italia  
49Cayetano Sarmiento (Col) Colombia  
50Andres Duarte Arevalofabio (Col) Colombia  
51Nicola Dal Santo (Ita) Ceramica Flaminia-Fondriest  
52Sonny Colbrelli (Ita) Bardiani Valvole-CSF Inox  
53Pavel Kochetkov (Rus) RusVelo  
54Juan Chamorro (Col) Colombia  
55Maciej Paterski (Pol) Cannondale Pro Cycling  
56Marco Frapporti (Ita) Androni Giocattoli  
57Niccolo Bonifazio (Ita) Lampre-Merida  
58Marco Zamparella (Ita) Utensilnord Ora24.Eu  
59Andrea Pasqualon (Ita) Bardiani Valvole-CSF Inox  
60Alexander Rybakov (Rus) RusVelo  
61Ivan Rovny (Rus) Ceramica Flaminia-Fondriest  
62Cameron Wurf (Aus) Cannondale Pro Cycling  
63Alexandr Marentes Torrewilson (Col) Colombia0:04:00 
64Marcel Aregger (Swi) IAM Cycling  
65Aleksejs Saramotins (Lat) IAM Cycling  
66Angelo Pagani (Ita) Bardiani Valvole-CSF Inox0:07:00 
67Valerio Agnoli (Ita) Astana Pro Team  
68Damiano Caruso (Ita) Cannondale Pro Cycling  
69Federico Canuti (Ita) Cannondale Pro Cycling  
70Paolo Longo Borghini (Ita) Cannondale Pro Cycling  
71Kristof Goddaert (Bel) IAM Cycling  
72Michele Scartezzini (Ita) Italian National Team  
73Borut Bozic (Slo) Astana Pro Team  
74Manuel Senni (Ita) Italian National Team  
75Gabriele Bosisio (Ita) Utensilnord Ora24.Eu  
76Fabio Taborre (Ita) Vini Fantini-Selle Italia  
77Matteo Rabottini (Ita) Vini Fantini-Selle Italia  
78Donato De Ieso (Ita) Bardiani Valvole-CSF Inox  
79Mattia Pozzo (Ita) Vini Fantini-Selle Italia  
80Igor Boev (Rus) RusVelo  


Related Articles

Back to top